We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,824)
Filter reviews
2,824 results
Traveller rating
1,795
627
285
94
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,795
627
285
94
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roof terrace valet parking the river floor to ceiling windows senior fellows illy coffee boutique hotel valet service fifth floor sunny day king room hotel guests lovely hotel cooked breakfast central location lovely room car park
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 2,824 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

I made a last minute ‘birthday’ booking in December and could not have made a better choice. From the moment we pulled up, the staff were wonderfully attentive and friendly. One of the largest room was selected for us, which was pristine and the views were utterly incredible! A reservation was made for us at the steak house and nothing was too much trouble. This is a boutique hotel which is run superbly. There was a little noise from the upstairs on the first night, which I commented on and there was nothing the following night. Hence I give full marks to the hotel for making our stay a magical one. Thank you

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DanAelaPeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

We booked in here for our 10th wedding anniversary. The hotel is incredibly well located and the valet parking is a nice touch. We had a lovely room but it was very compact. We overlooked an alleyway and unfortunately there was a huge recycling collection very early in the morning. The best bit about the hotel is definitely the bar area and the rooftop. It is a very impressive addition to the hotel.
A drawback: despite a price tag of almost £300 cooked breakfast was not included in your room fee (continental was) I thought this a little cheeky.
All in all we had a good stay, they acknowledged our special occasion with a complimentary cocktail each in the bar.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LGoGo1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

We were so glad we booked this hotel. It was right in the middle of the old town and with in easy reach of all the attractions. What made the hotel even more special was the friendly and helpful staff wherever we were. They couldn't seemingly do enough to help you, which made us feel special. We got up early on Boxing Day morning to see the sun rise from the Six hotel restaurant on the Sixth floor which was where they held breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast was very good too with great variety. Our room was large and well appointed and we had a bathroom with two showers! The photo shows the lovely view from our hotel windows. I made use of the Spa and Gym on our last day which I thououghly enjoyed. The Jacuzzi overlooks the river Cam. We left feeling happy because the manager, receptionists and restaurant staff were wonderful towards us.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

We went to the Six Restaurant at the Varsity Hotel for Afternoon Tea between Christmas and the New Year. I am so glad we did, as the experience was wonderful!

The restaurant is on the 6th floor, so has great views across the roof tops and highlights of Cambridge. The staff were very professional and attentive, and maybe the whole thing flow very well.

And the food itself was fantastic. Four finger sandwiches each, and each one very tasty. In fact some of the tastiest sandwiches on an afternoon tea we have had. Two light and tasty scones each, with clotted cream and a lovely jam. And some very tempting and tasteful patisserie. All washed down by a fine choice of teas (or coffee).

Well worth a visit, and we will go back for lunch, and to the Roof Terrace when the weather is warmer!!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank J4793NTchrisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Booked through Booking.com which doesn't say that the spa is NOT actually part of the hotel at all. You have to leave via the front door and walk down the street a bit and use a voucher the hotel gives you to get entry. No wandering down to the spa in your dressing gown and slippers!
Also, hotel facilities should say £parking. You shouldn't list parking as a facility if it's provided at a cost and when you do make it clear in the headline.
Under "Parking" section it says a carpark is available nearby for £19.95 / day but what it doesn't say is that it's a private carpark a few minutes walk away and only available if you use the hotel's valet facility. Which takes 30-40 mins to return your car unless you book in advance. It explains this in the "other" section but leaving it out of the "parking" section is a deliberate attempt to mislead customers.
Also, the "roof terrace" should say "seasonal roof terrace." Finding out it is closes until May is something I should know when booking not upon arrival.
Which is all a surprise because the staff are all REALLY lovely and helpful and nearly made up for it! Without the roof terrace and spa, and complicated misleading parking this really is only an average hotel. 3 stars because the location is perfect and at least there is parking of some kind which is difficult in a city centre. I just wish they called it "Varsity hotel next door to a public spa" and were honest about things.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank PMEHatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews