We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always busy”
Review of The Eagle

The Eagle
Ranked #11 of 65 Quick Bites in Cambridge
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

Always busy and everyone seems to promote this pub for its connections with the discovery of DNA and the RAF bar, interesting stories. This is a good honest English pub and I was only allowed one beer by the missus, won't bring here next time. I could have stayed in here all day, drinking good beer.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank rayrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly B, Manager at The Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Hi, thanks for the review glad you enjoyed your beer and hope you can have more next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 196 of 2,242 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2018

I've given The Eagle a two-star rating purely for its historical riches, as both the place where Crick and Watson announced their discovery of DNA and the boozer where off-duty aircrew hung out in WW2. These two facts, and the pub's central location, have made it a tourist attraction, but as a Cambridge resident I'm embarrassed that some visitors will go home thinking The Eagle is the epitome of the English pub. It's not, and the knowledge that most customers are tourists who will never return has been the Eagle's downfall. Sure, it makes money, whether the tables are dirty or not. Whether the bumbling, amateurish staff can be bothered to serve you or not (the rudeness isn't amusing English idiosyncracy. It's pure disdain). Whether the beer is drinkable or not. The Eagle knows you won't be back and has resigned itself to the fact that locals never use the place. Until last night, the last time I'd been there was two years ago, when I left a half-finished beer on a sticky, litter-strewn table because it was stale. Last night I gave the place a second chance. Tables full of uncollected glasses and dirty plates. One member of staff on duty, blithely chatting to a drunk girl while customers stood two-deep at the bar. Beer ghastly. Want a proper Cambridge pub? Try the Cambridge Blue on Gwydir Street, The Maypole on Portugal Place or the Live and Let Live on Mawson Road. But not The Eagle.

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

It was certainly interesting and convenient. There is something to be said about eating/drinking in a pub that is so old and has the link with Cricks and Watson. Food and service were OK

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ElaineLagunaNiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly B, Manager at The Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

As the DNA was detected in this pub as they say - it is a must. But there are better pubs in the environment

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Vrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly B, Manager at The Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Visited the Eagle after a long hot walk around town shopping.
Was greeted by a very busy bar with people ordering food and drinks and checking out the pubs famous featured RAF ceiling.
I choose to use the RAF bar in the pub as I only came in for a pint and even though the place was busy I was served very quickly by a polite smiling member of the pubs staff, as I stood checking out the historic surroundings the flow of customers never stopped but when I decided to have another pint I was once again served very efficiently.
I only stayed for a short time but was impressed with the service I received on what was obviously a busy lunchtime period..

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank joeski39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly B, Manager at The Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our service and that it was efficient yet still friendly during peak hours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Eagle also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Royston, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing