We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy but you can tell why”
Review of The Eagle

The Eagle
Ranked #99 of 742 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Popped in to warm up before going to stephen hawkins funeral and the service was friendly and attentive quick and efficient and a great way to passbthe time looking atvthe memorabilia I would also add we didn't eat but the food looked amazing and the smell even after a big breakfast made you feel hungry would highly recommend

2  Thank simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly B, Manager at The Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thanks for the great response we are very happy that you enjoyed your visit and do hope you come again and try something from our menu,

Thanks

Team Eagle (:

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 147 of 2,139 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Fish and chips tea at The Eagle was recommended to us. Food was great and plenty for us - the pub itself is very tired inside and could do with a refurb.

Thank amac1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly B, Manager at The Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

We are glad that you enjoyed the fish and chips, thank you (:

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We visited twice. First time we had drinks in the RAF bar with the amazing historical ceiling. We liked the atmosphere so much we went back for a meal the next night. No wonder it was so busy for a Monday night. Lovely meals at reasonable prices. Well worth a visit.

Thank claraboDerbyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly B, Manager at The Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you, we are glad that you’ve enjoyed the atmosphere and the services here. We look forward to any future visits. (:

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

The famous pub where the Allied pilots hung out during WWII. The RAF bar walls are loaded with memorabilia, and the ceiling in the RAF bar is where the pilots wrote their names with candles, matches. Very good selection of beer and great pub grub. It is also the sight where the two Cambridge scientist hung out and, 60 years ago, announced in the pub for the first time their discovery of DNA! Plus, there's a ghost upstairs! Best place to stop for a bite and some unusual, fun history.

Thank TommyTomThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly B, Manager at The Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thanks for the great review we look forward to any future visits (:

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

We were visiting Cambridge with some colleagues last week and we reserved a table in Eagle for a crowded group. Some of us had the classic and tasty fish and chips, some of us had the lamb shank. They both were really good. Pies looked very tempting, I will definitely try them the next time. Drinkwise our gluten intolerant friend got lucky cause they had gluten free beer which most places lack. Needless to say Eagle is a staple of Cambridge, definitely recommend for visitors even for just a pint of beer and the atmosphere.

Thank Gizem U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly B, Manager at The Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you, we are really pleased that you enjoyed the food here and our selection drinks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Eagle also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing