We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
11
17
21
27
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
17
21
27
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdisabled peopleprices are very reasonablebig plusswimming poolbeds were very comfortableshower roomlarge roomcomfortable stayhairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Budget used to equate to poor standards. It shouldn't in a modern hospitality industry, however, it does here.

The good:
Cheapish
Nice staff
Excellent gym n pool facilities
Reasonble prices in cafe

The bad:
Tired, boring decor and layout
Faded, worn, dirty carpet
Too hot
Blancmange-like mattress.

The ugly:
Every grout line in shower area black with mould
Shower head so scaled barely any water escapes
Trim falling off
Floor sunk so water pools in middle of bathroom and sits there
Filthy, stained wall next to bed
Can't open window to cool due to cigarette smoke and diesel fumes.
Rubbish strewn around the large, smelly, bins in carpark, 15 feet from room windows.

Most issues could easily be dealt with by effective refurb n decent cleaners. What i found incredible, at the home of many paralympians, is the use of disabled parking bays by tradesmen using hotel as cheap base. Every bay had a large diesel van parked , exhaust 6 feet from ground-floor rooms, with not a blue badge to be found. After a poor sleep in the squidgy bed you are awoken by the klaxon call of numerous vans starting up at 06.30hrs...mind you, the carbon monoxide pouring through the slightly open window was enough to ensure a sound sleep thereafter.

Alex polizzi visit a must!

Room Tip: ground floor room overlooking carpark = passive smoking, diesel fumes & noisy engines
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMSTeam, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Hello Nick,

Thank you for your recent feedback about the Olympic Lodge. At MoreLeisure we always endeavour to maintain the highest possible standards of service and maintenance and are disappointed to receive this kind of comment.

I apologise if your experience of the Olympic Lodge did not reach your expectations. We will obviously investigate and action the cleanliness issues you have raised.

We hope to completely refurbish the hotel later this year and we hope if you return in the future that you will see significant improvements.

Kind regards

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

I have spent 4 weeks in this hotel as it is next door to the hospital where my wife is a patient. The staff are friendly and polite but unfortunately that is the only good points I can offer. The building is old and tired. The carpets are worn and stained. The walls are marked and chipped. And that's before you get to your room!
Once in your room, the t.v. is broken, the kettle won't switch off. The curtains are falling if the rail. The stains on the walls looks like large tea bags have been thrown on them and left to fall.
The bathroom hasn't seen a descaler ever!!! And hair appears to be growing in the plug hole!
Overall, I would have said that an investigation would give it a 2 star rating at best. Which is worrying as it is designed for disabled people in mind.
If you are looking for a 2 star hotel with polite friendly staff ear tge hospital then this is ok. But the price should come down to reflect it's real value. Such a shame.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMSTeam, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Hello Stuart,

Thank you for your recent feedback about the Olympic Lodge. At MoreLeisure we always endeavour to maintain the highest possible standards of service and maintenance and are disappointed to receive this kind of comment.

I apologise if your experience of the Olympic Lodge did not reach your expectations. We will obviously investigate and address the cleaning issues that you have highlighted.

We hope to completely refurbish the hotel later this year and we hope if you return in the future that you will see significant improvements.

Kind regards

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

On arrival at the hotel, my partner (who is a T4 paraplegic confined to a wheelchair) was very excited. We were to stay in the self confessed "home of the para-Olympians". It was the Sunday night of Easter weekend and we were ready for a wonderful 4 nights at the Lodge. What a disappointment to say the least. Not once were we advised that half the lodge was under refurbishment or that over a holiday weekend they would run on skeleton staff (in the hospitality industry??). The room was dirty (old underwear under the bed), the sheets not clean (pubic hairs), the wall was full of marks and the bathroom not properly equipped or in working order. When we asked to be moved to another room, we were advised the only room available was exactly the same as the one we were in. And it was the only one. When we asked for maintenance to come through and check the bathroom issues (especially the shower head which was not working) we were advised it was Bank Holiday weekend and would only be fixed on the Tuesday. The beds were so soft that when my partner moved from his chair to the bed, he was almost on the floor - which made getting up in the morning very interesting. I am so disappointed as we booked this lodge specifically as it was supposed to cater to all disabled needs and with the stadium just next door it was a big highlight in our UK trip. We checked out first thing Monday morning and despite having prepaid our accommodation with hotels.com (which is a whole other story) we were charged for the night we stayed, and not even an apology offered or an attempt to make us stay. Shocking in comparison to the rest of our trip. I would not recommend this lodge to able or disabled guests until a refurbishment and a replacement of staff is done.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMSTeam, General Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hello Chelle,

Many thanks for taking the time to give your feedback, at Stoke Mandeville Stadium we are extremely disappointed when we receive these kinds of comments.

Since your stay the Stoke Mandeville Stadium and Olympic Lodge have been taken over by a new management company who have already made significant improvements and have many more to follow.

We hope you return in the future and will be impressed by the changes that will be made.

Kind regards

The Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Location:
The hotel is tucked away inside a residential estate and can be hard to get to if you coming to town for the first time. Its about 40 minutes walk or a 10 minute drive to town centre.

Amenities:
The Olympic stadium is attached to the lodge so you can use the facilities such as swimming pool for free. Its a big plus point if you are a into health & fitness or traveling with family.
The Wi-Fi service is reliable and decent and is another plus point.
Breakfast and Dinner can be ordered in advance but it likely comes from the kitchen in the stadium. I personally never used this service.
ASDA is the nearest supermarket. ts open till late and is in walking distance from the hotel.

Room:
The room decor and the hotel carpets are dated. Door key is contactless which is quite modern. The bed linen and towels are fresh and updated daily. Housekeeping is done daily too. Kettle, coffee/tea and biscuits; TV with BBC and free channels; a couple of hangers and storage space for clothes is available in the room. Electric shaving plug point is available in the bath. The bath / toilet is wheelchair friendly.

All in all, its a decent accommodation and offers good value for money.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank dwtdil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMSTeam, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your recent feedback about the Olympic Lodge. At 1Life we always endeavour to maintain the highest possible standards of service and maintenance and are pleased that you are happy with what we deliver.

We hope to see you visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Spacious room, but too cold for me

It is a purpose built accommodation for disabled people which I love. With plenty of parking spaces for easy accessibility to the reception area.

I had a comfortable night and will recommend it

Room Tip: Idea for all especially for those with mobility and sight difficulty.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMSTeam, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hello Kate,

Thank you for your recent feedback about the Olympic Lodge. At 1Life we always endeavour to maintain the highest possible standards of service and maintenance and are pleased that you are happy with what we deliver.

We hope to see you visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews