We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base for a weekend away with friends”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Bristol, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Olly R
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great base for a weekend away with friends”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I really recommend this place to anyone that wants a base for a weekend in Bristol. The house is lovely and there we're lot lot 'wows' when we first arrived. The beds were all very comfy and slept 12 of us easily with plenty of space to spare in the bedrooms. The two bathrooms were enough for 12 of us and the shower was brilliant. The kitchen is huge with plenty of space for us all to have dinner and a few drinks before heading out. Clifton village with a lot of nice bars is up the hill about 7-8 mins walk. Down the hill is a great beer place moored in the harbour called the grain barge. Both routes are about 20 mins walk to the city centre. The only problem we had was parking as its residents only. Joanna was kind enough to drop two permits through the door but we had another two cars that we ended up leaving 20 mins walk away. So I would say get the train if you can or squeeze everyone into as few cars as possible. Also, the house is on four floors which was fine for our group but I wouldn't recommend it as highly for elderly people or with disabilities. Already thinking of an excuse to come back in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The massive kitchen
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely big house in Bristol in a great location”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed in The Big Bristol House for my friend's hen party and found the house to be excellent. It was great for 10 girls with comfy single beds and spacious bedrooms. The bathrooms were very modern with a large bath and walk in shower. The highlight of the house has to be the amazing large kitchen with massive dining room table for everyone to sit around. It was a great room for socialising in. The only small negative was the parking as it is now residents only on the road (the owners did provide us with two 24 hour passes) but we managed to find free parking a 10 minute walk away or there is a large NCP car park around the corner.
Overall we had an excellent stay and I would recommend the house to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillPatie...
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Big kitchen”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Within walking distance to most locations, loved Clifton Village and the Waterside Harbour. House coped well with my party of ten . Loads large pans and dishes. Big table in kitchen so party could eat all together. Longe area small and stairs steep !

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy B
1 review
“Perfect, modern setting for an amazing hen weekend.”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Fourteen of us stayed here for a hen weekend and everything about this house was perfect. Joanna the owner could not have been more helpful from the beginning and had thought of everything in the house from champagne and shot glasses to washing up liquid and sweetener! Each room had ample space and was beautifully decorated. The beds were really comfy with lovely, fresh sheets and clean towels. The two bathrooms were both a good size and fine even for fourteen of us getting ready to go out. The kitchen and dining area was the perfect communal area for us all with an iPhone dock and CD player. The location is again ideal; about five minutes walk from Clifton and probably about fifteen minutes walk to the Harbourside.

We would really recommend this house to anyone planning any sort of large party or get together.

Thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina L
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Went here this weekend for my hen do with a large group of friends (11).
It was the perfect place in so many different ways, the house is in a great spot right with all sorts of restaurants, bars and general amenities around about it, yet without being on a busy road so it was still a quite and restful place to sleep.
The downstairs communal area was lovely, modern and light and the kitchen was very user friendly and a good size for the amount of people using it.
The rooms were really nice, clean, well furbished and well laid out, there was plenty of space for us all.
Overall it was everything we needed and hugely contributed to being a really special and fun weekend.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: There were some creaky floorboards so it was hard to go to the loo quietly at night!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing