We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, good service, funky setting”
Review of Steak of the Art

Steak of the Art
Ranked #109 of 1,843 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$51
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: We think our story is worth telling, because it shows just how much care we've taken in creating this amazing venue. Sourcing the very best ingredients has been a real labour of love. We've met some amazing people and sampled some of the very best produce in the West Country. Here's the story of the food we cook for you: OUR BEEF For great tasting beef we need to source the best ingredients. We have searched far and wide for our beef and we believe some of the best comes from farms in Devon and Cornwall and on the Welsh Borders. From the minute we set foot on the farm we have chosen we knew these guys were right for us. Warson Beef Farm's approach to farming mirrors our approach to food - pouring the same passion and attention to detail in to everything from the welfare of the animals to the maintenance of their buildings and farmland.
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Booked here for a family meal without any prior knowledge or recommendation - and wasn't disappointed. Totally suitable for all ages (we ranged from 17 to 84) without the background music being intrusive. Staff were friendly and attentive, and the decor was individual and inventive. However, the real clincher was the quality of the food. The steaks were cooked as asked (not always a given at most restaurants!) the mac 'n' cheese, was excellent and I couldn't fault anything we ordered. The crime brûlée cheesecake and sticky toffee pudding are both worth saving space for!

Prices are mid range but, with the quality of the food, you feel you had your money's worth. All in all, will definitely go again

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank POGAS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 278 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2017

We had friends down for the weekend and decided to go here. It was a great choice, the food was excellent, especially the sharing platter starter. The staff were really attentive and friendly. This was definitely the best steak I have had in a long while and great value for money. I would recommend this place to others.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank littlefreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Tucked away kust the other side of Millenium Square is this gem of a Steak restaurant.

The restaurant itself is funky and vibrant, the staff are hugely welcoming and the whole menu offers delights for the palet at every turn but it is the steak that is the star of the show - sublime cuts of meat that part with the slightest of pressure from the incredibly cool steak knives and literally melt in your mouth.

If you like steak then this Bristol restuurant should be a 'must-do' for you.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Our choice for New Year's Eve meal and we got it right. This place is quirky with a great ambience. The food was well cooked, we had a sharing smoked meat board to start which was filling and then steak for main. The time between courses was great, I hate it when the starter is taken away and there's no gap in between the next course. Highly recommended and definitely one for our list if we come back to Bristol at any time.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank welovesunshine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

I was impressed with the team meal we had here. There were nearly 40 of us and we were on three different tables.
The goats cheese starter was meagre but the turkey dinner was really tasty and plentiful with veggies being served in sharing dishes which was nice.
The sticky toffee dessert was really big!

Service was okay, toilets were not in a good state.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank AnanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steak of the Art also viewed

Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 

Been to Steak of the Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing