We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Made the Weekend”

Review of The Gothic Mansion

exterior back lawn to mansion
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
exterior back lawn to mansion
Blue toile double bedroom with ensuite wet room ground floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
60 reviews
exterior back lawn to mansion
Blue toile double bedroom with ensuite wet room ground floor
ensuite wet room ground floor
Master ensuite with Jacuzzi bathroom
One of many halls in the mansion and plenty to see
Enclosed and high gated  gardens perfect for the klids and family to enjoy.
Chesterfield lounge
stained glass stair landing, you will just love being in eloquent surrounding s of the mansion
The Gothic Mansion Bristols best kept secret!
Double boudoir
The Gothic Mansion nestled in an acre of grounds and on site car park
Grand reception hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
13 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 50
Bristol, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rob L
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Made the Weekend”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We recently booked the Gothic Mansion for a weekend in Bristol and I'm so glad we did. It made the weekend and provided us with a different feel to your typical 'stag-hotel' weekend. There was 25 lads of varying ages and the house easily coped with the numbers (&more). Andrew/Misha were there to meet us when we arrived and provided us with a quick tour, house rules and gave us options for nights out which was good.

The large communal rooms are perfect for large groups, especially the grand dining room. The Kitchen had all the facilities you could ask for and allowed us to cook a great breakfast for 25 hungry people every morning. On top of all this the bedrooms (& beds) were exteremly spacious and comfy. The house is located a quick taxi ride away from bristol city centre and there is a local shop round the corner for any supplies.

i would recommend a large group or large family to stay here and I'm sure they would be more than happy. Knowing it used to be Old Convent does give you the creeps but that just adds to the amsposhere and when everybody is drinking and eating its a great setting to be in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large Communal Areas
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naomi s
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Grandeur and excellence”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

we had our extended family for an anniversary weekend. we meet up somewhere different annually, and i must say this rates amoungst the best places weve been to, over the years.
It had everything we needed to make our weekend a fabulous celebration.
We stayed in the 4 poster bedroom with ensuite marble jacuzzi room. Needless to say we made the best of this facility! We had thought about going out but in the end we prefered to stay around the house and relax in the various communal rooms...We spent time cooking, catching up, sitting in the lounge and the hall, both very comfortable and just a little bit grand!
On a practical point it was a really warm house and there was always plenty of hot water, the kitchen was really well equipped and easy to use. The owners were really welcoming and we felt well taken care of throughout our stay.. nothing was too much
Would we go back again ? YES YES YES

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: jacuzzi bathroom and 4 poster bedroom and of course spending time with the people i love
Liked least: it was all fabulous
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin W
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Avoid. One big glorified youth hostel, NOT a mansion.”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in July 2013
28
people found this review helpful

We visited the Gothic Mansion as a large group (all in our 30s), back in July 2013, and didn't have a good experience. Intrigued to see what other people had maybe thought since, having seen the reviews, I now feel compelled to write one too.
Booking - to start with, the whole process for booking is messy. Once enquired, you need to then send Bank Transfer, and then send text messages to unknown number. Also, didn't notice when booking, but the prices quoted were not was was on the trip advisor website, so bear this in mind. Never received receipt for booking, despite asking several times. The lady (Misha) is hard to get hold, and when you do, nothing is straightforward.
House cleanliness - when we arrived, it was apparent that things were just all a bit dirty. Sink full of dirty mop water, walls dirty, dust everywhere.
The owner (Misha) made an appearance, and when we let her know, she simply stated that she prided herself on her cleaning, and it's a lot for one person to do. Not our problem, as we'd paid a LOT of money for our two night stay there, to have a lovely weekend - and we made the most of it.
The house itself is all a bit faded glory, and more like a glorified youth hostel, than anything that resembles a nice, mansion, so be wary of the photos and description. Mis-match furniture, tables which are on their last legs, etc. Fire alarms went off throughout the weekend, along with fire exit routes blocked off. Chaotic.

We paid a £500 damage deposit, which given the performance of booking, was sceptical about getting back. I was right. It took two weeks of painful emailing, texting and phoning. When I eventually got hold of Misha, she told me that there was a problem, with a broken statue on the landing. I didn't recall any statue, stating that if we didn't receive deposit back, I was taking the matter further. She came back to me later on text, stating that the statue had been moved before we arrived, and must have been the previous people that had been there. All real, dodgy stuff. We eventually got our deposit back.

This place was in no way going to dampen our spirits, and we all had a great weekend in Bristol.

It ultimately has so much potential of being something quite special. It would just need a hell of load of money chucking at it, and that ain't going to happen at any point soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrpowell
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend, great venue”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We organised a combined stag / hen do for around 40 here after our original venue fell through. It was better than I'd expected and nicer than the original venue, there are plenty of rooms and bathrooms and lots of quirky original features. This place is hidden gem and could be used for anything from a quiet family holiday to a party. The best way to describe it would be 'full of character', highlights for me were the master bedroom we stayed in (with it's period 4 poster bed and the band new jacuzzi room) and the large country kitchen. The owners were friendly and helpful and I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a venue which is nice but a bit out of the ordinary

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philgrins...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a big group”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Andrew and misha were very hospitable. They organized all out entertainment and food at a very reasonable cost. The gothic mansion is very central so easy to get to the city centre. Andrew even ensured our evening ran smoothly by putting our names down on the guest list of pubs and clubs.

We had a great time and would highly recommend the gothic mansion for large groups.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing