We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel in REALLY central location.”
Review of Rock'n'Bowl Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rock'n'Bowl Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Rock and Bowl Motel is a great hostel. Other reviews seem to have forgotten that it is a hostel not the Hilton. My room was clean, big enough and bright. Lots of communal space is what you need in a hostel to meet others and this has exactly that. Sure it's noisy at weekends but they tell you that on the website. Bed was comfy enough but ask for a pair of earplugs at weekends. If you want somewhere that's central for clubs, pubs and sightseeing then try this place. The staff were very friendly as well and happy to let you do your own thing. We'll stay there again next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pman-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

594 - 598 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

The location couldn't be better, and the idea and place itself was cool, but definitely not clean. Only stay if you can't afford somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mimidrags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

If you have any valuables DO NOT stay at the Rock n Bowl or they wont be yours for much longer! When I checked in to the Rock N Bowl I asked the staff if my Apple mac laptop would be safe.They assured me that because my room was a private the door had a dead lock so there would be no problems.I checked into my room and left the building for 1 hour returning to find my laptop had dissapeared from my room which was strange as my door was locked! I informed the member of staff behind the counter that my laptop had been stolen and as the door was locked somebody had a key and therefore it was a member of staff.For some bizarre reason he didn't come to this conclusion and refused to call the police as he didn't think they would be interested!!When i spoke to the police they informed me that they have had many problems with security at the the Rock N Bowl and have repeatedly asked them to install cameras and swipe cards.My advice to you is to to stay well away from the Rock N Bowl because the staff have keys and are not afraid to help themselves to your property.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank benlondon35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed here as a stag doo and 20 lads were separated into 3 rooms but bunk beds were cool and ok comfort wise!! Staff seemed pretty cool also!!

In room and next to my pillow I could see sick stains on the wall and carpet along with the occasional spot of blood!!

The kitchen was clean however showers and toilets were unsafe!! In the morning I woke upto spots of blood on toilet wall and in cubicle and then found a syringe next to and behind toilet rolls!! Classy!!

We know it's cheap and wasn't expecting much but please in future cut drug use out as it's unsafe and a major health risk! (signs saying drug use is not tolerated is not enough) need security!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thehoteltester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Great place to stay with good facilities. Lovely staff.

It can be noisey until around 2am, so would not recommend this place if you need to get up the next day (on business) but if travelling and going out in the evening - great place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Skomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.7 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,868 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Travelodge Bristol Central
7.9 km away
Travelodge Bristol Filton Hotel
0.8 km away
YHA Bristol
YHA Bristol
#4 of 35 in Bristol
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock'n'Bowl Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock'n'Bowl Motel

Address: 22 Nelson Street, Bristol BS1 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Bristol
Price Range: €16 - €69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock'n'Bowl Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Bristol, Rock'n'Bowl features a 24-hour front desk, common areas with free Wi-Fi, flat TVs, a tennis table and a big courtyard. Guests benefit from several discounts at The Lanes, the on-site bowling alley and night club venue, with a special selection of beers, cocktails, a karaoke facilities, pool tables and the famous Ray's Pizza, made with daily fresh dough, buffalo mozzarella and imported Italian ingredients. A nice and healthy breakfast which includes locally roasted fresh coffee, tea, milk, jam, orange juice, toast and cereals, is included with each reservation. The on-site complex, the historical THE LANES, has club nights with many important bands and djs so please be aware that there will be noise disruption on Friday and Saturday nights in particular until about 03:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Rock'n'Bowl Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock `n Bowl Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing