We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveller rating
410
185
65
33
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
410
185
65
33
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safari park afternoon tea the cottages lovely hotel safari package chinese room sandwiches and cakes stayed for two nights golf club sculpture gallery bletchley park wedding party lounge area hotel restaurant buffet breakfast public areas high street
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 705 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2018

Went for afternoon tea recently and absolutely delighted! However, appalled by the surcharge following a request for some more finger sandwiches that turned out to be £5 EACH!!! Really let yourselves down and totally unjustified by such an extortionate price

Room tip: Don’t ask for any extra finger sandwiches
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goonerbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Woburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

Dear Goonerbucks,

Thank you for submitting your review on this site following your recent visit for afternoon tea.

We delighted that you enjoyed food and service but sorry you felt you did not get value for money when charged for extra rounds of finger sandwiches. We do indeed charge £4.95 for a round (3 finger sandwiches). Although Afternoon Tea is a 'package' including hot beverages (as many as you require), savoury and sweet items, any food extras are charged and we feel at a price that reflects the quality of our freshly prepared food items, service and facilities.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Above average hotel with very attentive reception personnel.
Stayed as part of a wedding party, our friend's son's wedding, and, although we were only in the hotel for less than 10 hours it was reasonable value for money, given a premium for the wedding, captive audience kind of thing. Didn't use the restaurant in the evening but the breakfast was very good.
Situated in a very affluent part of the country, adjacent to a championship golf course it's not surprising they can charge a bit of a premium.
All in all, above average as stated above.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank stevenL2926ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Woburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

Dear Steve N,

We are delighted that you enjoyed staying at The Woburn Hotel to attend a wedding on the Woburn Estate.

We all hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to The Woburn Hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

Just wanted to say how lovely this hotel is. Everyone from the guys in reception, through to the ladies cleaning first thing in the morning were so friendly, smiley and welcoming. It was by far the most relaxed place we have evr stayed. The room was lovely and big, the bed so comfy, food excellent, location just perfect for either Woburn Abbey or Bletchley Park. Also for those of you also needing Gluten Free, then don't panic a little over half the menu was adaptable - just ask!
I can't say anymore really, just that if you are in the area, then pay the little bit extra and stay here you won't regret it!! We will be back.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Muscat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Woburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear Muscat28,

Thank you for your lovely and detailed review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Woburn Hotel very soon.

Kind regards


David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night a couple of weeks ago for our anniversary. We stayed in a suite, which was lovely but when we arrived it was very rushed with no real welcome, just 'last name?'. In addition to this, we weren't given any information on anything, so we didn't know how to get to the Abbey from where we were (we bought tickets as part of our package) or what time breakfast was etc.

Lastly, breakfast the following morning was absolute chaos, with a limited buffet of hot food, which was half empty and covered in grease. Based on what we paid, I thought the breakfast would be lovely, but it was a bit like a premier inn. I would recommend excluding it when you book and going over the road to one of the little cafes/brasseries.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cruiser418946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Woburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Dear Cruiser418946,

Thank you for submitting your review on this site.

Our reputation has always been based on a genuine warm welcome and great quality of food and service, therefore I apologise if this was not the case on this occasion.

All the points stated have been noted and will be shared with the relevant head of departments to ensure consistency in hospitality and serviced are always met.

Finaly, there are indeed plenty of offers for brekfast within the village, however most are only at weekends and also have limited sittings.

Once again, sorry for a disappointing visit.

Yours sincerely,

David Bouchet
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

Very disappointing visit for afternoon tea. I didn’t complain at the time as it was a friends special birthday but the worst afternoon tea I have had.

The sandwiches were served direct from the fridge ice cold, there were no home made cakes and the cakes were the type you would have with your granny at home. Fruit cake and marble cake, clearly cut from a loaf cake and then slices in half, who puts fruit cake on after noon tea. The lemon tart filling was very runny and the pavlova was either still slightly frozen or kept too cold. I struggled to get the waiter to understand I do not drink caffeine and would like a fruit infusion, he tried to bring me a cold orange and passion fruit drink!!!!

Also the price we were in a private room but was a bland looking room with no atmosphere, other nearby places do not charge for private dining £ 55 for 2 with no alcohol is the most expensive I have had, there is not even any nice bone china. I think you need to go and do a little market research and invest in some nice china not just use the chunky horrible stuff from the hotel. I think the picture says it all.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Explorer814432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Woburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Dear Explorer814432,

I was disappointed to read of your dissatisfaction following your recent visit for afternoon tea.

Being myself on duty on the day, I had the pleasure in greeting some of the party guests, escort the birthday lady to her surprise event and liaised with the team members during service. I also talked to some of the guests on departure which were all full of praise about food and service. However, as it seems not to be the case for you, please feel free to contact me direct at the hotel to discuss further.

Sorry for a disappointing visit.

Yours sincerely,

David Bouchet
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews