We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“You get what you pay for” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Certificate of Excellence
Powys
Level Contributor
156 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Our second visit here. Once again we paid for an historic suite which gave us a lovely room overlooking the (frozen) lily pond and plenty of space. Slippers, towelling robes etc all supplied. It also gave us access to the Orchard Restaurant for evening fine dining and waiter service for breakfast. The dining in the Orchard is a highlight for us - for others it may not be so important. A lovely slow paced dinner and a bottle of wine with coffee and petit fours is our ideal evening, whereas others seem to prefer to eat and get across to the Pavilion to reserve their table for the evening for quizzes, dancing and entertainment - each to his own.
As previously the dining was lovely - service was impeccable. We did witness some challenging behaviour from some tricky customers but the team never wavered in their excellent customer service and are to be congratulated for this. We did hear one or two comments that food quality in the main buffet restaurant was only average, but we have no experience of this. We didn't go across to the entertainment every night but we did go to see the entertainment team on the final night, and enjoyed the evening. Especially the Mr & Mrs game at the beginning of the evening, which due to the honesty of the guests taking part, was extremely funny. I do think guests should be aware though that The Players are no longer here and we missed them. They added something quite unique to the stay with their Murder Mystery and Book at Bedtime - not something we have come across anywhere else. Warner did notify us beforehand that they were no long resident here. The weather was quite cold while we were here but our room was warm and cosy and extra heaters were installed in the communal sitting areas and it did not feel cold inside. All in all we enjoyed our stay again but I do think you get what you pay for with Warner. A stay in a standard room and eating in the buffet restaurant might feel like a very different holiday. Do your homework before you go and decide where your priorities are.

Room Tip: Consider paying for an historic room/suite for a more unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NettePowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SergioRodrigues, Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you for your honest and constructive feedback on your stay. I am glad to hear enjoyed your holiday with us. Food plays a huge part in Warners and I am very happy that it also plays a big part on your holiday. We are always looking into ways of improving our product. Holme Lacy had some changes in the Entertainment area where now we have our Entertainment Resident Team and Ents Manager, Ian Needle who you saw leading the Mr and Mrs game show which you liked.
Hope to see you back with us soon.
Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    364
    133
    43
    31
See reviews for
117
622
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Just had 3 night break in Junior Suite, worth the extra cost. Dining in the Orchard Restaurant was included with this room and was excellent in both food quality and service. Entertainment was what you made of it, a good laugh and fun if you participate, or you can be Mr Grumpy and sit on the side-lines! Staff attitude, manners, helpfulness etc. are second to none. A lot of companies could learn from Warners staff training.
All in all a wonderful short break..

Room Tip: go for the best you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowyWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SergioRodrigues, Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us on your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you had a delightful stay with us and enjoyed our entertainment offering.
Hope to see you back with us soon.
Regards
Holme Lacy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Visited with a group of friends and had the most wonderful time. In need of a fun, relaxing break and got just what I wanted. Never been so well looked after in a hotel before and visited quite a few. The staff were absolutely fantastic in the way they looked after us. I really can't fault the four night stay at all. There will definitely be another visit to a Warner Leisure Hotel before long either in a group or just the two of us.

Room Tip: No need to upgrade as basic rooms have all you need. Lots of space in the bathroom. More than I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank POPPYEWAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This was our first experience of a Warners` holiday. We travelled with a large group of people, some couples and some singles. We were very pleasantly surprised by the whole holiday and are already planning our next Warners` break. The house itself and the gardens are very grand, whilst the room we stayed in, a signature room was in a more modern wing of the house. I wouldn`t upgrade to a signature room again as we looked in a standard room and there was very little difference. The bed was huge and very comfortable and the bathroom, with over bath shower was quite large with ample shelf space for toiletries.
We ate in the main restaurant and the food was good, with served starters, a choice of served main courses or a carvery. Sweets were served also, with a good choice and the menu changed daily. Wine was reasonably priced and good.
We took part in lots of activities, including a guided local walk, quizzes, tap dancing, table tennis, darts, wine tasting, the list goes on. In fact apart from the walk, we never left the hotel grounds. We were kept busy and entertained the whole time.
Evening entertainment was by the resident band and entertainment team, who were tireless. the young dancers and singers entertained us, danced with us and chatted with us, they were exceptional. In fact all the staff were exceptional, the service, in whichever area of the hotel, was the best I have experienced, and I have visited some very upmarket hotels in England and abroad. I can only commend Warners or the manager of this particular hotel for their impeccable staff training programme.
Overall we had a very good experience. We are in our early sixties and I would say we were not the youngest of the guests and there were obviously some who were older, but the atmosphere was lively and friendly at all times. All in all a very good break - and we got an amazing group rate.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

My wife and I took a four night, Monday to Friday break as part of a group of 12. This was our second Warner leisure break after a stay at Thoresby Hall last year.

The hotel is a large 17th century mansion, with a modern annexe housing most of the rooms, the "spa" facilities and the "Pavilion" theatre and bar where the evening entertainments are staged.

We had a "historic room" in the house itself. I'd rate this as a worthwhile option on a pleasure stay where something a little different is welcome. Something to bear in mind with historic rooms is that they vary - as an adaptation of original spaces, some were very large indeed; others, including ours, were really quite small - two of us couldn't actually pass by the foot of the (admittedly large) bed at the same time. We took this in our stride - the room was almost directly over the front entrance with a expansive view of parkland, and despite some signs of wear and tear we were pleased with it.

Our package included breakfast and dinner in the Orchard restaurant. This was generally very good, both from a food and service point of view.

Entertainments we indulged in included occasional quizzes in the bar or lounge areas, which we enjoyed when we were otherwise at a loose end; and an organised local walk of about four miles one morning, much of it along the bank of the Wye. The leader was excellent - take your walking boots if you like that sort of thing.

Between us we also had sessions of pistol and rifle shooting (airguns), archery (aborted by the friendly beauty therapist/archery instructor in charge at the onset of a heavy shower), tap dancing, tai chi, ballet (!), a 'facial' demonstration, and a daily swim.

The evening entertainment seemed to be of a decent standard, and was mainly singing and dancing from the house entertainment team. My wife and some of our friends watched more of these than I did, they aren't really my thing, and they all thought they were very good.

The grounds and gardens are very good indeed. Big enough for a decent stroll, and there are a couple of small putting greens, a croquet lawn, tennis courts and a bowling green - though there wasn't much demand for them in January. There is some large scale topiary.

Was there anything less than fully satisfactory? Well, we should have twigged sooner that the radiator central heating in our room didn't work, because there was also a 2kW oil-filled radiator in the room which we switched on only when we realised it was the only source of heat, apart from the electric towel rail in the bathroom. Happily it wasn't unduly cold during our stay and we weren't really inconvenienced, although a slightly warmer bathroom would have been nice - had it been nearer to normal January temperatures, I think we would have had to ask for extra heaters. We didn't complain about this minor bump in the road, partly because we could manage well enough but also because we really didn't want the hassle of changing rooms even if another had been available.

I know how it irks hotel management when people put things like the last paragraph in reviews, without having complained at the time - but I have explained here our reasons for not raising a complaint, and the hotel clearly knew about the problem - I was more disappointed that they didn't feel it was worth mentioning to us when we checked in.

In any case, taken overall this is a favourable review and we had a good time. The staff were all friendly and helpful, and we will almost certainly do this again next year if the deal is as attractive.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyGable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holme Lacy
5.9 km away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
10.0 km away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
6.1 km away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
8.0 km away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
11.9 km away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel

Property: Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Holme Lacy HR2 6LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Holme Lacy
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be swept off your feet by the 18th century charms of this Grade I Georgian Historic Hotel, with its landscaped gardens, elegant drawing rooms, imposing staircases and fantastic views. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holme Lacy Hereford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing