We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Barbara's Cottages

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
Castletownshend, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
derm0
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed mid September, 7 adults in total. We arrived on a damp Friday evening to a lovely warm cottage. Barbara was friendly and helpful but not intrusive. The kitchen, living and dining area in our cottage was open plan and suited our group perfectly. I have stayed in many holiday homes and I can safely say this is the best kitted out kitchen we have seen in a rental home. The beds are very comfortable and we all slept well. We were very fortunate to be able to see inside the other cottages one day with Barbara. They are all very different in layout but all beautiful. These cottages would be great for a large family gathering. The location is excellent, Castletownsend, Skibereen (Saturday market),
Skull, Mizen head and so much more to see and do. We loved it and hope to return sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katieodo
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An idyllic getaway for all situations...families. ...couples....groups :)”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed in Barbaras cottages in July 2013 and had the most perfect holiday. We travelled with a 3 year old and a 5 month old and could not have asked for more. The cottage itself was large - 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. The cottages are a good bit in from any main road and the courtyard outside makes it very safe for children. Our 3 year old was thrilled with the tree swing outside our cottage aswell as the fresh eggs she collected in the morning and the vegetable patch where she ate her way through the green beans :). The horse up the path,beside the chickens were also visited twice daily :).
Make sure you check out Sandycove beach....much quieter than Tragumna beach and also The Church in Skibereen is a great place to eat with very good prices (we ate there 3 evenings in a row!). All in all this holiday outdid all expectations and that was all down to where we stayed.....Barbaras cottages :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It felt homy and cosy”
Reviewed 19 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We totally loved it. It's really a beautiful place to stay, relax and enjoy Cork and its environment. We had a very hard time to find Barbara's. Finally arrived we found ourselves lucky having chosen that nice cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynJames6...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The cottages are set in a fabulous spot, well away from the road, and are nestled together (3 holiday cottages and Barbara's farmhouse) comfortably. Each cottage has its own private fenced area within the beautiful large garden. The ducks, chickens, dogs and horse add a lovely interest, and there are flowers brightening up the place everywhere!
The cottages are wonderfully light, spacious and homely. They are well equipped, clean and comfortable - our bed was possibly the comfiest I've ever slept in!
Barbara was extremely welcoming and helpful and lit a bonfire for us one evening which we sat around well into the night. She had plenty of handy local knowledge which allowed us to find some of the most beautiful spots and scenic routes (we were there on motorbikes).
Skibbereen, only a couple of miles away, is vibrant and has all the shops and amenities that you could need.
We had a truly relaxing time and would highly recommend Barbara's Cottages. We're already planning our return trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica...
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful location for a large group!”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Myself, and a large group made up of extended family, and friends took all 3 of the cottages during May of this year. It was the perfect location for this as we all had 'our own space', yet, if we wanted to come together for the odd meal, it was so easy as the cottages are all beside each other. The setting of the cottages is lovely, being in the country, and yet close to the village of Castletownsend, and a short drive to Skibereen. I would disagree with one of the other reviewers who commented on the lack of walking close to the cottages, I found some lovely walks.... Down to the village through the forest, over to the nearby ring fort, and just walking the lanes with the wonderful smells of hedgerows! Each of the cottages is very well appointed, and it is so great that Barbara provides the basics, like salt, pepper, tea bags, sugar, kitchen towel, toilet paper, dishwasher tablets etc, to get you started.
One comment I would make is that as the cottages are so close to each other, and to Barbara's own house, I would not recommend staying here if you wanted solitude as you would never know who was staying right beside you, and you share a common parking area with Barbara and her own family and friends..None of this was a problem for us as we had taken all 3 cottages. I would definately go back as I loved the area, and there was so much to do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location. In the heart of West Cork
Liked least: Under other circumstances, having other houses so close.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing