We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$167
eDreamsUS$166
CheapTicketsUS$167
TravelocityUS$167
Orbitz.comUS$167
PricelineUS$166
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveller rating
348
93
34
15
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
348
93
34
15
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea wedding venue chef's table scones wedding reception peak district service was excellent four poster country house attention to detail evening meal following morning conservatory christian menu teas chatsworth
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 510 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2020

We enjoyed Sunday lunch here with every silver service attention to detail you expect, the surroundings are excellent and the staff friendly and helpful, the conservatory a great addition to the formal seating.

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank Thedancingmatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2019

Our regular dining party of four, me, my wife, our daughter and her partner, visit East Lodge and eat at the Chef's Table most Christmases. We keep going back because the food and drink combinations are excellent, the rooms comfortable and the setting delightful. This year we enjoyed canapes with champagne, crab cakes with Chablis, Goat's Cheese with NZ Sauvignon Blanc, Stone Bass unusually (but ideally) paired with Romanian Pinto Noir, Lamb Rump with Chateau Musar from Lebanon, a Gin & Tonic float finishing with Chocolate Orange delice accompanied by Royal Tokaji from Hungary. We ate every morsel and we were all too full to take on the cheese!! Rest assured, we'll be back!!

Room tip: Ground floor accessible room available
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilTooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2019

Spent just the one night, but from the moment we arrived the staff were fantastic; they couldn't be more friendly and accommodating, great service. Food and drink was wonderful, lovely atmosphere. Beautiful grounds, and the interior was impeccable, and wonderfully and tastefully decorated for Christmas. Ideal for Chatsworth visits. Would recommend and will stay again

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 932lisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2019

Have previously been for afternoon tea twice, which I can highly recommend. We had a Christmas lunch here for 21 people, the service was excellent, staff very pleasant and food good, already booked again.

Date of stay: December 2019
1  Thank Nerissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2019

We have just returned from a "festive" lunch at East Lodge. It was very disappointing. We have been many times in the past and found it lively, cheerful and serving good food.

Not so today! When we arrived for a 1:30 booking, we were the only diners on the premises. The atmosphere was flat as a pancake. Our pre-meal drinks orders and then food orders were taken by a lady who was very low-key to say the least.

We then moved through to the restaurant, which was cool and empty. We did later ask for the heat to be turned up but we should have been asked if we were comfortable in the first place.

Our starters arrived and were just ok, maybe 5/10. We then had to wait an inordinately long time (considering we were the only diners) for our mains. Three of the four were just ok, maybe again 5/10. The fourth meal was turkey and it was very very poor. The strips of turkey meat looked as if they had come from a supermarket packet, rather than a recently-cooked bird. My friend mentioned this to the waiter when asked, right at the end of that course and the waiter said that,had she known earlier, she would have changed it. Too late!

The desserts were just ok, again 5/10.

Overall, a big let down: no atmosphere; uninspiring staff and bland food. Festive? No way!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueowl1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews