We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,022)
Filter reviews
1,022 results
Traveller rating
591
286
90
29
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
591
286
90
29
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar food afternoon tea lovely hotel wedding venue wedding reception top class leisure centre reception area would highly recommend this hotel from start to finish function room bar staff food was lovely main course family room car park following morning
Filter
Updating list...
538 - 543 of 1,022 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

Didn't stay here and I booked Sunday lunch in the restaurant as it was convenient (and I wanted a reserved table) rather than on the tripadvisor reviews.

What a lovely surprise. The dining room was full of local families, the tables dressed in Irish linen and the staff professional and friendly.

I was hoping that it wouldn't be a buffet. No need to worry! The smoked salmon starter was copious and delicious and our roast beef arrived under a dome and was carved at the table. It arrived with a huge dish of mixed veg and two types of potato.Desserts of chocolate mousse and cheesecake were the perfect ending. The children's menu was good with a nice piece of breast of chicken.

I'd love to go back.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank annemH5511MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2015

Dear Annen74

Thank you for taking the time to review our Sunday lunch, Travelling from France we are delighted that you found yourself at home nestled between local families in our hotel restaurant whilst being well taken care of by our different team members.

We were happy to read such a positive and glowing comments from a client originating from the gastronomic capital of the world, we were also happy that our new addition of our carving trolley had not escaped your keen eye.

We do hope to have you with us again at the Castletroy Park hotel for reservations please do not hesitate to reserve on +353.61.335566

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Visit this hotel on a regular basis for sunday lunch in both bar and restaurant. Food and service is generally good, hence my return visits. On entering the bar it is usually a free for all in trying to get a table, if you are lucky and catch the attention of a server you will be allocated a table or one will be held and called when free, not withstanding this other diners will enter and " take " any table available. I have yet to see a manager in this room during lunch service, supervising and controlling the allocation and service of tables. This is necessary as you can enter the bar from opposite ends.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank limerickjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2015

Dear LimerickJohn

Thank you for your review, we are delighted to read that you enjoy Sunday lunch and the service at the Castletroy Park and this is the reason for you many visits.

I wish to clarify that whilst the brasserie works on a “voie libre” basis where clients enter and are invited to sit at available tables where our team will greet them with menus, or restaurant works primarily from reserved tables and clients are greeted at the door and shown to the table.

I assure you that members of both senior and junior management work both rooms during this service and are easily identifiable as they wear suits unlike their other team members,
Please do not hesitate to ask for a manager on duty when next in our hotel as it would be our pleasure to make ourselves known to you and build a more personal relationship.

Again we look forward to greeting you again at the Castletroy Park Hotel in the near future and thank you for your comments.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Travelling around the country with three days of appointments between Ennis/cork and Limerick so thought I'd choose here as there was a spa and free parking. Booked an exec room (recommend 126)
Brasserie was good - a little slow but food was delicious I had the soup everyday to start as it was so good. Breakfast is lovely with cooked to order hot menu and cold buffet - I recommend the eggs Benedict.
The swimming pool area is a little dated and the sauna wasn't particularly scorching hot ( how I like it) but would recommend and come again, especially if you're solo for business too.

Room tip: Room 126 was fine
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 54emmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2015

Dear emma h

Firstly thank you for booking our property and also for your glowing review, Thank you for recommending the executive bedroom which has just been newly renovated.

I was happy to read that you were impressed by the food both in our brasserie and breakfast in the restaurant that you found “delicious”, whilst there is sometimes a slight delay in service our guests are asked to appreciate that everything is cooked from fresh to insure the highest satisfaction possible.

Finally our swimming pool is a little dated in comparison to the rest of our renovated however there are fantastic plans for this in the next few months.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015

The service and front desk staff were terrific and everyone was very friendly. The rooms on the first floor are rather dated and in need of updating so try to get rooms on the higher floors. The furniture is the same (I think they just painted it) but at least the decor is updated and the rooms nicer. The wifi was pretty good except in the restaurant proper.

The meeting facilities were fine and the coffee breaks and snacks what you would expect. The included breakfast was also OK with a nice assortment of hot and cold foods although a little more fresh fruit would be nice. The restaurant lunches were not great but the tea was nice. Torn between 3 and 4 stars but because of the terrific people, will go with 4.

Room tip: higher floors in rennovated rooms
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5Psi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2015

Dear 5Psi

Thank you for your review and for complementing the different team members of our front desk who were “very friendly”. Almost all of our bedrooms have now been updated only 15 remain and the gross majority of these are family bedrooms which shall all see renovation completed by mid January.

The Wifi has intentionally not been covered in the restaurant as this was a cause for previous complaints as videos were being watched and volume was creating problems for other guests.
I am disappointed to read that you found our restaurant lunch to be a bit disappointing and I would greatly welcome some more feedback (jgriffin@castletroypark.ie) with regard to your experience, what was lacking and potential improvements that you would envisage.

Again than you for your review and I hope that we will continue to impress you with the further improvements to our property.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Near the university of Limerick, this hotel was perfect for the small conference I just attended. Friendly staff, nice rooms - comfortable and quiet. Good breakfast. It also seemed like a very good value for the money.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_from_Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Director of Sales at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2015

Dear D_from_Portland

Thank you for your terrific review, we were delighted to read that you found our property perfect for the conference that you attended.

Thank you for your many complements that include our friendly team, nice comfortable bedrooms and breakfast.

Finally I am happy that you found our property good value for money as we realize that budgets can often be tight and we try our best to accommodate business affordable.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews