We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heavenly cottage, garden and location perfect for...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Peasenhall, Saxmundham, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Kay R
1 review
“Heavenly cottage, garden and location perfect for family holidays”
Reviewed 4 March 2021 for a stay in August 2020

White Sheep is a beautiful cottage, over 400 years old, in a pretty village called Peasenhall and ideally situated for visiting the beautiful Suffolk coastline and country walks.

We especially love the garden which attracts butterflies and bees, a perfect backdrop to outdoor dining and relaxing. So lovely to have outdoor space. The house is thoughtfully stocked with absolutely everything you need from kitchen utensils to a wonderful selection of reading materials that cover the local area well. Sue has written a very useful manual to help direct you to local amenities. There's an abundance of excellent local pubs serving up fantastic food.

The bedrooms are lovely, with gorgeous views.

Peasenhall has an incredible deli 100 metres away and a butchers and post office down the road which is always useful when on holiday and peacocks just strolling down the street!

Highly recommend this wonderful place and Sue has been super friendly and very easy to communicate with.

Total recommend

Date of stay: August 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillR1340
Westland Tai Poutini National Park, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage in great location”
Reviewed 8 January 2020 for a stay in December 2019

We stayed in White Sheep Cottage for 3 nights over NYE.

The cottage itself is beautiful, over 400 years old which brings lovely features and quirks that might not be to everyone’s tastes but has real character.

The cottage is incredibly well appointed, we cooked in every night and couldn’t have thought of anything that the kitchen didn’t have. There are three social areas spread between the kitchen, dining room and living room which is very nice if a group of 6 wants to spread out a little bit. The living room is very comfortable with more than enough sofa room for 6 a digital TV and a range of books and board games. It is also at the far end from the adjoining cottage so there’s minimal noise transmission between the two.

The bedrooms and beds specifically are excellent. Top quality linens, comfortable mattresses and very nice bathrooms.

There’s a lovely garden that we didn’t get much use of but would be fantastic in the summer.

Sue has also written a very informative guest manual that’s very comprehensive and incredibly useful for exploring the wonderful Suffolk coastline.

Would highly recommend to anyone, but do keep in mind and don’t be surprised by sloped floors, short doorways etc. As would be expected in any 400+ year old cottage.

Date of stay: December 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2020
Thanks Will, you’re right about the sloping floor in one of the bedrooms and some low doorways, thanks so much for your lovely comments and comprehensive review! You should come back in summer because the garden is truly gorgeous ......though I say it myself.....I do love my garden, it’s my pride and joy and I’m very proud of how much fantastic wildlife it supports.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josephine...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 17 December 2019 for a stay in November 2019
1
person found this review helpful

We had a really lovely time at White sheep cottage and will definitely be going back. It is a fantastic location for coastal walks and a great weekend in the countryside!

Date of stay: November 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2019
Thank you Jo for your lovely review and also the links to the Sebald book, now in the library at White Sheep for all to enjoy! Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian C
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just what the Doctor ordered!”
Reviewed 1 October 2019 for a stay in September 2019

Just got home from a lovely long weekend at White Sheep Cottage which I found to be very much as described in its text and accompanying photographs. To be laid low by a bout of "man-flu" on our last day and yet to feel perfectly happy staying there on my own while my companions went out for another day of fun in wonderful Suffolk lends clear testament that White Sheep Cottage is a very welcoming, comfortable, stylish and restful 'home from home', and in an exquisite part of the UK. You'll love it!

Date of stay: September 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2019
Thank you Julian, glad to know you were comfortable even when poorly!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OregonArt
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Central to Suffolk Coast and Bury”
Reviewed 16 July 2019 for a stay in June 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Sue was very helpful and responsive both before and during our stay, and we appreciated having Paypal as an option as it avoided dealing with our local bank and currency transfers. She also arranged for some very nice sunny and hot weather for the 2 weeks , we brought our NW US raingear which helped appease the rain gods.

The mattresses at the cottage are great, I found them very comfortable and the 3 bathrooms are well equipped and just right, wonderful hot water too . The clothes washer was easy to use compared to some we have encountered in the UK, we used the clothes rack instead of the dryer just as we do at home.
The cottage was originally built about 1562 and people were shorter then, if you are of average UK/US height you should not have a problem. Also some floors are not as flat as you would have in today’s modern house, unless you use a walking cane you should not have problem. I wore my baseball cap inside as a reminder as I’m 6’ 4” or 193cm, less some shrinkage. At any rate do your due diligence and ask Sue about any concerns. By the way the small bedroom is indeed small, you may have to put your luggage on the landing outside.

Following are a couple of snapshots from our enjoyable trip to Suffolk which I thought you might like..

On July 4th we had a barbecue for 12 in the Sheep Cottage garden and everyone had a garden chair and a shady spot -it was a sunny hot day. We purchased the large Portobello mushrooms, 2 types of sausage, chicken and some pies from Creasy’s butcher shop a short walk along “The Causeway” which runs parallel to the main street, and gets you away from the traffic. Creasey’s is a real old style butchers shop. We purchased the last bag of ”real charcoal” from the PO/ Shop.

Bury St Edmunds or “Bury” as my Dad always called it, is well worth a visit. Relatives gave us a Saturday Market day walking tour starting in Ram Meadow Car park IP33 1XT at 9.30 am. It's £2.30 to park all day and a good place to meet if you have several cars. Get there early it fills up fast. The tour went something like this:
See the Abbey Ruins, gardens, and Abbey Walls, then go to the Cathedral. Then go to the market, look at the stalls, have an Indian meal -get a plastic top for the container so you can eat the rest at home for dinner. It’s a lot of food. Watch the people walk by while you sit and eat lunch. Next go to the bird house and ice cream? and the rest of the gardens. Last the tiny Nutshell pub, have a beer or just have a quick peek inside. Back to the pay per park, and home. Can easily be a half day plus the drive to/from Sheep Cottage about 1hr

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2019
Thank you for your helpful and informative review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.