We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
286
100
37
25
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
286
100
37
25
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroll top bathgastro pubhuge bathroomfish and chipspuddingbar areacomfy sofasmain courselovely atmospherespecials boardon arrivallambtorsin roomate heresunday lunchpoached eggssouth lakes
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2018

We have stayed at the Plough several times and this was a return visit with friends for a walking weekend - the Plough is only a short car journey to some great walks. The rooms are a good size and comfortable - ours had a huge bathroom with a free-standing bath tub and separate shower cubicle. There is a wide choice of breakfast, and the hot dishes are cooked to order - very good. I particularly like the bar area for a drink before dinner/ anytime! Unfortunately (not their fault) they were short-staffed so getting a drink on the first night proved difficult - after that we were very well looked after. The restaurant is spacious and was a little chilly, but serves good pub food with big portions. The prices are eminently reasonable, so for all the above reasons the Plough is a great choice for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnitaT947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

Lovely hotel, clean, spacious, ( yes huge ensuite). Quality bedlinen and toiletries and firendly staff. The bar is not extensive but is adequate, would like to have seen a dry cider but hey ho! Good breakfasts with plenty of choice. Lovely log burner in bar area and comfy seating.
Only downside is that this hotel is right on the A65 and with the recent heatwave we wanted to keep the bedroom windows open at night but it was too noisy. Housekeeping came up trumps and supplied a fan. A big thank you for that.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Harrington which has a lot of noise from the A65.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

I rarely give five stars but this place deserves it. Food imaginative and delicious. The room and bathroom were luxurious and large and had everything you wanted. It is a mystery to me how this pub can get everything so right and the two other places we stayed in so wrong. Well done whoever is in charge.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank barneydare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Excellent service from the moment we arrived. Good menu .Starters had a good range and all the mains were well presented including the vegan option . Good range of drinks and well worth the journey to meet up with family.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank cookiecrew5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

We went to The Plough on Friday night (15/6/18) for dinner and the food was just exquisite! It was beautifully presented and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Really nice people. Luckily for us we only live 30 minutes away so we will certainly be visiting more frequently now that we have discovered it. Well worth a try.....I think you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank silvercat2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews