We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
296
103
39
28
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
296
103
39
28
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews enormous bathroom bar area roll top bath gastro pub fish and chips for sunday lunch pudding comfy sofas main course specials board ate here lovely pub torsin room lamb busy road south lakes food was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017

We stayed here for a romantic break and absolutely loved it. The room was spacious and beautifully furnished and included a proper record player and pile of classic albums - lovely touch!

The food was wonderful and the breakfast menu was refreshingly different - all the usual fare but with a few interesting additions. Absolutely loved it!

Room tip: The road out front can be busy and a little noisy if you're not used to it so ask for a room on the back.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

We stayed for one night in the Harrington room while in the area to look at at house we are buying. The room itself is lovely, finished to a high standard, in fact, I've managed to find the wardrobe online and will be buying it for the new house! The bathroom is superb and it was lovely to have a relaxing bath with a glass of wine but a side table or something to put a drink on would have been a nice touch.

We paid extra to book this room in preference to a room which was stated as suffering from some noise due to the proximity of the kitchen. We should have saved some money and booked the cheaper option as we didn't sleep well at all. All through the night, at regular 10 minute intervals something mechanical started up and went on for a minute or so. As it was regular and loud, this kept me awake for most of the night.

We ate there and the food was fantastic and the service was very good. The cooked breakfast was very good with quality ingredients.

When we move to the area we will probably be eating there on a regular basis. But I wouldn't recommend that particular room if you want to sleep well. The noise of the traffic is not an issue but that regular noise was too much to sleep through.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonMillieBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Stayed one night on our way to Scotland on my daughter's recommendation. It's beautifully decorated, the bedrooms are lovely and the bathrooms very spacious. There was a large bath and excellent shower. Great attention to detail all round. The food was delicious and the service very friendly and efficient. We definitely intend to stay there again. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peterandvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We recently stayed here for a couple of nights, having previously had a lovely stay. We had had a suite last time, but after seeing the other rooms whilst they were empty, decided that the Redmond room would be more than adequate this time.
We weren’t disappointed. The bathroom was huge, and the bedroom very comfortable, overlooking the back of the hotel. There was some noise from the kitchen fan, but this was only during service hours. The room was very warm, even without heating, so we needed to sleep with the curtains and windows open. Some slight adjustments in the bathroom would improve things even more: a hook next to the shower for towels, and a mixer tap for the wash basin, as the hot water gets extremely hot, very quickly, which almost burnt my hand!
The public areas of the inn are very comfortable, nice place to sit in the afternoon, reading the newspapers and to have a drink. The staff are very attentive and friendly.
We ate there both evenings, and enjoyed our food. Some of the dishes on the menu have sides, some don’t, which is a bit confusing. The service was a little haphazard at times, resulting in a mix up with our bill at the end of our stay. There didn’t seem to be anyone in charge on either evening.
Despite these little issues, it didn’t detract from our stay, and I am happy to give it five stars, as we love staying here, and will definitely return.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SarkLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Decor is nice and food is average. The service is very slow and staff are pretentious. A small inn in a small village which is not worth the effort. Customer service is very important in maintaining a decent reputation and they lack it. Unfortunately they will continue to be a small pub that pretends to be in a “boutique hotel” for people who have not travelled afar and do not know the true meaning of a boutique hotel and restaurant.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank rsl692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews