We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay & food”
Review of The Plough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Plough
Ranked #1 of 2 Lupton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights while attending a photography class at Aspire Photography Training. The room was luxurious and well appointed. My only wish would have been a shelf in the shower for my toiletries.

The food was so good that I had my dinner there every evening! I would stay there just for the food! Order the rib eye and the tomato salad (with pesto) side in particular!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Yuppyhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2017

We stayed here for a romantic break and absolutely loved it. The room was spacious and beautifully furnished and included a proper record player and pile of classic albums - lovely touch!

The food was wonderful and the breakfast menu was refreshingly different - all the usual fare but with a few interesting additions. Absolutely loved it!

Room Tip: The road out front can be busy and a little noisy if you're not used to it so ask for a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

We stayed for one night in the Harrington room while in the area to look at at house we are buying. The room itself is lovely, finished to a high standard, in fact, I've managed to find the wardrobe online and will be buying it for the new house! The bathroom is superb and it was lovely to have a relaxing bath with a glass of wine but a side table or something to put a drink on would have been a nice touch.

We paid extra to book this room in preference to a room which was stated as suffering from some noise due to the proximity of the kitchen. We should have saved some money and booked the cheaper option as we didn't sleep well at all. All through the night, at regular 10 minute intervals something mechanical started up and went on for a minute or so. As it was regular and loud, this kept me awake for most of the night.

We ate there and the food was fantastic and the service was very good. The cooked breakfast was very good with quality ingredients.

When we move to the area we will probably be eating there on a regular basis. But I wouldn't recommend that particular room if you want to sleep well. The noise of the traffic is not an issue but that regular noise was too much to sleep through.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonMillieBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Stayed one night on our way to Scotland on my daughter's recommendation. It's beautifully decorated, the bedrooms are lovely and the bathrooms very spacious. There was a large bath and excellent shower. Great attention to detail all round. The food was delicious and the service very friendly and efficient. We definitely intend to stay there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peterandvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We recently stayed here for a couple of nights, having previously had a lovely stay. We had had a suite last time, but after seeing the other rooms whilst they were empty, decided that the Redmond room would be more than adequate this time.
We weren’t disappointed. The bathroom was huge, and the bedroom very comfortable, overlooking the back of the hotel. There was some noise from the kitchen fan, but this was only during service hours. The room was very warm, even without heating, so we needed to sleep with the curtains and windows open. Some slight adjustments in the bathroom would improve things even more: a hook next to the shower for towels, and a mixer tap for the wash basin, as the hot water gets extremely hot, very quickly, which almost burnt my hand!
The public areas of the inn are very comfortable, nice place to sit in the afternoon, reading the newspapers and to have a drink. The staff are very attentive and friendly.
We ate there both evenings, and enjoyed our food. Some of the dishes on the menu have sides, some don’t, which is a bit confusing. The service was a little haphazard at times, resulting in a mix up with our bill at the end of our stay. There didn’t seem to be anyone in charge on either evening.
Despite these little issues, it didn’t detract from our stay, and I am happy to give it five stars, as we love staying here, and will definitely return.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SarkLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lupton
3.1 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
561 reviews
19.3 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
13.2 km away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.9 km away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
368 reviews
11.2 km away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
120 reviews
31 km away
Harts Head Inn
Harts Head Inn
#2 of 4 in Giggleswick
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough

Address: Cow Brow, Lupton LA6 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lupton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lupton
Price Range: €96 - €193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plough 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your The Plough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Lupton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing