We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B close the South Lakes”
Review of The Plough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Plough
Ranked #1 of 2 Lupton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My partner and I stayed at The Plough at Lupton in August 2011. The booking process was really easy and the staff on reception were so friendly. We stayed in the Torsin Room which was everything a boutique B&B room should be. It was spacious had all the mod cons but with real character, in fact although we'd come up to see friends and of course the great out doors we would have liked to spend more time in the room.
We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was really good. The atmosphere was also really nice and warm. We had breakfast in our room on the Sunday morning before we left and what a feast.
I would love to return here at some point and would highly reccomend this B&B. I have family that live near by and they all rave about the food too.

Room Tip: The Torsin room is excellent with the added feature of a stand alone bath and a huge shower if you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 339 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

We booked this as a last minute stop due to poor camping weather, and were very impressed. Great rooms, service and food, will definitely return, rain or sun!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHP68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We had read a glowing review of this inn some months ago in the travel section of the Sydney Morning Herald and booked a midweek 2 night deal with dinner on one night. We were not disappointed, although the Torsin suite which is said to be the best room wasn't available. We stated in the Harrington suite which was beautiful with a luxuriously appointed bathroom with lovely toiletries. Breakfast included was continental only so it was extra if you wanted a hot breakfast. We loved having large wooden tables for breakfast with lots of room for the newspapers which were provided.
Dinner menu was excellent with the garlic prawns a particular standout.
Although the inn is on the main road there is not much traffic noise and we found it easy to drive around the Lakes and back in one day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LibresOzzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Starters of lamb kofter and mackerel pate really tasty and would have liked more, main course of cod with mash and steak good but slow down the rushed service! Didn't expect to be finishing main course 30 minutes after arrived. We and next table purposefully delayed ordering desserts to try and enjoy surroundings and atmosphere. Plus missed an opportunity to sell us wine during eating. Also tip for kitchen, if the garlic butter you place on steak isn't melting it isn't hot enough or in my case cold! Almost great!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BooWoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Very well appointed and spacious rooms furnished to a high standard.
Quality food and first class service.
Ideal for a luxury break

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyBaguley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lupton
3.1 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
561 reviews
19.3 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
13.2 km away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.9 km away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
368 reviews
11.2 km away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
120 reviews
6.2 km away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough

Address: Cow Brow, Lupton LA6 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lupton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lupton
Price Range: €95 - €193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plough 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Plough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Lupton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing