We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whoop Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hipping Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveller rating
283
98
36
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
283
98
36
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroll top bathgastro pubhuge bathroomfish and chipspuddingbar areacomfy sofasmain courselovely atmosphereon arrivalspecials boardlambate heretorsin roomsunday lunchpoached eggssouth lakes
Filter
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 454 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We booked this as a last minute stop due to poor camping weather, and were very impressed. Great rooms, service and food, will definitely return, rain or sun!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHP68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We had read a glowing review of this inn some months ago in the travel section of the Sydney Morning Herald and booked a midweek 2 night deal with dinner on one night. We were not disappointed, although the Torsin suite which is said to be the best room wasn't available. We stated in the Harrington suite which was beautiful with a luxuriously appointed bathroom with lovely toiletries. Breakfast included was continental only so it was extra if you wanted a hot breakfast. We loved having large wooden tables for breakfast with lots of room for the newspapers which were provided.
Dinner menu was excellent with the garlic prawns a particular standout.
Although the inn is on the main road there is not much traffic noise and we found it easy to drive around the Lakes and back in one day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRD H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Starters of lamb kofter and mackerel pate really tasty and would have liked more, main course of cod with mash and steak good but slow down the rushed service! Didn't expect to be finishing main course 30 minutes after arrived. We and next table purposefully delayed ordering desserts to try and enjoy surroundings and atmosphere. Plus missed an opportunity to sell us wine during eating. Also tip for kitchen, if the garlic butter you place on steak isn't melting it isn't hot enough or in my case cold! Almost great!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BooWoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Very well appointed and spacious rooms furnished to a high standard.
Quality food and first class service.
Ideal for a luxury break

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyBaguley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

A wonderful surprise with a beautiful room & huge bathroom and roll top bath with plenty of bubbles....On returning back to our room after dinner we found that they had made our room ready for slumber arrggghhhhh...A real treat with good food too which wasn't to expensive neither even when your a captive audience...impressed....(Didnt even need a kettle in room as there was a 24 hour service too.)...
Were sure to be back again
Thank you

Room Tip: By the sounds of it they are all very good with Large bathrroms & Robes
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PunchBowlInns, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Hi Diane, thanks for taking the time to post a review and we're so pleased that you enjoiyed your stay at The Plough. Sometimes just the one night away from home can do you the world of good! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews