We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park
Nearby Hotels
Peak District Spa(Alsop en le Dale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
121
110
104
46
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
110
104
46
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshower blockon sitethe pubtissington trailnice sitecamping podswild campinghot tublong walklog burnertouring caravanpool tablelast weekenddisused quarryplay arealovely locationwell stocked shop
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Lovely site. Great facilities including showers, washing, electric hook up for campervan, private pitch (hedged off) with grass for awning, cafe, small shop and pub onsite (just over £3 a pint).
Beautiful scenery. Bus stop 5 minute walk from site both directions. Pet friendly and nice little park for the kids. Will be returning for sure.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Stayed here for a weekend with friends. The restaurant and bar were great, well priced food and wine, freshly cooked and served. The site itself is an odd layout, and everywhere are signs, don't do this, don't do that! Really quite off putting. There was a man in the toilet block but no warning signs up, and if my daughter had been younger I would not have been pleased about this. The site is in a great location to explore the local area. We wouldn't go back but partly because there are so many places to go when you can move your own 5 star hotel room around with you!

Stayed: August 2017
2  Thank Melandmuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Visited the site over the weekend in our camper van for two nights. We arrived at night and the weather was pretty shocking so finding our pitch was a bit of an effort, as the numbers are attached to the hook up box right at the back of the pitch. This meant having to get out and walk up to it to be able to see it.

We had a 50/50 hard standing and grass pitch for our awning. Unfortunately the caravan that arrived just before us asked if he could use our pitch to back into his in, resulting in him getting his car stuck on our pitch. We asked at reception the following morning if we could change our pitch and the staff were very helpful in relocating us.

The toilet block was nice and clean, with underfloor heating. The shop had all your essentials, although could only get UHT milk. The bars nice and cosy but doesn't do food anymore which was a shame. Other pubs are a drive away and aren't walkable due to the site being on an A road.

Just across the road is the Tissington trail which is a great walk for all. Just cross the road and walk under the bridge and there's a gate on the left. Nice and flat so any ability.

We enjoyed our time at Rivendale and would recommend it, but probably more for those without young children purely on location and keeping them entertained.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Leigh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

I stayed here for the weekend it was a very relaxing site I loved how there were high hedges between the caravan giving privacy. The toilet blocks are clean and plenty of showers and toilets.
Our only down side was the breakfast we had at the café on sunday morning, there was no vegetarian sausage even though it said there should be, the other breakfast was only warm and not hot and looked anaemic so sent back it was not worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Helenmarie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hi Helen, glad you enjoyed your stay. My apologies about breakfast, we have a new chef on board & he is still familiarising himself with the ordering setup - we do usually have vegetarian sausages, gluten-free bread etc available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

we had a lovely weekend at Rivendale campsite. We hired a timber yurt (5) with a double bed and log burning stove. The site is very well organised (probably too many rules on sign posts) but I guess they are obliged to have these. The prancing pony bar is great (and reasonably priced) and the child free area downstairs with a real fire is a cosy place to have a quiet pint. The shop and reception is well organised. The Yurt is quite a walk to the shower block but if you want the feeling of being remote then you will have to accept this. The only down side is the food (awful). sorry but the chef needs to realize that we no long serve peas and carrots with everything you order. I have recommended this to friends but I do feel that £90 per night is expensive for a timber yurt.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thanks for your review, new chef in charge of evening meals & still getting to grips with things in the UK; our apologies that we weren't on the case that evening. With regard to the Yurt, by the time you have bought it, sited it, fitted it out, built a decking, fitted stoves, furniture etc deducted 20% Vat from your booking payment & remitted to HMRC, laundered all the bedding we won't be buying any helicopters soon! Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews