We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$224
Hotels.comUS$225
PricelineUS$224
TravelocityUS$225
Orbitz.comUS$225
FindHotelUS$224
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
81
6
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
81
6
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house afternoon tea stunning setting family wedding wonderful hotel fresh milk country house de stress tissington trail room rate stayed one night fillet steak sitting room amazing weekend both mornings stayed longer mini break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2022 via mobile

We chose to stay in a Hive at Callow Hall as part of my 30th Birthday celebrations for 2 nights and we are so pleased we picked here. Without a doubt our favourite break we have ever had in the UK.

Upon arrival the staff are all so attentive, knowledgeable and they seem to remember everything about you, it’s the small details that make it so memorable.

Our Hive was just perfect and the photos really do not do it justice, everything is thought out and they have a really luxurious feel to them, we were particularly impressed by the en suites (underfloor heating!).

Food was incredible and the grounds are just stunning, so peaceful and we really felt like we were ‘off grid’.
The activities are endless from hiking up in the peaks to taking a 42km bike ride along the tissington trail and ending with a fantastically relaxing de-stress massage. We absolutely cannot wait to come back and will ensure it is for much longer next time!!

We raved about our stay so much that a few of our friends had already booked stays before we even arrived home!

Thank you Callow Hall for a truly unforgettable stay.

Room tip: Ample parking and the gold buggy’s are always available if you need any help
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emily984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jeremy Whitworth, General Manager at Wildhive Callow Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2022

Dear Emilt984

Thank you for choosing Callow Hall as the place to stay for your 30th Birthday.

I am so pleased to read your recent review and it is a delight to read. It is fantastic to hear that you had a wonderful stay and it was a stay to remember.

I will of course be passing all of your kind words on to the team.

Thank you for recommending it to your friends and we look forward to welcoming them to the hotel as well.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Jeremy Whitworth
General Manager
Callow Hall Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2022

We travelled to Callow Hall during the Easter holidays as a family of three for an overnight stay in a Wildhive. The hotel is beautifully tucked away amongst the trees and is set in the most idyllic location, surrounded by natures best.
When we arrived my son was asleep in the car so I went to check in at the reception and was met by the lovely Heather who had recognised my name from emails I had sent before our stay. She was so welcoming and explained all about the facilities we had on offer at the hotel and said if we needed anything at any time, we could just call or come and see her. As we were staying in one of the hives, a golf buggy was arranged to take us to our room. We were driven to our room by the ever so kind Mickey from the bar and had such lovely conversations with him throughout our stay. The room itself was beyond anything we had expected. The hives are set amongst the trees and woodlands around the main house and are finished to the highest standard, we have never seen a room complete with absolutely everything you need - fresh milk, water, snacks and all the toiletries you could need. Both my husband and I agreed that the bed was one of the comfiest we had slept on! Our son just loved exploring the woodlands outside and the nearby sheep. We walked back to the main house after we checked in to go and explore, the walk may be a little steep for some and you do have the option to call reception and they will happily send a golf buggy but we chose to walk each time as it was so lovely. We had a drink in the bar where we got to have a chat with Mickey again and this time met the wonderful Adrian. I enquired whether room service was possible as our son might not be in the best mood at dinner time - we had a table booked for 6PM. Room service was not a possibility and it was explained that the chef would hate for our food to be cold, which we massively appreciated. On hearing this, Adrian made the most generous offer to set us up for dinner in the Library snug so that our son could run around if he wanted to and we wouldn’t feel terrible for other guests if he made a scene at dinner. I asked him if he was sure about this as I didn’t want to make extra work but his response was ‘you are our guests and it is our pleasure’ - we found that this was the response from everyone we encountered. Dinner was amazing, we highly recommend the monkfish and fillet steak.
During our walks, my son jumped into a huge puddle and soaked his trousers so we had to go back and change him. We were driven back by the owner who offered to have our sons trousers washed and back to us the next day, thank you!
I can honestly say that after working in the hotel industry for most of my career and staying in many hotels around the world, this is by far the most personal service I have ever received. The team here really know how to take care of their guests and we really loved getting to know them. We want to say a huge thank you as well to Jane the Head Housekeeper - she is the kindest soul and nothing was too much trouble, we could have talked to her all day!
Thank you Callow Hall, we have only good things to say and we hope to come back one day. This was the best stay we have ever had!

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheDailyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jeremy Whitworth, General Manager at Wildhive Callow Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2022

Dear TheDailyJ

Thank you for choosing Callow Hall as the place to stay during the Easter holidays. What a review to read!

To mention that this was 'the best stay EVER' is so pleasing to read.

I'm delighted to read that all the team has looked after you during your stay and that you have had a fantastic stay.

I will be making sure all the team see your review and show them what a brilliant job they have done during your stay.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Jeremy Whitworth
General Manager
Callow Hall Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2022

The hotel is so relaxing and a wonderful place to stay or base yourself from . We had a fabulous room in the main house and agree it was indeed fabulous !! The bedding and the decor was beautifully done and so comfortable , the bath in room was lovely , the views over the dales awesome. The staff at reception were excellent as was the cleaners . Little disappointed that the milk and treats were not refilled on day two but that aside a lovely place

The restaurant is a lovely setting but lets the hotel down in service and value for food .

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sammy509
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jeremy Whitworth, General Manager at Wildhive Callow Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2022

Dear Sammy509

Thank you for choosing Callow Hall Hotel as the place for your stay.

It is pleasing to read that you had a fabulous time and that you thought the rooms in the house were themselves 'fabulous.'

Your comments have been taken on board and I want to thank you for that useful information. We always want to strive for perfection so feedback like yours is only going to improve us as a hotel.

Thank you again for your review

Kind Regards

Jeremy Whitworth
General Manager
Callow Hall Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2022 via mobile

We had the most amazing 4 night stay at Callow Hall. We were their first guests in The Roost 2-bedroom treehouse and were immediately made to feel like welcome guests by the wonderful, friendly team.

We had a fantastic cocktail in the bar before being taken by golf buggy to the treehouse. Jane from housekeeping went out of her way to ensure everything was perfect, and Jeremy the general manager checked in with us about any snagging issues.

The treehouse was warm, cosy and comfortable, beautifully decorated with a small well-equipped kitchen and a large deck. The 2 ensuite bathrooms are spacious and finished to a high standard. The 100 Acre toiletries smell amazing and the towels are fabulously soft.

It was magical waking up each morning with a Nespresso coffee, the view of the sheep in the neighbouring field and the sound of birdsong. The website says the treehouses have outdoor baths although none had yet been installed - personally, we weren’t bothered.

Breakfast in the restaurant was delicious and the service was great - the chef accommodated one particularly fussy order! There is an interesting menu in the evenings - you will need to book as it’s very popular, although if you can’t get in, there are alternatives places to eat in nearby Ashbourne.

The main house is just beautiful, with several relaxing lounges and open fires. We borrowed bikes from the hotel and enjoyed a ride along the Tissington Trail. The hotel is well located for exploring - and Alton Towers is less than half an hour away.

Overall we had a wonderful stay which was largely due to the great team. Everyone was really helpful and friendly, and seemed passionate about making Callow Hall an amazing place to stay. Huge thanks to Ed, Jeremy, Jane, Heather and all the staff. We hope to be back soon!

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jemholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 April 2022

We came as a group to celebrate and stayed in a hive with our dog which was perfect. We had the best time, the interiors are stunning and the staff are lovely. Shout out to Daisy and Kyle. Would defo recommend for a mini break.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flissbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jeremy Whitworth, General Manager at Wildhive Callow Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2022

Dear flissbrown

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you to the hotel.

We are so pleased you had a fantastic time and the birthday celebration was perfect.

I will of course pass all your comments on to the team and especially on to Kyle & Daisy.

Thank you again and do hope you see you in the future.

Kind Regards

Jeremy Whitworth
General Manager
Callow Hall Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews