We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing tour for lovers of British Heritage

Incredible visit! I was given a tour by Mary, which was luckily a personal tour which went into... read more

Reviewed 25 August 2021
Todd L
via mobile
Peaceful & scenic village with loads of history.

We called here after many years since our last visit. Never changes from a peaceful location that... read more

Reviewed 5 August 2021
Alan A
,
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Read all 144 reviews
  
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
106
26
9
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
106
26
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sir richard lovely village warm welcome steeped in history personal tour ice cream house rooms volunteers properties cycling ducks picturesque pleasure cottage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Sir Richard provided our party of 8 from Essex with an excellent and amusing guided tour of his family home, that's been lived in by the family for 400+ years. A fascinating home!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank JCshenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TissOwner, Owner at Tissington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Dear JCshenfield

Thank you for that. It was a pleasure to show you our family home after the wedding the night before!! Do come again!!

Yours

Sir Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Stopped off for a brief visit while doing the Vintage car tour.
Amazing village, picturesque, pretty, peaceful, well kept are just a few words to describe the area.
We went into the amazing little sweet shop and were met with the warmest of welcomes, this is not just a sweet shop out to sell as much as it can, a lot of thought has gone into turning the sweetshop into a step back in time, even down to the 40's music playing. We did buy a few things, and considering there is no competition in the area, everything was very reasonably priced.
It is worth a walk around the village to take in the tranquil atmosphere and enjoy the views of the hall etc. It was not open the week we were there, but would love to go back when it is, so that we can look around this fabulous building.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank lynn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TissOwner, Owner at Tissington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Dear lynnkirby

Thank you for your comments. We would love to see you again in Tissington. Please see our website for opening times and do come and stay in one of our apartments.

Best wishes

Sir Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

My wife and I drove through the village the day before and were blown away by how beautiful it was so the following day we opted to take a guided tour around the Tissington Hall family home of Sir Richard Fitzherbert.
We love castles and stately homes especially old family residences. Even better are those that are still inhabited by the family themselves so this I thought Sirtainly Fitz the bill!
We had a guide Brian who was not only very knowledgeable but also had a great, wicked sense of humour!
Immediately prior to our guided tour whilst we were queuing in the entrance foyer, a very tall upright gentleman came out to talk with us and the lady at the desk about the poor state of the grass there due to the extremely dry conditions and generally just chat with us prior to our tour. This gentleman was Sir Richard himself and the lady on the desk told us he actually conducts tours of the Hall himself and is a very accomplished tour guide. Well I suppose he might well be as he knows the house like it was his own!!!
I won't spoil the tour for you but rather tell you it is an excellent experience with some marvellous and sad family tales, intriguing history and beautiful furniture, paintings and artefacts. Most Haunted have even visited and spent the night there... again I'll leave that till you go there yourselves.
Worth every penny of the £10 entry fee.
I will go again for sure but only if I could have Sir Richard as my tour guide. I should like to ask him more about........... that would be telling!
Totally loved the afternoon.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank gazzaman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TissOwner, Owner at Tissington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Dear gazzaman69

Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the Hall and the Village. Please do come back and book a tour of the Hall with myself at some stage. Please contact the Estate Office for details.

Yours
Sir Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Wow. A wonderful village. No signs of modern day takes you back and let's imagination take over. Shops and all friendly. Sweet shop great. Very calming.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Eve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TissOwner, Owner at Tissington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Eve

Thank you for your kind words about Tissington. The village is open all year round and the Church is open every day. The Hall is open for groups by appointment so please contact the Estate Office if you would like to visit at some stage.

We look forward to seeing you at Tissington again in the future.

Regards

Sir Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Simply stunning!

We were lucky enough to visit Tissington Hall following the wedding of some friends and what a wonderful hall and gardens.

If you have the opportunity it's really quite interesting and there's a little cafe/tea room down the road where you can enjoy local cakes and drinks!

Loads of history in this small village and well worth a visit.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank LGBfund
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews