We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful wedding anniversary celebrations!”
Review of Haddon Restaurant

Haddon Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Ilam
Price range: US$35 - US$48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Fine dining in the Haddon Restaurant enjoying spectacular views of the Dovedale Valley and Thorpe Cloud. All dishes are freshly prepared and created by our Head Chef Simon Harrison from locally sourced ingredients. Reservations recommended.
Reviewed 8 October 2016

After staying for a night in the hotel we had an evening meal and breakfast in this very traditional restaurant. We had excellent food , the staff are friendly and attentive and the views over Thorpe Cloud are the best!

Thank StaffordshireDianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at Haddon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Dear Dianne, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and evening meals in The Haddon Restaurant during your anniversary celebrations and that you found the staff attentive and friendly. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes James.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2016

We dined in the breakfast room of the hotel as the restaurant was fully taken-over for a wedding party. As we were the only diners it was a little like having our own personal service - which was excellent & the food was very good. We went there on a chance recommendation & we were not disappointed. Although we didn't have opportunity to enjoy the location in the valley - it is truly spectacular.

Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at Haddon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear Michael thank you for your recent review. It is lovely to hear that you were so well accommodated during your visit despite there being a wedding taking place. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes James.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

The dining room is spartan but clean and airy with crisp white tablecloths and silver service. Menu was odd; lots of posh sounding courses but not inspirational. Some selections on the menu were not available. Food very well prepared and presented. Service was friendly but staff did not know the menu and had to keep checking back with the kitchen for answers to questions. Weirdest thing was the beef which was perfectly cooked but tasted of stilton; apparently aged beef does have this taste and can be a delicacy but we weren't convinced. Would possibly eat there again but more likely to try somewhere else next time.

Thank ChrisMay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at Haddon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Dear ChrisMay62. Thankyou for reviewing the Haddon Restaurant. We have had some excellent feedback on the current menu so I am sorry that you did not find it inspirational. The 'aged beef' cheesy taste is something to do with the action of the enzymes but I am afraid the process is a little above me! Your feedback is important to us and we thankyou for your time. Kind regards, James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

I didn't realise you could review the Restaurant separately.

Dine here!
Nothing else to say!!

Absolutely top notch, great food (We had the lamb - local, I believe and just about the best I've ever tasted) but there was nothing on the menu that you wouldn't have eaten.
The service was correct but not too stuffy with very good staff.

Congratulations and we hope to visit again, soon.

1  Thank 71mgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at Haddon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Thank you for reviewing The Haddon Restaurant following your recent stay. I am so pleased that your Lamb was the best you've ever tasted and that you found the atmosphere and service in the Restaurant just right! We do hope you will visit again for a fifth night, best wishes James.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Superb meal in the Haddon Restaurant on a beautiful summer evening in Dovedale. Completely relaxing evening using the new Ilam Shuttle service from Ashbourne

Thank lodgehse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Owner at Haddon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent summer evening visit. I am delighted to hear that your meal was superb and the atmosphere relaxing. We do hope you will visit again. Best wishes James.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haddon Restaurant also viewed

Thorpe, Ashbourne
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Ilam, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Haddon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing