We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$190
Expedia.comUS$190
PricelineUS$191
CheapTicketsUS$190
eDreamsUS$172
HurbUS$199
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (955)
Filter reviews
955 results
Traveller rating
550
275
82
31
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
550
275
82
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thorpe cloud dovedale bar new owners bar area haddon restaurant bar menu superior room peak district sandwiches stepping stones main course spa bath the general manager beef excellent food dining room lovely location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 955 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2020

Stayed here with my Wife and Daughter for thee days . The place is as nice as ever but felt the kitchen was struggling to keep up . The food was not as good as previous visits . In fact a couple of things had to go back to the kitchen. Service was as awlwys excellent . My Daughters room had not however been cleaned as it should have been.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 268AndrewT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip Graves, General Manager at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Dear 268AndrewT

Thank for your choosing the hotel and for your review.

I am sorry that you did not find the stay totally to your satisfaction, and will be addressing these areas to avoid them occurring again in the future.

I am pleased to read that the service was excellent, and will share your kind comments with the team.

We hope to see you at the Izaak Walton again soon

Kind Regards

Philip Graves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2020

Stayed 3 nights .
Character hotel, excellent location , park the car at the hotel, and then that’s it , you can walk to all the lovely places , we loved Dovedale to MIldale walk.
Excellent service, friendly, nothing too much trouble, all staff accommodating, special mention to Sarah, Tom, Shane for over and above service with a smile.
Lovely room 26 spacious, great views over the hills. Hot shower, comfortable room, coffee making facilities, hot towel rail.Heating was fine. Clean, tidy.
Covid safety at forefront throughout, no one allowed in the rooms, but anything you wanted was no trouble for the staff.
Rooms were isolated off, but still able to sit and relax, always able to get drinks from the bar, ( had to sit down and be served)
Great Breakfasts, great choices , full english breakfasts plus , pastries, cereals, coffees, juices,
Good choice of food menu, recommend fish cake starter, goats cheese starter and the cod main , also the Beef and Stilton pie with champ and spring greens , sticky toffee pudding with banana and toffee ice cream ‘!
Don’ t be put off by slightly old fashioned feel, service scenery and safety made for a great stay for my wife and I . Thanks to all in difficult times , not too many people there but perfect for us.

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank richards5401021958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip Graves, General Manager at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Dear richards5401021958

Thank for your choosing the hotel and for your review.

I was really pleased to read your review, and the kind comment regarding the service you received. I will make sure that Sarah, Tom and Shane are recognised for going the extra mile.

I was also pleased to read that the room and food was up to your expectation, and more importantly that you felt that our Covid measures are suitable. These are difficult times and we do everything we can to ensure the safety of our guests and staff.

The food is something we are proud of, and it was great to see you noting this also.

We hope to see you at the Izaak Walton again soon

Kind Regards

Philip Graves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2020 via mobile

Fantastic location, delicious food, friendly and professional staff. Would visit again. Felt very safe during COVID. Great walks on the doorstep and loved having view of Thorp Cloud from our bedroom window, along with sheep and cattle

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jackiechad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip Graves, General Manager at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Dear jackiechad

Thank for your choosing the hotel and for your review.

I was really pleased to read your review, and your kind comments regarding the food and staff.

I was also pleased to read that you felt that our Co-vid measures made you feel safe. These are difficult times and we do everything we can to ensure the safety of all our guests and staff.

We hope to see you at the Izaak Walton again soon

Kind Regards

Philip Graves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2020 via mobile

We’ve stayed here before but weren’t sure how things would be during this pandemic. However, once again the staff were excellent, as was the food and drinks. Good value for money and fab location. What more could you ask for?

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JasperGilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip Graves, General Manager at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Dear JasperGIllman

Thank for your choosing the hotel and for your kind review.

I was really pleased to read your review, and I'm glad you did not feel that the the pandemic had affected your stay with us.

These are difficult times and we do everything we can to ensure the safety of our guests and staff, as well as making sure that we continue to focus on the service and our offering to our guests.

Thank you once again for your kind comments, and we hope to see you at the Izaak Walton again soon

Kind Regards

Philip Graves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2020 via mobile

We wanted (needed) the best break we could find in the area, and had not tried here yet.
The location is just the start, and though it's unpreposessing from the outside, what was important was warmth and professionalism from the staff.
This was received in Spades, and to top it off, the quality of breakfast and dinner was mind blowingly good.
Despite Covod precautions, and weather being a bit dodgy, we had one of the most amazing short stays away .. EVER.
We cannot single out any staff member .. they were all superb. Thank you, see you again.
Tip .. get a superior room / spa bath.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews