We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Prasant G

Family stay during Easter 2024

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Apr 2024
Stayed in the apartments during Easter. The location is great near the main center. Parking is tricky and the road to drive is very narrow. The apartment is quiet good with an amazing view. The fan and stove didn't work well and kitchen equipment are not good. When we arrived in the room we notice that it was not well cleaned (toilet was not flushed and there was dust and hair on the floor). WiFi didn't also work during whole of the time of over stay. With small efforts these apartments would get a much better review.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scandic Rukahovi, General Manager at Scandic Rukahovi, responded to this review
Responded 23 Apr 2024
Hi 805prasantg
Thank you for staying in our apartments and your feedback.
We are happy to hear your visit went well for the mostly parts and you liked the location of the apartments.
So sorry to hear there has been also some problems. I will forward your feedback to our housekeeping and maintenance as well.
We would like to have all the feedback also during the stay to solve problems already then.
Hope to see you soon again, you are warmly welcome back!

Have a great spring:)

Best regards,
Mirka
Reception
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.0 km from Scandic Rukahovi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • eDreams
0.1 km from Scandic Rukahovi
Free Wifi
Free parking
All rooms have balconies with amazing views!
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Scandic Rukahovi
Free Wifi
Free parking
MastonAitio cottages are located right next to the ski slopes
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
1.9 km from Scandic Rukahovi
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lol.travel
    0.6 km from Scandic Rukahovi
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Standard Room
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    1.5 km from Scandic Rukahovi
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Rooms
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    1.0 km from Scandic Rukahovi
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    High-quality Rukan Salonki villas are built from sturdy logs
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Lol.travel
    2.4 km from Scandic Rukahovi
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    5.9 km from Scandic Rukahovi
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    eDreams
    • ZenHotels.com
    1.3 km from Scandic Rukahovi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Rukatunturi
    Reviews (297)
    Filter reviews
    297 results
    Traveller rating
    83
    92
    73
    36
    13
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    83
    92
    73
    36
    13
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews half board pool table salad bar tea and coffee superior room something for everyone third floor ski room ski boots few steps ruka village nice view crystal ski drying cabinet winter gondola balcony
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 297 reviews
    Reviewed 28 March 2024 via mobile

    Yet again nice family trip to Ruka and several nights stay in Scandic Rukahovi. We stayed in Junior Suite which was just perfect for our young family of four. Super nice staff anf great, tasty breakfast. Especially oat porridge, 10+ . You can walk straight to slopes from the hotel, separate storage room for equipments. Nice lobby area. Rooms a bit outdated but apparently some of the rooms are renovated. Ours was not but it didnt bother us. Will definetely come back!

    Date of stay: March 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank soilek350
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Scandic Rukahovi, General Manager at Scandic Rukahovi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

    Hi Soilek350
    Thank you for your super nice feedback and your visit in our hotel.

    It´s great to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and everything went well.
    We are happy to tell you that also our newer part of the hotel is now under renovation.
    You are warmly welcome to stay in our newly renovated rooms by latest upcoming winter season:)

    Have a great spring!

    Best regards,
    Mirka/ Scandic Rukahovi

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 February 2024

    Date of stay: February 2024
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
    This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Scandic Rukahovi, General Manager at Scandic Rukahovi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2024

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
    Reviewed 15 February 2024

    Date of stay: January 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
    This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Scandic Rukahovi, General Manager at Scandic Rukahovi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2024

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
    Reviewed 22 January 2024

    This is a great place to stay in Ruka. The location can't be beaten - right in the middle of Ruka Village and literally a few yards from the Gondola and ski hire shops.

    We've stayed here three times now and picked the superior rooms to get access to the balcony, as the views on to the skiing area are spectacular. The rooms are comfortable and large, with a sizeable modern bathroom, a drying cabinet for ski gear, and ample desk and wardrobe space.

    The "double" rooms are actually twins with two smaller beds pushed together, in the European style. The rooms are well-heated, even when it's well below zero outside, and we made use of the screened vents and the balcony door to moderate the temperature.

    There's a TV, good quality Wifi and a Chromecast in the room, along with the usual things like a kettle and tea and coffee.

    Although we didn't use them, there are Sauna facilities.

    Breakfast is wonderful, a great mix of Finnish and international breakfast food, served in a separate area at the back of the hotel. There's a great restaurant and bar at the front of the hotel that serves amazing local dishes at a cost.

    We usually book the half-board option, and the hotel has clearly listened to feedback, as the half-board option is now served in the rear of the hotel, in the same area as the breakfast. The quality of the food has markedly improved since last year, and even though it's cooked to a budget, we've eaten some great choices there this week with a local flavour - reindeer salad, arctic char, pickled vendace, alongside some more conventional nuggets, fries, meatballs and meatloaf that fussy kids would like. The hotel has clearly made a lot of effort on the half-board menu, adding in much more local food, desserts and choice, which is great to see.

    The staff are great - courteous and really helpful. They can't do enough for you. The rooms are kept spotless and clean, as are the interior areas. We were allocated a ski locker behind reception. which is very handy for the start and end of the day.

    The location cannot be beaten. Ruka is split between the Village and the Valley, with the majority of shops, eating and entertainment in the Village. The Scandic is right in the middle of everything and a few steps away from the ski bus, heated parking, gondola, ski facilities, outdoor excursions, shops, cafes, bars, supermarket and several restaurants at various budget levels. The majority of the skiing is on the Valley side, but we definitely prefer the Village, and love the Scandic.

    Room tip: Get a superior room with balcony for great views of the slopes. Ask for a ski locker. Don't miss the great breakfast
    Date of stay: January 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank RasIOM
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Scandic Rukahovi, General Manager at Scandic Rukahovi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2024

    Hi RasIOM,

    Thank you for your amazing review! Great to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us once again! We have been working to improve the half board food products, so nice to hear it has payed off!

    Hope to welcome you in Ruka again next year!

    With best regards,

    Asko / Scandic Rukahovi

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 September 2023 via mobile

    Good hotel in the very centre of Ruka village. Room was spacious and bed was good. Room was clean. Service was polite. Breakfast was very nice. Hotel restaurant food was well prepared and served with a smile. Meeting services was very good. Overall this was a good visit!

    Date of stay: September 2023
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    1  Thank Jouni L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Scandic Rukahovi, General Manager at Scandic Rukahovi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2023

    Hello, Thank you for your feedback. It is nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!

    Best regards, Noora/ Scandic Rukahovi

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews