We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$344
View deal
Vio.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 8 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
17
7
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
17
7
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smoke sauna winter wonderland ski resort guests ruka
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2019

We stayed here as a group of 14 in two chalets (11 & 12) and really, really enjoyed the resort. We used it as a base for lots of activities - snow-mobiles, husky sleds, reindeer farm and even skiing (the ski resort is a couple of kilometres away and so beginner friendly). We spent evenings in our chalets which were well equipped - integral sauna, log fire, underfloor heating, good kitchen/diner etc etc.

The resort is spread over many acres and walking from our chalet to the restaurant was fun as we had to go past the toboggan hill which most of us could not resist ! The xc ski network passes right by and through the resort linking it to the town and ski centre.

Breakfast was buffet style and although it came close to running a bit low on some foods on a couple of days in truth there was always enough food even for the hungriest of guests ! The staff were super friendly and helpful and a credit to the resort.

There is an ice bar linked to the restaurant but when we visited (18-24 Feb 19) it was closed so with the permission and help from staff we opened it ourselves and had our own champagne and wine party !

We would recommend this resort as a perfect base for visiting this part of Finland.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2happyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We planned a trip to Rukan Salonki for the Smoke Sauna experience. We were a group of 7 and the evening was lovely. We arrived and the sauna house was all set up for us, including some snacks and drinks. We were able to use the sauna, the Jacuzzi, and the ice bathing area for over 2 hours. The facility was comfortable, and the shower area well equipped. I was very impressed with the experience and the rest of our group said it was the highlight of the trip.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ErinLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed in chalet nr 12 which is quite a luxury treat. The service of the staff on site was impeccable, the chalet itself we'll build in the typical wooden style, beautiful outside view, fully equipped kitchen, all 6 bedrooms included a bathroom with shower and had very good beds. A sauna is also available.
Plenty of room to send time together as friends, or to spend time on your own. They work with professional local agencies that can provide you your a la carte Lapland experience ...
Certainly to be recommended !!!!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 83margrietl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

A great place for winter or summer holidays with your family or a group. As you can see on the pictures you have a perfect view on the rising sun. A real Winterwonderland close to Ruka. Friendly staff.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jospian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

This place is magical! Gorgeous snow covered wood log cabins, really well appointed (wifi among other things), homely with a beautiful xmas tree to welcome us. All the cabins around were discreetly set away from each other and perfect for self catering if preferred. There is a really good restaurant a short walk away 'Kultala' which served great home cooked food.

All the shops and places, even taxis, take cards so cash is not essential if you struggle to find a cash point.

We travelled with SkiLapland.co.uk who were faultless. We did the reindeer and husky rides along with ice go-karting and snowmobile safari at night. The Santa experience was a huge hit with the kids and very relaxing for the adults.

All the excursions were so professionally run and there was just so much to do.

Top marks to Matt at Ski Lapland who looked after us we want to come again and soon! Not been to Finland before we loved it!

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NickL837
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews