We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Booking.com
StayForLong
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 8 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
39
12
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
39
12
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews log burner tea towel washing up liquid the bus the kitchen underfloor heating ruka village wood store lapland holiday tumble dryer previous guests adults and child glass of wine min walk cups dec alcohol
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2019 via mobile

We have just returned from a four day trip I can explain how amazing this accommodation is. The cabins are absolutely perfect, and are in the most amazing location. So clean and tidy inside, with everything you could possibly need. I was in my element swanning around the cabin with the fire lit, and a glass of wine in my hand.
Here’s a few tips that the next visitors might find handy.
The fire is hotter than the sun when it gets going, but it is so cozy. We only had one fire lighter on arrival, but a quick call to reception, and a lovely member of staff dropped some round to us. There is also an endless supply of logs.
If you are looking for the baking trays, there is a hidden little draw at the very bottom of the oven.
The walk to the town is quite a hike! We made the mistake of doing it the night we arrived. We had been up since 3am, and had a long delay with the flight. We were quite tired and emotional by the time we made it. Had we done it another day, I’m sure it would’ve been lovely.
We only ate out once. We planned on eating out everyday, but the facilities were so good in the lodge I really wanted to cook every other day! We didn’t find the cheaper supermarket, but I didn’t find the K market too badly priced. I also took over a box of red wine in my suitcase. That is definitely the best idea Iv ever had!
We found there was plenty of dishwasher detergent in the kitchen, along with washing up liquid and bin liners. You must make sure you empty the bin before checkout. There is a refuse centre with a recycle unit. It was upsetting to see that some people couldn’t be bothered to do this, and just dumped their bags of rubbish in the bin area.
All in all this is one of the best places I have ever visited. I have the worst holiday blues ever. I can’t wait to go back!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Clairemcharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RukaPyha, asiakaspalvelija at Ski-Inn MastonAitio Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2020

Thank you for staying in MastonAitio cabins and it is really nice to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday in Ruka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2019

Stayed for a week in Dec 18.

Absolutely magical. The accommodation is spot on, adequate kitchen, 3 decent size bedrooms with a good size shower room and sauna.

Shuttle bus isn't very frequent and stops about 19:00 which is a pain. The supermarket in Ruka town centre is very expensive but there is a cheaper one out of town with a wine store alongside so you could get a taxi and stock up which would pay for itself.

The accommodation is easy walking distance down to the Rudolph and Rosa kids ski park where you can get the gondola over to the town centre. Its a long way back up the hill from both town centre and the Ruka Valley slopes.

Father Christmas trip to his house and husky safaris are amazing and worth every penny.

All booked through Crystal Ski who were brilliant.

Kids and wife hired skis / snowboards for the week and it was no problem swapping when they fancied trying other things.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 February 2019

Second time staying at these cabins and would always be my number one choice when in ruka.
We were in a cabin that accommodated 8 this year (3 double beers and a sofa bed) ample accommodation for just the 2 of us but I do wonder how 8 would work.
The sofa would only really seat 4 at a push and only 6 seats at the dining table.
Kitchen seemed less well equipped than last year with only one shelf in the oven so only one item could be cooked in the oven at a time and only 2 oven proof dishes. We managed but cooking for 8 (or even 4) would be difficult if not impossible. I'd perhaps look to take or buy some disposable foil trays next time.
other than this cabins are really well equipped; lots of linen, shower gel, toilet rolls, washing machine, drying cabinet, sauna and a whirlpool bath.
Stove with ample wood which is great as the heating is centrally controlled and never seems to be on in the bedrooms. Same happened last year and again this year. As temperatures reached -30 when we were there we kept the fire burning low all night to keep the bedroom warm.I

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Had an upgrade from Ski Inn Rukatonttu which wasn't that good. But Mastonaitio was just perfect. Perfect sized cabins with needed amenities near the slopes (like 50m from our cabin).

Only minor complaint would be that the ski bus to rukakeskus goes only until 7pm. And with snowboard getting to the main slopes is a bit off a hassle, need to walk a bit between slopes 36 and 27.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank miveza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 February 2018

We were on the early Manchester flight arriving at Kuusamo at 12.30 and were in the cabins at 13:30. Although the cabins themselves say check in at 18:00 our paperwork from Crystal said 13:00, so not sure what happened with the previous reviewer. Maybe it depends on who was in the accommodation before you. However your luggage can be stored in Ruka leaving you time free to look round, collect your ski gear if renting and pick up some groceries. I'd recommend getting a taxi to the cabins though with all your gear as some of the cabins are up hill and its very snowy.

Well equipped cabins right across from the forest fire great walks. Piste right behind the cabins and Sk8 bus stops (free of charge for tourists) right outside.

You have to make your beds up which could be a bit of a pain if you're a large party arriving late. Bedding a little large for the duvet and pillows though!!

Well heated although the main bathroom was cold, ours didn't seem to have under floor heating.

Log burner easy to use but clear instructions provided.

Dishwasher, washing machine, drying cabinet, full size fridge freezer. Lots of bedding and towels provided but you need to take tea towels and a dish cloth.
Any problems or needs ring the Ruka Inn, phone number in book in cabin and they are very attentive. We ran out of wood and a young man came and brought it to our door that evening and then filled the wood shed for us.
Definitely want to return

30-40 minute walk to the village but very pleasant walk. Seemed to take longer at the end of the week but think that was because temperature dropped to -22 and everything seemed such an effort! Follow signs for Rukankyla, bearing right at the roundabout and safari house. We went straight on first time, got totally lost and added about an hour to the journey!!!

Ski bus every hour from 10-7 going into the village and 9:45-7:45 returning. Very punctual. Takes 5 minutes to cabins.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews