We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely restaurant in a beautiful position on the harbour”

Herons Restaurant @ Heriot Bay Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 26 September 2017

On a warm summer's evening, it was a delight to sit out, watch the reflections in the harbouring and eat a really good meal. Despite the restaurant being very busy on our first evening, we were well looked after, the food was delicious and service was excellent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 19margaret48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heriotbayinn, . at Herons Restaurant @ Heriot Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Love it! Thank you for coming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We arrived on an earlier ferry than anticipated so stopped off here for lunch before checking into our accommodation.

We were welcomed and seated on a pleasant deck in the sunshine. The inn is close to the ferry dock for the Cortes Island ferry, so there was lots going on.

We chose the chicken & brie on a bun and fish & chips, both of which were good, hot and well-presented. The server was very pleasant and attentive.

A visit to the washroom indicated a need for an upgrade and we found the interior was rather dated and dingy.

Thank Westerham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heriotbayinn, . at Herons Restaurant @ Heriot Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

We are glad to hear you enjoyed lunch on our beautiful deck.
We are an old building and are constantly upgrading as we can. Thank for your feed back.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

I must admit that the choices near Heriot Bay are rather limited. But anyhow the HBI offers a fine menu with several yummy things to eat for a resonable prize. Also nice: there is a big focus on local products.

One minor point: it can get busy so reserving upfront is a good idea.

Thank quaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heriotbayinn, . at Herons Restaurant @ Heriot Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you for your comments :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Great food and service, you can also come on a karaoke night or when they have live music. The HBI is a real island pub with lots of locals and a friendly feel. We had a blast at karaoke!

Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heriotbayinn, . at Herons Restaurant @ Heriot Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Great to hear! karaoke is always a good night not to miss!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We walked through the restaurant and ended up eating in the pub
The place was filthy / dated and in dire need of a total renovation
The bathroom was even worse than expected

The food we ordered too about 35 minutes to arrive and there were only a few beer drinking locals in the pub so there was no excuse, nor was there an apology from the server

I guess when you have a monopoly you can do whatever you want
We certainly will not return

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oldtiredandretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heriotbayinn, . at Herons Restaurant @ Heriot Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback. The pub kitchen is shared with the dining room. If one room is busy it can slow down service in the other. This should have been communicated to you. Our apologies. If you would like to talk to management please email info@heriotbayinn.com and we would be happy to discuss this further and have you back to try again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Herons Restaurant @ Heriot Bay Inn also viewed

Quathiaski Cove, Quadra Island
 
Quadra Island, British Columbia
Quathiaski Cove, Quadra Island
 
Quathiaski Cove, Quadra Island
Quathiaski Cove, Quadra Island
 

Been to Herons Restaurant @ Heriot Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing