We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King Room with Ocean View”
Review of Compass Rose

Compass Rose
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in North Head
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Husband and I stayed in the king room with ocean view and was very happy with the room. Room was spacious, had a mini-fridge, spacious en suite bathroom and sitting area that looked over the ocean. The best part of this room was falling asleep with the windows open and listening to the ocean, and then waking to the sound of the seagulls as your alarm clock. The king bed was very comfortable as well as the pillows. We were in this room for 3 nights. Dinner is available and we had 2 dinners there, food was of high quality and delicious, no disappointment at all. As for breakfast, we were VERY disappointed with that. The breakfast did not meet the same standard as dinners they serve. With that said, I can't give them an 'excellent' rating. To us, staying at a B&B that serves a wonderful dinner, the breakfast should be just as good and this was not, very disappointing. The hosts were very friendly, and gave recommendations for sight seeing and restaurants for lunch and dinner, but I feel they need to improve on breakfast, otherwise everything else had no complaints. The location was very convenient as a short distance from/to the ferry. The Compass Rose was very clean, and had nice bath towels and bed linens.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank 66gardengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017

Ate here for supper one night during our visit. Just popped in without a reservation and they were able to seat us immediately, right next to the window. The views are to die for, right on the harbour. Food was outstanding, reasonable priced and good portions. Service was very friendly. Only downside is not a lot of choices on the menu.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank scotiajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

We had dinner in the dining room. The view is magnificent. There is a verandah as well , overlooking the water.
I had the pan fried halibut, which was delicious and served with local organic carrots; but my husband thought his lobster pasta was a bit "floury" tasting. The rhubarb and strawberry pie was superb.
A lovely spot for dinner !

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank lastcallforboarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

The view was the first thing I remember about this memorable meal. The Cod was cooked to perfection. A real treat!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Janis L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We didn't know that we needed a reservation to dine at this restaurant.... and we stopped by. They made room for us!! Without a reservation. The menu was limited.... only 3 or 4 choices, but what we ate was pretty good. I had a pasta dish with chicken in a cream sauce and my husband had the butter chicken. The carrot soup was delicious. The rhubarb punch is a "must try" !!

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank AKDNRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Compass Rose also viewed

Grand Manan, New Brunswick
Grand Manan, New Brunswick
 
Grand Manan, New Brunswick
Grand Manan, New Brunswick
 
Grand Manan, New Brunswick
Grand Manan, New Brunswick
 

Been to Compass Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing