We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
62
7
5
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
7
5
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdirt roadmusselspit toiletsgreat outdoorssecluded beachamazing hostsvancouver islandlong beachbald eaglesthree nightsloricampinggarbagecampfirewoodswest
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Loved our recent stay at Mussel Beach. Lori was just wonderful and I was well informed about the bumpy road and the pack in/pack out rules of this more secluded campground before we arrived. I will agree with a previous review - the pit toilets were the cleanest I've ever seen! We travelled with our 7 year old daughter and exploring the tide pools on the rocky shore was a highlight for her. Sadly we only stayed one night as it was the start of our Vancouver Island exploration but would gladly stay again (and book WAY ahead to get a coveted oceanfront site).

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank BC_Travellers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

I will thank Lori and Curtis for being the most gracious hosts. Came last year for 1 week, came back this year for 3 weeks.Spectacular views,almost Caribbean colored waters while we were there. Bears on the beach,Bald Eagles above and the odd whale passing by.This stay was incredible and relaxing.Met great people from all over the world who were just blown away by the beauty at Mussel Beach. Road coming in, I have seen worse in downtown Vancouver ! Again THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU !!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seacin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MusselBeach_13, Manager at Mussel Beach Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for your review. Happy hour isn't the same with out you.
Take care and look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We loved our three nights at this wilderness campground in spite of the bumpy 8.4km road in. The hosts were so accommodating, the bald eagles performed and it was the perfect place to wind down after busy days in Tofino & Ucluelet and at Long Beach. The view is spectacular! We will definitely book this unique little campground the next time we visit the island.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MusselBeach_13, Manager at Mussel Beach Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Came here on a road trip with my boyfriend. Road was okay, we managed well in a Mazda 3. Campground was BEAUTIFUL!! Spectacular spot!! It poured rain for two days but the view of the ocean was worth it! Owners were absolutely wonderful. Very helpful and we're very hospitable. Wonderful place to relax!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank mmmkjcalgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MusselBeach_13, Manager at Mussel Beach Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Thank you for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay even with the bad weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Wonderful location. Spectacular views. Cleanest pit toilets we've ever used. Good management looking after site.
Road is OK. We knew about it beforehand so no issue. Also went off site most days so travelled the road often.
Peaceful and relaxing stay

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ArthandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MusselBeach_13, Manager at Mussel Beach Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews