We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic tranquility”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pemberton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lillooet Lake Lodge
Powell River, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rustic tranquility”
Reviewed 25 June 2009

My husband stayed at Lillooet Lake Lodge for one night during our honeymoon on our way up to 70 Mile House. We loved it so we cut our stay short up north and came back for two more nights.
Yes, it's out of the way and yes, the road is bumpy. We stayed in two different cabins and found them tidy with views to die for.
Jacob was helpful and friendly. It was interesting learning his & Elisabeth's history which brought them from Europe to BC.
I can see that Lillooet Lake Lodge may not be for everyone, but it was just right for us.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    6
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

If you are looking for something off the beaten path, complete with outdoor firepits and gorgeous sunsets, this is the perfect little get-away. Jacob and Elisabeth are charming and very helpful. We found a perfect campsite, right by the water with a little creek beside us to keep our drinks cold!! They have warm showers and outhouses for campers, but the cabins are spotless with running water and appliances. I'm definitely taking my kids back with me next time with another family, and enjoying the timeless dazing at the water, the nearby waterfall, canoeing and swimming. It was beautiful!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

These cottages are in a beautiful, secluded location - the scenery is truly stunning. I can handle rustic cottages, but the couch in our cottage was filthy, and there were mice everywhere. When we arrived, the owner suggested to us that we "must make sure the screen door is closed so the mice don't get in"! Hm. It was difficult not to laugn, and needless to say, we woke up on our first morning to find mice droppings everywhere. The shower building could also use a cleaning. Not good value, considering what we paid per night.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Beautiful location and mountain/lake view from waterfront property. Five rustic log cabins. And Jacob, the owner whose ethics were clearly only his. He told me when I booked cabins 1 and 2 for three nights two weeks prior to our arrival to bring $220 cash per night in order to save on the tax that he would charge me otherwise if I paid by credit card (this should have been a clue).

As gorgeous as the property was, the following other "details" greeted us upon arrival:

* sauna that was advertised as beng included was broken and would have cost $15 per visit had it been functional!
* canoes that were advertised as being included actually cost $12 per hour
* only cabin 1 had an advertised rustic oil lamp, not cabin 2
* fridge in cabin 2 did not close properly
* drain in cabin 2 sink was partially clogged

In light of these and other "details," our party of 5 adults and one 18-month old decided to stay only two nights instead of three. When we thus informed Jacob and his lovely wife Elizabeth on the second day of our stay, they seemed to take it as an insult. In fact, Jacob commented that in "23 years he had never dealt with anyone like us." It's rather interesting that 3 of the 5 reviews on this site of his accommodations also have rather harsh complaints. When I handed Jacob five $100 bills, he stormed off, smashing the door to his cabin before returning with the $60 change.

Upon arriving at work two days later, I received a telephone call from Jacob informing me that he could not fill cabins 1 and 2 for the 3rd night that we had originally booked and that consequently he would need to charge my credit card (I stupidly gave him the number when reserving) an additional $220 for that night. There is so much wrong with this tactic on his part that further explanation is unnecessary. Needless to say, I will be disputing this charge with my credit card company.

One last thing: In the BC Accommodation Guide, Jacob's cabins list for $79-99, plus $15 per addtional person. Cabins 1 and 2 were the most basic of the five he rented. Thus, the $220 for both of them per night sounds mysteriously high, especially with the promised "tax deduction."

It's a shame that such a lovely place has such a owner...

  • Liked — Scenery; waterfront isolated location with mountain view, rustic log cabin
  • Disliked — The owner's ethics (lack of) and bad attitude
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

I phoned for information and the owner said that the fishing was not the best and was blunt and rude. It was as though he was not interesed in my business. He was unwilling to provide me with any other feedback about the place so I suppose that he does not want the business. I am an avid camper and will NOT be booking in with this man, thats for sure!

Stayed August 2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemberton
1.3 km away
Pemberton Valley Lodge
Pemberton Valley Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pemberton
429 reviews
0.8 km away
Pemberton Gateway Village Suites Hotel
25.5 km away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 km away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,864 reviews
0.4 km away
The Log House Inn
The Log House Inn
#2 of 8 in Pemberton
54 reviews
23.1 km away
Riverside Resort Whistler
Riverside Resort Whistler
#2 of 55 in Whistler
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Lillooet Lake Lodge

Property: Lillooet Lake Lodge
Address: Lillooet Lake Road Mount Currie | c/o Box75, Pemberton, British Columbia V0N 2L0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Pemberton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Pemberton
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Lillooet Lake Hotel Pemberton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing