We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unremarkable. Saggy mattresses.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pemberton Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pemberton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Chose this location as a pet-friendly place to stay in Pemberton over Whistler to do some hikes north of the area. The hotel has a dog wash station in the underground parkade, hidden behind the surplus furniture storage and what looks like a lost and found. It doesn't allow pets in the outdoor patio area where the common area BBQ, patio tables, pool and hot tub are. This area looks like the highlight of the lodge, but we never used it due to the pet restrictions.

Our hotel room was on the ground floor near the lobby looking out onto the temporary parking area. There is a set of blackout curtains, but no privacy shades, so your choices are to have privacy and darkness, or natural light and allow guests to peer into your room as they enter the hotel.

On our queen bed, one side of the mattress sagged, which meant a stiff back the next morning. Swapping sides of the bed the next night, I had a much better sleep.

There were a lot of amusing things about this place. For example, the blue lights in the elevator - deterrent for shooting up in the elevator maybe? Message in the elevator that says "Thank you for choosing to stay with us. You have excellent taste." Humble much? Basket of expired potato chips on the front desk marked 50% off. Various signs posted in the room to the effect of: "If you take this rubber duck home with you, we'll charge you $5" and an itemized price list of things in the kitchenette, that if found missing, would be billed to your account. Seems obvious - does it really need to be spelled out?

We didn't deal with the hotel staff other than checking in and out but there was nothing remarkable about the customer service here. Given that the room rates are similar to that of Whistler, I think Whistler is the preferred choice.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor if privacy is desired
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank itchyfeet000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2017

Stayed in 2 bedroom suite with families. Both bathrooms have broken locks and furniture. Customer service is poor. Pool has hairs all over. Basically experience. Won't recommend it to anyone and will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rajeev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Great place. Beautiful location and surroundings. Reasonable rates. Excellent staff. Clean and well maintained property.
Lots of outdoor activities for families in Pemberton village and short drive to Whistler.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janette123418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Pemberton Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear janette123418,

Thank you for sharing your comment and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

David MacKenzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Pemberton Valley Lodge is a good choice for anyone who is looking for a nice hotel in proximity to Whistler, but without the Whistler price tag. My boyfriend and I stayed here in the days following Christmas when the cheapest hotel I could find in Whistler was $400+ a night. Sure, it's about 25 minute drive away, but it's a beautiful drive past lakes and forests covered in powdery snow.

The hotel itself is cozy; think massive log cabin. Our room was clean, spacious (we had a room with a kitchenette), and offered gorgeous views of the mountainside and a creek that runs behind the property. The hotel has underground parking that, though limited, was welcome. It snowed substantially while we were there and we would have had to do some serious digging to get our compact car out from under the snow had we parked outside.

I've seen some complaints from other visitors about thin walls and noise. I'll admit that at times we were able to hear sounds coming from one of the rooms adjoining ours. However, it wasn't to the point that it was bothersome. Therefore I'm inclined to believe that the issues with noise may be limited to certain rooms or floors.

My only critique is the customer service. Though not bad, it was lackluster. I don't bring this up to dissuade you from staying here, but rather, to set up a proper expectation. It's been my experience when traveling that when I check into a property, the staff is always friendly, smiling, and wants you to feel welcome. Yet this was not the case at PVL where I got the sense that the staff was going through the motions. Probably not enough to keep me from staying here again, but certainly an area of opportunity for the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank willwander4food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

It is a very clean, daated hotel. Pricey as compared to previous night in Squamish. Good pillows, good wifi, good beds but the noise from teh heater/ac unit kept us up all night. It was so loud we thought it was construction outside.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FernAlumni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemberton
0.5 km away
Pemberton Gateway Village Suites Hotel
25.1 km away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,800 reviews
25.3 km away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 km away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#9 of 49 in Whistler
1,464 reviews
28.2 km away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,975 reviews
24.7 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pemberton Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pemberton Valley Lodge

Address: 1490 Sea to Sky Highway #99, Pemberton, British Columbia V0N 2L1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pemberton
Price Range: €115 - €183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pemberton Valley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think of jaw dropping mountain views and a vast array of recreational activities and you'll begin to envision one of the most picturesque and invigorating areas in Canada, just 25 minutes north of Whistler. Surrounded by the Coast Mountains, Pemberton Valley is widely referred to as the Gateway to Adventure. It's the perfect recreational destination with snowmobiling, horseback riding, acclaimed golf, hiking and so much more. Pemberton Valley Lodge is a spacious all-suite hotel with personalized service - its urban style and comfort meets mountain adventure getaway. Choose from Studio, One & Two Bedroom Suites and relax after a long day of adventure beside your fireplace or in the outdoor pool and hot tub. You can experience it all at Pemberton Valley Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pemberton Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pemberton Valley Hotel Pemberton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing