We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lakeview Motel(Haliburton)(Great Value!)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bonnie View Inn(Haliburton)(Great Value!)
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nomi Resort(Harcourt)
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sword Motor Inn(Bancroft)
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
19
9
2
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
9
2
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2015

We had a wonderful stay at these cottages. We were 3 families with kids, so split our stay between cottage # 7 & 12.

The cottage was amazing, clean and the surroundings were beautiful.

The owners & the property manager take good care of the guests and the cottage. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank twinklep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

My family of four (2 adults, 2 children) stayed in Cottage #7 in March and had an incredible weekend get-away from the city. The cottage was simply perfect: it was cozy, clean, and so relaxing, especially with a warm fire going almost the entire time we were there. The bedrooms were cozy, clean and comfortable - loved the tv and dvd player in the master bedroom! A good-sized kitchen with all the amenities, and a huge bathroom with a fantastic soaker tub/jacuzzi. My girls played outside in the snow for hours, both around the property and on the lake, only coming in to sit by the warm fire, sipping hot chocolate, and watching movies on the big screen tv (incredible movie collection btw). We had just an amazing time, and after 3 days we wished we could have stayed for an entire week! I would highly recommend Willowbeach Cottages, and certainly cottage #7, to anyone! Neil P

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2015

For two summers our family of six has rented cottage 7 and the rest of our extended family rented cottage 13. Cottage 7 is very clean and well kept. We love it. Cottage 13 is definitely more rustic but this worked well for the rest of the family as they are a pretty laid back crew.
This coming summer we will all be renting three different cottages as the the numbers have changed. Willow Beach has all that we need and more. It is so relaxing and has become a family vacation that all ages look forward to. We hope to spend any more years going back to Willow Beach.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2014

We rented the cottage (sight unseen) at Willow Beach Cottages because it was advertised as being equipped for people who had mobility issues such as I do.

Our first impression was that the cottage was old, not particularly attractive or kept up, nor was its setting very appealing. The inside was dingy and crowded with too much furniture which made getting around difficult. The trees at the back added to the dinginess of the bedrooms. While the bathroom was large, it should have been equipped with a higher toilet for people with mobility issues. The shower was too small but the worst thing about it was the plastic curtain. The first time I used it water went everywhere – all over the bathroom and kitchen floors. While it might work for those who don’t have to contend with such issues, it was certainly distressing for me.

The outside of the cottage... steps, picnic table, deck floor could have used a coat of paint to make it more appealing. The picnic table, squeezed into a small place, was impossible for me to use. The ramp, which should have made moving from the deck to the ground easier, was in fact not helpful because at the bottom there were weeds and very uneven ground. Not good enough for those in wheelchairs. I used the stairs all the time, as difficult as that was for me.

It was disquieting to have a volley ball court outside our front door – it was noisy at times, particularly when players brought their loud radios, and it felt intrusive on our personal space.

We were disappointed not to be able to see the lake from the cottage.

Had we seen it before renting it we would not have chosen to spend a week’s vacation there. It certainly wasn’t worth the $1200 that we paid.

In the end, we left a day early for two reasons: we weren’t enjoying ourselves and just as important, we weren’t prepared to rush to be out of there by 10 AM on the Saturday . (Others felt the same way and made the same decision. Check-out should be 11 at the earliest.)

One suggestion: if you continue to advertise it as equipped for people with mobility issues, those who do have such issues should be consulted. It is not enough to have a person who works with disabled people to design such a space. Those who are not disabled have very little idea what we need.

Two things we did enjoy was the woman who greeted us and checked in the first couple of days we were there, and the wood burning fireplace.

We would not recommend it as a place to stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kate38ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My husband, dog and I rented a cabin for a week and we absolutely loved it! The best way to experience the Haliburton Highlands. Our cottage had everything we needed to make meals and enjoy our stay. TV was brand new, also had an iPod dock. Enough room for us to invite some family over for dinner in the small kitchen. The grounds was clean. The beach was a great addition, we really enjoyed sitting out in the evenings in the Muskoka chairs. The fire-pit was a bonus too, all fire wood included! The groundslady is a bit quirky and old, but she was pleasant and was very helpful towards our needs. We'll be staying again this winter and definitely again next summer! My only complaint was in the evenings when it got moist outside the ear wigs liked the find their way into the bathroom and sleeping quarters. It was pretty gross but that is minor and hopefully will be fixed.

Room Tip: Try to get one closer to the water!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beandroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews