We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,344)
Filter reviews
6,344 results
Traveller rating
3,685
1,755
592
210
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,685
1,755
592
210
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond roompier dinnerblue holejade samuraimountain viewcoral cafeentertainment staffocho riosjerk chickenwrapspizza placepizza oventhe grillitalian restaurantpiano barnature walkour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 6,344 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018

If you're anything like me, you meticulously review anything you buy beforehand. So I am writing this review as honest as possible.

The resort itself is good but not great. Nothing was gross or off-putting but it wasn't the best resort I have ever stayed in. The rooms could use some updating, though. We had to get three separate keycards because ours would randomly stop working. The AC worked only about 75% of the time. We didn't get towels three days in a row when they came to our room- we had to call the operator. The first night, we checked into the resort at 6pm. Stupidly, maybe, that night we left $15 in cash on our dresser as we walked around the resort and housekeeping came in and decided that was for them. The resort also blasted music with a thumping bass starting at 8am and it went until 2am. So prepare yourself for that if you are coming here for a relaxing vacation. Don't expect WIFI on the resort, either. It is spotty, at best. We only really got WIFI signal during breakfast at the buffet.

Another major issue I have with the resort is maybe a personal and selfish one but an issue nonetheless. We paid a decent amount of $$ for a cabana, which included a personalized breakfast and dinner. They forgot about our breakfast and we ended up eating an hour and a half late and only after we approached the front desk. For dinner, they overbooked and we ended up eating dinner 30 minutes late. Which, normally, whatever, not a big deal. But we paid a significant amount of money to the resort for this package and they were already very late with breakfast earlier that day.
Now the PROS- Their beach was small but nice. There were always chairs available. The service at all the restaurants and bars was great. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I personally thought the food was great. The best (other than the personalized dinner) was the hibachi or Moonstone. We didn't try Platinum, though (we didn't bring dress clothes to the beach LOL). The resort is also very clean. And if you like cats (I love cats), there are cats all over the resort and they are very friendly.

Overall, would I recommend this resort to a friend? No, probably not. I don't understand the cult following this place has, to be honest, but maybe it just wasn't for me. It was a cool experience with a lot of good qualities but for us, the cons outweighed the pros. We didn't have a terrible time but again, we won't be a returning customer.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bgray0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shire B, Social Media Champion at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting our resort and sharing your feedback. We are happy that you choose our resort to spend your vacation, out of your many options. We offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or disappointment experienced during your stay.

We do have upgrades on the horizon and we do hope that you will be able to return, so you can see the changes we have made.

It is our sincere apologies for the poor connection with the internet, as we work hard in improving the system in the future.

We do apologize regarding the temperature issue you had experience during your stay and we do assure you that we will address each unit accordingly.

Our housekeepers would not clean the room at night, only a turn down service and we do hope you had brought it our attention so we could investigate the claims.

As well, we have noted your other concerns and we will seek to address them within our scope.

It was our privilege to host you, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Shire B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

As far as service goes, we were unsatisfied. The front desk could not give change for a hundred dollar bill on 3 separate occasions. When we requested two extra towels and extra water in the room we were told we would receive them but never did. The beach towel hut rarely had any towels available. We waited one hour for towels the first day there. The bathtub was dirty upon arrival and stayed that way the entire week. The bathroom was extremely small with no fan and the dimmest lighting. You could not walk through the lobby without being hassled by spa employees trying to sell you services and could not walk the tiny beach without being hassled to buy something. For being an all-inclusive it seemed there was a fee for everything. They offer a fresh coconut to drink out of and then you find out it is $3. Room service was not included. No continental breakfast. No spirits in your room refrigerator. No touch of Jamaica. Restaurants were Asian and Italian. Buffet was tired. Only music played was Shaggy or Bob Marley Legends album. The only time we felt like we were in Jamaica was on our excursions. Love Jamaica. Will return yet again. Not to this "resort".

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank cmdresen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shire B, Social Media Champion at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting our resort and sharing your feedback. We are happy that you choose our resort to spend your vacation, out of your many options. We offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or disappointment experienced during your stay.

It is unfortunate,that every time you came for change we were completely out and we do empathize with you.

All your accusations are noted for investigation and we will address the spa department for their approach.

As well, we have noted your other concerns and we will seek to have the accessed them accordingly.

We are sorry that you will not be returning to our resort and we do hope that you were still able to enjoy your vacation .

It was our privilege to host you, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.


Warm regards
Shire B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

What can I say other than perfection. Beautiful resort and great food. Best part of the stay is the staff. The resort is small enough for them to really get to know you and make you feel special. Food is great too. Rent a cabana so you can be blessed by Judy’s excellent service. Basil may serve you as well and if he does you will want to keep coming back. Judeen, Mr. Bertram, Shushelea and Enrico will take care of you in the restaurants. Shaquille, Shawn, Garnet, Uton, Morris, Cornell and LaSonya will prepare drinks that are to die for. Jason(the Mayor) and his crew will entertain you day and night. Finally, the manager, Alicia Mullings will definitely make sure everything is perfect through your stay. If you can opt for butler service, Fabian, Ludlow and Dherern will not disappoint. This was our fourth stay and we will go for number five next summer!!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
Thank wendygI2222WN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shire B, Social Media Champion at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018


Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting our resort and sharing your feedback. We are happy that you choose our resort again, as your vacation destination. It was truly delightful to have served you and made your experience filled with our awesome hospitality.

Your commendations of our wonderful staff are appreciated and it will be conveyed to our entire team.

As a family, we take pride in remembering your unique needs, while we go above and beyond to meet your expectations.

We do hope you had a spectacular vacation, as receive our warm Jamaican hospitality.

It was certainly our privilege to have served you, and we would love to have you back with us someday soon.


Warm regards,
Shire B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

This was our first all inclusive. I had high expectations and more so since Hilton just purchased it.
However, after day three here of the 16 we shall spend here are some notes.
1. Tip everyone or expect slower service and less attention in general. Doing the math in that if you are a drinker...that means, every waiter who brings you drinks, every bartender in each bar, all meals and “snack” places, etc. you will spend easily an extra $30+/day. For us that will be about $400-500 on top of our trip to this “all inclusive” resort.
2. Understaffed. Note the lead in title about expectations. I did expect waiters to ask if we needed anything when sitting on the beach or pool side. Drinks or food. We have already found it quicker to just get it ourselves.
3. Beach. ROFL. I like to run on the beach during vacation. Not here. If I wanted to run the beach it would be quarter mile laps. Very small beach: both shoreline and depth.
4. Exercise. As stated, I run on vacation and use weights. Longest running leg on the resort is .3 miles. I ran off today and the security guard ensured he took my room number just in case. Never “felt” unsafe running off resort though an employee recommended against it. Exercise/weight area is now enclosed in glass with poor air conditioning and no breeze. It is a sauna.
5. Resort System. I also like to analyze systems. The resort will do well to analyze their customer service system regarding logistics. Towels, water cups, exercise equipment sanitation, active “pampering” of clients, and active engagement of clients by staff. Winning smiles and positive words from the staff will up your reputation.
Checkin. Read the review talking about the bus ride from Airport to resort...Oy! Took us three hours from clearing customs to hotel arrival. Our room was not ready for another 1.5 hours Post arrival. We were the last couple to get into the room from our bus load. “Come back in fifteen minutes” and “come back in fifteen minutes”. Do the math and that was 6 trips to check back each time.
6. Staff. Many of the staff are engaging once you engage them. However, as the client, engagement initiation begins with the staff. We are working too hard as visitors to build the relationships.
7. Food. Pizza okay. Jerk chicken is outstanding at the outdoor grill...if you can get service. If you tip or flash green, they come running and bypass all others. I was curious on day 2 if this was true and stood at the counter watching and waiting. Green in hand ensured an order taken. No green and folks waited until the customer got louder and could not be ignored. Sad.
Japanese steak house...great! Reservation only and very good. The bartender was a bit possessive of her drink ware as she stopped two customers from walking pool side with the drinks they had not finished. Hotel policy maybe yet not explained to the customers. Bartender was very rude to them.
Buffet okay. The service staff is hot or cold as to personableness.
We will eat at the formal dining tonight.
8. Quiet or Loud.
Loud at main pool starting at 0800 and ending about 2300. Quieter at pool with piano and pool table. Our room overlooks the Italian Dining area and pier (corner concierge diamond room). It has not been bad as far as noise goes. We are not party late people and have no problem getting to sleep at 2300-2400 each night even when the music was downstairs from our room.
9. Spa. I will write on that after tomorrow’s couples massage. This far the spa personnel, who solicit heavily, have been engaging and friendly.
10. Disappointing. This far I am disappointed though I am hoping it will improve. At this rate I will save longer and pay more for Sandals or Couples resorts to get more pampering. My wife and I have 16 total days here and I paid for my two kids to come the second week so a bit of an investment to already be disappointed.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank PistisAlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shire B, Social Media Champion at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting our resort and sharing your feedback. We are happy that you choose our resort to spend your vacation, out of your many options. We offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or disappointment experienced during your stay.

Our staffs are committed to ensuring that we meet the needs of every guest and we offer our deepest apologies if we were unable to meet your expectations.

As well, we have noted your other concerns and we appreciate your recommendations.

We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you and we do hope you will see the changes in the future.


Warm regards,
Shire B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

Awesome first experience to Jamaica! The hotels grounds where perfect, the room was nice. We stayed in the saphfire building. The pools where clean and the food was good. Couldn’t ask for anymore at this price point. You can pay for more but we didn’t need it.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
Thank viperpro8684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shire B, Social Media Champion at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018


Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting our resort and sharing your feedback. We are happy that you choose our resort as your vacation destination. It was truly delightful to have served you and made your experience filled with our awesome hospitality.

We do try to ensure our guests have an exceptional vacation, while enjoying our warm Jamaican hospitality and enchanting ambiance.

It was certainly our privilege to have served you, and we would love to have you back with us someday soon.


Warm regards,
Shire B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews