We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“nice stay in lovely Gibsons”
View from Captain J's Deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Captain J's Deck
Captain J's Beachfront View From Doorway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
View from Captain J's Deck
Captain J's Beachfront
View From Doorway
Kitchen
View from Kitchen
View from the Bedroom
Living Room
Backyard
Sunrise from the deck
View from deck
view from deck
Your large private deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
132toh
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“nice stay in lovely Gibsons”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Very nice location close to downtown Gibsons. John and Cindy were great hosts, the place was clean and well cared for. The bottle of wine waiting for us was a nice touch to enjoy in front of the fireplace. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to stay close to the lower part of Gibsons.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
getinthec...
Surrey, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous rental on a little slice of Sunshine Coast paradise - this home is full of love”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Cindy and John have rebuilt this special home that has been in their family for generations. It has interesting history, some original decorative "artifacts" (including the working original claw foot tub in the suite's bathroom), and is a PERFECT vacation rental. 4 minutes from the ferry, a 5-10 min stroll to town, and a beautiful view. It is a very nice size for 2 - 4 people, is well equipped (full size fridge, gas stove, BBQ, plenty of dishes, towels, etc.), private, and immaculately clean. (This is the cleanest rental property, hotel, etc. I have ever stayed in, which include some very nice places.) My OCD nature also appreciated the tasteful decor and colours in the suite, straight pictures, matching dishes and towels, good quality soap, and lovely smelling bed sheets (seriously - something beyond fabric softener!). We arrived to a bottle of wine for us, treats for our dogs, and coffee and cream ready and waiting for the morning. Great gas fire pit on the deck and a wood burning fire pit on the beach too. Cindy and John are lovely and interesting people with lots of information/ideas for things to do in the area (and their dog Dash was fun to have around too). We fell in love with this place and are already making plans to return :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, size/layout of suite, spotlessly clean, added touches by owner (and the owners themselves!), pet friendly
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Veronicat...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A relaxing waterfront haven offering peace and tranquility.”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from spending 3 glorious nights at Captain J's Seaside Suite and wish we were still there!
Just a short ferry ride from Horseshoe Bay, Vancouver, this home away from home is just that. It has all the comforts you could possibly ask for with breathtaking views from every room. BBQing fresh seafood on the deck and toasting marshmallows in the outdoor fire was how we spent our nights. Our days too soon passed by as we watched the tides roll in and out armed with a glass of wine and a good book. Hosts Cindy and John made us feel very welcome indeed ensuring we were comfortable and undisturbed. Even though we were there in coolish March with the occasional drizzle, this set the scene for this romantic hideaway. We 'll be back for sure.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina6...
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical, waterfront place!”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We wish we could have stayed longer after discovering how incredible the suite was. It felt like we were staying on a houseboat when the tide came in, with the amazing water views especially from the bedroom. The ocean and sandy beach are literally at your doorstep, with chairs on your private deck to enjoy the view. Cindy was incredibly hospitable and we hope to be back again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and beach access
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$127
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing