We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
0
6
7
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
6
7
6
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I stayed in the Ritz Inn in June 2011 and my review is very similar to the one dated June 2010 entitled "Not The Ritz" so it looks like the owners don't really care what people think !

I drove around Gibsons looking for accomodation and from the outside the Ritz Inn "looked" to be the best kept. It was on the outskirts of the town and not far from the harbour and a short walk to the shops and restaurants. There is a larger shopping centre which is only a 5 minute drive away.

The room was a reasonable size with a double bed, a sette and chair. a small 2 seater dining table and a kitchenette with the same mismatched kitchenware reported in other reviews (even the drinking glasses were all different) but the room was generally scruffy and drab and although there was no abvious surface dust you can sense that the rooms are not cleaned properly which has been mantioned in other reviews and it didn't look as if the windows had been cleaned for a long time. The settee was so worn that the foam filling was showing on one of the arms and it seemed a good idea to lay a couple of bath towels on it before sitting and to have a shower before going to bed and another one the following morning before leaving.


The Free Continental Breakfast was a joke. They provide a jug of highly diluted orange juice, some cakes and hot drinks on a table by the reception desk but don't expect a breakfast room with tables and chairs where you can eat it

It's a pity really as a litle TLC, a fresh coat of paint and some replacement furniture and a proper cleaner would make a big difference

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomad252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Ritz Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

I'm sorry you had a bad experience while staying at our Hotel but thank you for your review.
We have started to renovate the Hotel and up grade TV's furniture etc.
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

This was not an expensive stay ($105 per night) and it's certainly not 'Ritzy'. That said, the front desk peeps were pleasant and helpful, the room itself reasonably clean and the beds not uncomfortable for our two day stay. However maintenance is a major issue here as is the maid service. There were several chips in the walls left unrepaired, hotel rack in the bath installed on an unpainted board with the screws improperly attached, towel rack in the bath becoming rusty, what appeared to be the remains of a broken light bulb in one bath light fixture, different size and type of bulbs in another bathroom fixture . . . I could go on but I think you'll get the picture. As another reviewer mentioned, the flatware was totally mismatched and indeed appeared to have been accumulated thru 'garage sailing'. The room we were in (204) looked out on the street. There were no sheers, only the curtain so unless one wanted to be 'on view', you couldn't have the curtains open during the day. Many simple things that could easily and inexpensively be repaired/improved but weren't.

As to maid service, we left a side plate, a mug and a couple of glasses in the sink. While the beds were made and the towels changed out as necessary, these few dishes were left untouched, still sitting in the sink on our return to the room. :-( They remained thus on our departure -- the maid service still had to clean them. What they didn't get was a tip with which I'm usually fairly generous.

Were I to be staying in Gibson's again, I'd be looking at a B + B accomodation.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WCGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We arrived late at night on our way to Lund. The young lady on the evening shift was very hospitable and friendly. The room was large, had all the amenities we needed and was clean. It is not as centrally located to the main dock in Gibson as some hotels might be but we were just there for a sleep. The morning breakfast was laughably disappointing. There were half a dozen small cinnamon buns and muffins cut into quarters. My W and i split them. There was coffee but you had to bring your cup from the room. After packing up I went to get a coffee refill (about 10 AM) and everything was gone. The woman on the day shift was about as friendly as a pit -bull, probably because I asked her if she was making more coffee right in the middle of her smoke break. Arrive at night - avoid the pit-bull.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We stayed for a night here. We changed our room initially as the ones to the rear are a bit dark and dingy. We had to pay a little premium for a brighter one at the front, but it was worth it. A nice little kitchen with oven, microwave etc which would suit for small snacks etc. Would stay again. Manager extremely friendly. Complimentary coffee/muffins in morning, nice touch.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

stayed one night and whilst from the outside it looks relatively smart, the room was a little shabby.
The room had a kitchen area which was clean, but non of the kitchenware matched not even the cutlery, it looked as if it had been kitted out from a thrift shop.
the sofa was saggy and the bed linen did not cover the mattress properly.
the room did have partial view of the harbour and was well located.
overall there was nothing wrong with the hotel, it just wasn't the "Ritz"

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blinky_and_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews