We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“biggest rip off in alliston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alliston
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“biggest rip off in alliston”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

we booked this MOTEL the first week of march to play in a hockey tourney and we charged $149 a night to stay at this hole. The rooms smelled of old cigar smoke, there were no where for the kids to play other than the pool. This is a $49 a night place not $149 we did not eat at the restaurant so i can not comment on that. The place was clean the bathroom doors did not close in many of the rooms the heater fans were loud and the 1965 colman stove they call a kitchenette was not used. We left after one night as did many others and found another place to stay. They were charging $119 a night for non hockey teams but $149 for us. As i type this i still can't get the room smell off me.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPI2011, General Manager at Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Mr. Chris N.

On behalf of The Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre, I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the issue of the room rate and your mischaracterization of the room’s housekeeping features.
I left you a voice message on Monday, March 5 to follow up on your review. Unfortunately I have not received a return call from you.
After much investigation within our electronic in-house systems we have found that there are discrepancies between our recorded findings and the information that you have posted on TripAdvisor.
I would like to explain and clarify these discrepancies with you on the telephone, and I am looking forward to your return call.

Yours in hospitality,
Alexandra Braidford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    20
    21
    13
    23
See reviews for
37
22
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here because we were visiting friends close by. We decided on Red Pine Inn because of its proximity to our friends house. The location is right off the highway so we found our way in and out very easily and they have a great sports store across the street (my boyfriend loved it). The rooms were spacious and clean. We would definitely recommend this place and we will most likely be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CowboyFanWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

My family and I have been going to the Red Pine Restaurant and staying at the Inn for the last 20 years. Last Sunday (July 17th 2011) my wife and I went to the restaurant for some breakfast. I ordered sausages and eggs, my wife seen some cereal on a table in another room. She asked the waitress for some corn flakes, who in turn asked the manager, she was told she couldn't have the cereal because it was part of the Complimentary Continental Breakfast which was for the hotel guests only. I can't for the life of me see how one bowl of cereal could upset their precious system so easily. I think the Pine is in need of a new manager, one that can see past the rules and take care of the clients.
I think if the Inn was still run by the original owners instead of a corporation this would never have happened.
There are plenty of other restaurants in Alliston and from now on my family and I will be enjoying our meal at one where the management can think outside the box and cares more for their clients than rules.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank 58466Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPI2011, General Manager at Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear about your bad experience in our restaurant on July 17.
We have emailed you a personal message through Tripadvisor last week, hoping that we could speak with you on the phone to rectify this issue.
We look forward to hearing from you as soon possible and would like to welcome you back to our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alliston hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I stayed at the Red Pine Inn in Alliston to attend a local function. We didn't want to spend too much money but also wanted the conveniences of the surrounding business amenities so we decided that Red Pine Inn would be our best bet as it's located directly within Alliston.

The facilities and room were extremely clean. The reception and the restaurant were very tidy and the customer service was pleasant and quick. There is a pool and a play area for children and I found the stay very peaceful for the short duration of time we were there. Our room was air-conditioned and came with mini fridge, coffee maker and other toiletries and comfort nick-nacks.

When booking, the Inn only had one room left, which was a smoking room. Now, being that I had quit smoking over two years ago, I didn't think that it would bother me too much. But upon arrival, we realized that the odour was extremely pungent. I would definitely not stay in a smoking room again, the smell is unbelievable. However this was out of necessity.

All in all, the Inn in my view is simply a well-cared-for motel. I found it a tiny bit pricey for what it was but if I needed to visit Alliston again and required lodging I would likely repeat my visit, but NOT in a smoking room.

Room Tip: A very clean and tidy well-maintained motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeasideSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2011

This hotel complex offers good value, and is very centrally located to where the event was! The rooms are well appointed, and well pretty maintained...as is the rest of the complex. Parking was a bit of an issue due to the amount of snow...and the amount of trailers we all had...but this is not the norm. I never knew this establishment existed, and will be using it again. (stayed in the hotel block, as opposed to the motel side at the front)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlaneyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alliston
34.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Bolton
24.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
26.9 km away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Barrie
23.2 km away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
24.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre

Property: Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre
Address: 497 Victoria St E, Alliston, New Tecumseth, Ontario L9R 1J8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > New Tecumseth > Alliston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alliston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service Hotel & Conference Centre located on a 5 acre land. Red Pine Inn features onsite restaurant, indoor salt water pool, sauna, hot tub and fitness centre. The Conference Centre can accommodate up to 120 people. Pine Room Restaurant opens for breakfast, lunch and dinner.Contact us for your upcoming stay or special event. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre Hotel Alliston
Red Pine Inn And Conference Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing