We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (853)
Filter reviews
853 results
Traveller rating
314
335
135
43
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
335
135
43
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews north shore takapuna beach thyme restaurant buffet breakfast one bedroom suite rangitoto island fantastic views per day auckland city full kitchen washing machine and dryer harbour bridge car parking new zealand gym tennis kitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 853 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

We arrived a wee bit early, but was no problem. The staff at check in were extremely helpful and efficient. Handy hotel for exploring Takapuna, walking distance of town.
We had a stunning room with spectacular view over to Auckland. The room was spotless and had everything you could wish for. We were only there for one night but will stay again without hesitation!
Great Hotel!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CharlieBrigid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us at The Spencer, and we hope to welcome you back again to Takapuna soon, Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

My friend and I stayed here one night when we had a catch up recently, she chose this hotel and imhsve to say, fantastic choice. Walking distance to Takapuna beach, views out to the water, clean well appointed rooms with enough space for two. Our bathroom had a walk in shower, love these. We didn't have breakfast, but we had had dinner the night of our stay, such a gorgeous dinning area. The staff were outstanding in all aspects, when checking in and out, very friendly and helpful, offered help with our bags etc. My friend parked in the hotels car park which is easily accessible and safe, but I do think it is a bit rude how much they charge per day to park the car $20. A bit steep considering we are guests, but I guess that is how Auckland has become now. Didn't use the pool, but I may have done if I had realised it was on the roof!!! Overall a great place to stay, would stay again especially if I could get a special!!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank subee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Takapuna again, Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

I booked this room as part of a workshop taking place at the venue. The room was 2 doors from the gym and you could hear everything as well as people congragating for the lift. If you mentioned the workshop name you were meant to get a discount however I ended up paying more with no breakfast. I stayed in a motel around the corner for the first night due to no availability which was 80 dollars less and quieter and cleaner.

The toilets for the event were ridiculous. There were constant cues and no alternative option unless you had a room

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank CheninM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us - we appreciate your comments which I will be discussing with the team. We hope to welcome you back to Takapuna again, Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

We always get great service when we stay at the Spencer on Byron. On our recent visit my son took a few of his toys to play with while we were there but we unfortunately forgot one of them when we checked out. I rang the hotel the next day and they organised to send it to us. The reception desk was lovely and helpful and made it seem like nothing was too hard! Will definitely be going back

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Passport823053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to Takapuna again, Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Great location, easy access, good local cafes near by, walking distance from a lot of facilities. Underground carpark. Fantastic penthouse apartments. Service desk could be a bit more approachable and friendly but the facilities made up for the lacking friendly service.

Room tip: Great views, nice bar
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank simonjw86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we appreciate your commetns which I will be discussing with the team. We hope to welcome you back to Takapuna again, Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews