We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveller rating
306
331
133
43
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
331
133
43
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth shoretakapuna beachthyme restaurantbuffet breakfastone bedroom suitefantastic viewsper dayauckland citytennis courtswashing machine and dryerharbour bridgesky towercar parkingnew zealandbus stopstayed one nightroom was spacious
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 839 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018

What can I say - bland, but comfortable. Little to complain about, but little to get excited about either. It does the job I guess. Its location is close to the Takapuna shops which is useful. However, the Takapuna shops are little more than a posh Lower Hutt. 5/10.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank canddnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thank you for your review - I'm sorry to read that you didn't enjoy our seaside township of Takapuna: with half the population of Lower Hutt and having never personally been to visit Lower Hutt, I assume we should take this as a compliment. Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We have stayed here often great spacious rooms good laundry and cooking facilities very friendly staff great spa pool. Lounge suite not so comfortable great parking facilities but shame that it cost 20 per night. Close to shops dining and fabulous les mills gym.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Spencer, we really appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Takapuna again, Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Hotel rooms slightly dated. Beds not your normal quality hotel matrass...old coil type
Staff very friendly and obliging but short staffed in the bar on a Saturday afternoon. One staff member manning the bar, coffee shop and verandah area

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Debz3262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you for your review: we wonder whether your stay was at a different property: all our mattresses are Sealy Commercial grade beds, and we don't have a separate coffee shop or verandah area. We have tried finding you in our system, but unfortunately can't find you from your TripAdvisor ID. Could you please advise the room number if your stay was at The Spencer, so we can check the mattress, thank you, Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Hard to fault this place. Our 16th floor room was beautifully presented with a great view of Auckland City. We enjoyed the awesome outdoor spa which at 39deg is fine on a coolish night, the 28deg in the lap pool was probably a bit too cold for the evening when we were there, would be great on a warm afternoon I bet. Very well equipped gymnasium and tennis court for the more active guest. Close to township for eateries and shopping, although we dined both our nights at the in-house restaurant which was excellent. Very good selection at breakfast time too. Plenty of easy access off-street parking. Friendly staff made this an excellent accomodation option while in this area. Would definately return.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookaborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we really appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back again, Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

We enjoyed our stay at the Spencer on Byron. Our room had amazing views out to Rangitoto around to Devonport and the Harbour Bridge. It is a great base to explore Takapuna, Devonport and the East Coast Bays. Our room was warm and comfortable but a little tired.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank SuperGrannie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Spencer, and we hope to welcome you back to Takapuna again, Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews