We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
24
58
54
42
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
58
54
42
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mount victoria continental breakfast rooms are basic desperate need stayed longer takakkaw falls mountains banff parks toaster surroundings winter
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2017

This place looks like a ski hostel which I am sure it is in the winter. But in the summer it is heaven. The rooms are sparse, but we spent our time sitting on the patio outside our second floor room gazing at the lake across the highway and the incredible mountains and glaciers in front of us. The room was clean and the bed comfy. I don't mind green porcelain for one night! Breakfast was as good as you get at the Holiday Inn but the dinner meal was very good. We had the veal chop on butternut squash gnocci and it was wonderful. Wish we could have stayed longer and taken some of the hikes!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are the best with king size beds!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

As you may have discovered, there are limited accommodation options in Field, BC. After searching and finding no vacancy elsewhere, we booked in at the Great Divide Lodge for one night. We checked in with some hesitancy but were pleasantly surprised. While these are basic rooms in a very old building, the rooms are clean and beds comfortable. And if you're in desperate need of a throw back experience, the 70s very yellow bathroom sink and tub won't disappoint! The continental breakfast included in the rate, is adequate and very convenient.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 3blackcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

My husband and I stayed here for a night during our trip to Banff/Jasper/Yoho. This lodge may not have the nicest accommodations, but the location and the price CANNOT be beat. It is close to Emerald Lake and Lake Louise as well as Lake O-hara (if you have a reservation to take the bus in, which we did not). We chose this place for it's location, and for $99 (double bed), it was a great deal! Free wifi was available in the rooms. A light continental breakfast is included, mostly pastries and coffee, so we picked up something else in town for breakfast before we went hiking. And speaking of hiking, the trailhead for Sherbrooke Lake is right next to the lodge, and it was easily one of our favorite hikes that we did our whole trip. Beautiful lake and not too many people on the trail.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lindseyp20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Great location to Field and surrounding walks and Mountain pass. Easy access to lake Louise, with quiet mountain surroundings. No city and traffic hassles up here. Staff are friendly and polite. Rooms are basic, so great for travellers/hikers/family's. No good for night life seeking people. Natural setting and views. Highway noise could be problem to some, but its really not bad at all. I would stay again for sure. Great night-time view of stars etc as there are no lights up here.

Room Tip: Front rooms are the best views over the lake and Mountains, bit noisy, but the views are worth it
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sean484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

It’s an odd combination of pluses and minuses …..

Tired looking lodge-style building (I’m sure the harsh winters don’t help !) The bathrooms are really dated – mint green tile and bathtubs; the tubs had plenty of dents that could benefit from some paint to prevent further deterioration. Basic shower curtain, shelf, towel rack, thin (clean white) towels and toilet. I guess that would earn it 2.5 stars since it could use a bit of updating.

The bedroom furniture was sort of thrift store laminate/particle board and café industrial table and chairs…. But the bed was comfortable with nice bed linens and pillows and the room had hardwood floors. Not sure about the rooms in the back, but the rooms facing the road had roomy balconies overlooking the busy highway, railroad tracks, lovely lake and forest and mountains. Nice view. The highway activity and rail activity are a bit noisy, but both have less traffic at night … so maybe the bedroom gets 2.5 to 3.5.

Breakfast gets it 3 stars for providing an average continental breakfast – oatmeal, pastries, muffins, cookies, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee and tea. Nothing too fancy, but you’re not going to starve. And it’s included in the room rate.
Location gets it 4 stars, since it’s about 17km from Lake Louise; Field is a further 12km away.

There is a restaurant on premises with a bar; we didn’t use the facilities … wi-fi was sometimes intermittent, but it was easy to reconnect. No mini-fridge or microwave in the room; coffee and tea are available 24 hours in the breakfast room. I think the reason is that they run the hotel on a generator and therefore need to restrict the appliances plugged in (yet here we are, watching the Olympics at night and plugging in our electronics to re-charge!!!). Toiletries were pretty decent.

Where it gets 5 stars – the staff ! In the morning, the poor fellow at reception, Mitch, has to set up all of the breakfast bar and keep it replenished and check people out, while still keeping a smile for all of us. We needed to leave before breakfast starts, so the night before, Maggie was kind enough to assemble our breakfast so we could make a quick getaway. For your convenience and to help out the staff, you’re able to settle your room bill at any time.

The rooms in the main building are on the second floor without an elevator; not sure if there are rooms in the back on the first floor (you should ask if stairs are a concern). Front desk is not staffed at night, although you can contact staff in case of emergency.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews