We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy place to stay - with a few caveats”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Field
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coyote's Den Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 6 Field B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Elaine is a wonderful hostess and her home in cute little Field in the middle of the national park is just that - a cosy home that takes guests. Coyote's Den is the only b and b in Field - other than this property there is only the pub and guest houses so it offers a great option for those who want to meet others and to have breakfast made for you. Elaine provides a lovely breakfast , and other guests while I was there cooked used the kitchen to cook dinner. The guest rooms are cute, very clean and with very comfortable beds but they are small and if it is summer the Windows can't really open much so the room is hot. My caveats in relation to the property relate to the fact that the property appears to have no insulation in the walls so you can hear pretty well everything happening in the other two guest rooms. The other problem is that there is only one bathroom and that bathroom has the only toilet in it. This is fine if not all rooms are occupied but when the property is full and everyone wakes up at the same time (which happens in an uninsulated property!) you can wait a long time to get access to the toilet if other guests are not considerate about the constraints of the property. So on my last night two guests watched a noisy programme on their laptop till late at night and then were in the bathroom for over half an hour in the morning. It was left to us guests to a) ask them to turn their volume down and b) rap on the door and ask them to hurry up. This should not be our role as guests. The hostess should alert guests to the issues as they check in so they are considerate. Having had a lovely stay for 2 nights, when I asked the hostess if there was another loo after waiting for a long time, I received a short succinct 'no'. It left a bad feeling after an otherwise pleasant stay.

Room Tip: There is one larger room which has an interconnecting door to the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JTMSydneyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017

Elaine was a very welcoming host. She made us feel right at home in her cosy B&B on the top of the hill in Field. Both mornings we were served a delicious and varying breakfast (homemade quiche, fresh fruit, cheese and meat, ...) and had lovely chats with Elaine and the other guests. She even offered to loan us some bear spray for the day. The walls are rather thin and there's only a bath (no shower), but this didn't really bother us. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madrilevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We arrived late at night but our room was ready and we had an easy time getting settled. When we woke we have a lovely breakfast and they went outside to see the surroundings and we were blown away, MOUNTAINS touring over us and flowers in bloom every where. Our host Elaine was awesome she had maps to loan out and even a can of bear spray (just in case). She had never had a guest that ever used it so it was more like a good luck charm!
Were were there for Canada Day and what a great place to be! Canada at it's best!

Room Tip: Typical to a B &B. You do have to share a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

This lovely wooden cabin style home in the middle of the tiny town of Field is a home away from home. Elaine, our lovely host extends her heart to all her guests. Breakfast is different every day, coffee excellent. Our room was small but there's plenty of space to hang out in the rest of the house. Highly recommended, away from the hordes. BTW the nearby Truffle Pigs restaurant is wonderful too. Emerald Lake and Takakkaw Falls each 15 minutes drive away. Plan for a trail walk to Natural Crossing. Stunning.

Room Tip: All the rooms (3) are small, you share a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Owner Elaine was welcoming and unpretentious, we immediately felt at ease in what is her cosy home with 3 bedrooms for guests. Elaine was interested in her guests and generously lent us books and maps and shared her considerable knowledge of the hikes and sights, enabling us to make the most of this beautiful area. We could have spent soooo much longer than 3 nights there. Guests can have the use of the fridge, kitchen and outside BBQ, hence we were able to prepare our own lunches and evening meals. The included breakfast was ample, delicious and shared with the other guests and interesting conversation.
Field is a small town offering little in the way of night life, but after long tiring days of hiking and exploring nearby Yoho National Park and Lake Louise/Lake Moraine this was not an issue.
If I have a complaint is was that there was only a hand held shower over the bath instead of a fixed shower head, but a relatively minor inconvenience, we coped.Enjoyed are stay and would happily return.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 1never2late
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
35.1 km away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
21.7 km away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,443 reviews
10.7 km away
The Great Divide Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Canadian Rockies Inn
Canadian Rockies Inn
#1 of 6 in Field
75 reviews
6.1 km away
Emerald Lake Lodge
0 km away
Yoho Guesthouse
Yoho Guesthouse
#5 of 6 in Field
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coyote's Den Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote's Den Guesthouse

Address: 213 2nd Avenue | Box 136, Field,, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Field
Price Range: €79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing