We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
15
9
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
9
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews decent breakfast fridge and microwave hot tub convenient location complimentary breakfast highway victoria pool nanaimo forest tv amenities
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018

The place is new, liked the bed, breakfast, how you turn the shower on and the shower head is on the opposite wall so you don’t get burnt. Breakfast was really food. Looks like a lot will be developed soon in area... eg. Liquor store, restaurants etc. Room is comfortable, the only complaint is the tv... you had to sit in a certain spot on bed for converter to work.
Many families were there since there is a water slide at hotel pool.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank venisonking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Oyster Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We stayed for two nights.
Sure this hotel is new and shiny. But for only being open for four months, the number of dings and dents around the walls, doors, trim and floors look worse than some much older hotels. The overall finishing felt as though they rushed to complete the job and open up. Lights were installed crooked in our room, USB plugs were pushed in, in the business desk area.
The staff were friendly but average.
The location and pool were the best part of staying here.
We had a very large Lacross team staying in the hotel at the same time, and although we paid the extra $10 to stay on the forest side, still found it noisy overall with doors slamming (previous comments about this) and foot traffic upstairs was heard in our unit 3am one night.
The breakfast was nice to have, but items were frequently being used up by other guests. With only one staff attending to the front and back operations of breakfast, including doing the dishes, it took a while to have things refilled.
The number of disposable items in this hotel really bugged us!! Multiple plastic wrapped paper cups in our room, to be used with a Keurig (more plastic), couldn't they be glasses or ceramic mugs instead!?
Only plastic cutlery was available and milk creamers in the breakfast area, again, if dishes are being washed in a hotel chain, could they not implement metal cutlery and a dishwashing rack?
In an era of trying to get away from single-use plastics, this hotel is sticking its head in the sand. I spoke with one gentleman who stated that two other Microtel Hotels are piloting metal cutlery and they hope to be able to in the future. Sure that sounds good, but it's not rocket science, what do all the other restaurants on the island do with their metal cutlery?!?! Why not open to the public on your best foot forward?
At this time we prefer to go back to the Chemanius Best Western, where it was quiet, breakfast was fantastic and the metal knives actually cut through the pancakes.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wildernessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Oyster Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

It is a new place. Very modern and clean. It had USB ports located in the room so you didn't have to look for plug in to plug your charger in. Also liked the fact that it had a full length mirror. Only complaint is that the doors slam shut which can be disturbing.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Discover721598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Oyster Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you for your comments, I am looking for solutions for the doors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The hotel is beautiful, clean and new, with plenty of parking and a wonderful pool, hot tub, and super-fun little water slide. Breakfast was the usual fare - with a pancake-maker instead of a waffle-maker, which was a nice change. We reserved a room with two queen beds for our family of four, and the first night we were given a room with a sofa bed and a queen bed, which was not ideal and not what we reserved. We asked to change rooms and were told that all the rooms with two queen beds were taken. This was very frustrating, and made worse when we were told that there were no extra pillows, so the sofa bed only had one pillow for our two teens. On our second night, we double-checked that we would be able to have a room with two queen beds as we reserved, and they were able to provide that. I would not return to this hotel without calling on the morning of arrival and double-checking that the room assignment matched the reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank RTSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Oyster Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you for taken the time to comment, I really appreciate your candor and i will be using this to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Brand New Hotel. Feels like walking in to a new built home. Very Friendly staff and room service was excellent. pool was very clean and kids love the tube slides on the pool. Very convenient location. Tim Horton's and the gas station a minute walk and A&W cross the street.(hwy) Very close to Transfer Beach and park. One of the best place to visit in Lady-smith.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SiddharthSharma2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Oyster Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, yes Transfer beach is a special place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews