We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“entertaining an overseas visitor”

The Green Man Inn and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Seafood, gastropub, fresh food, family and child friendly, freshly prepared food,
Reviewed 17 August 2015

We all thought the service was haphazard and it seemed as if there was no one in overall charge.this was a pity because the food was very good.
I have been quite a few times to this restaurant and previously the choice of food was much better: lobster and Dover sole for example were not on the menu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickilles, Owner at The Green Man Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2015

Andrew, Many thanks for taking the time to review The Green Man. As a small independent run business receiving feedback is hugely important to us.

I believe that you visited us on Friday evening and indeed we were extremely busy - doing double the guests that we had booked for that evening. Unfortunately this may have had an initial impact on the service but thankfully was resumed after an hour and so please accept my sincere apologies for this.

We have been very lucky to have had an extremely busy week and this indeed impacted on our specials and we had run out of Dover Sole by Friday. Our specials come in Fresh daily and can fly out as quickly as we put them on the board - something that you and other Friday night guests encountered. Indeed we had Fresh live lobsters delivered by ourselves on Saturday Evening and had run out of these by Sunday lunchtime.

It seems that you very much enjoy our Dover Sole and Lobster and when you next visit, if you wanted to call us in advance, we happily order in these for you and your guests.

We look forward to seeing you again in the not so distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2015

Any where that cooks soft crab has my vote.
My whole meal ,service and excursion was excellent.
It was a little out of our way but I would visit again and would recommend this Pub /Restaurant to fellow reviewers.
Its spotlessly clean and although busy(considering that it was the most horrible of mornings with Thunder and Lightening ),you can sit and have a private conversation without feeling that other tables are listening in.
The food is freshly cooked, so be prepared for a wait but its worth it.( They do warn you about this on the menu .)
I have a strange reaction to eggs and chicken , everything was checked and I was reassured about what was suitable and want wasn't !
My friends only thoughts was that the chocolate cake was a little dry but the apricot cream was the best she had ever tasted.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Celia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickilles, Owner at The Green Man Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2015

Celia,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent experience at The Green Man and am thrilled that you and your friends had such an enjoyable time with us. As a small independently run establishment, getting feedback, good or bad, is vital to us - although obviously we get great pride when we read comments such as yours.

Once again, thank you very much and look forward to seeing you again in the not so distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Reckon we must have arrived after a lot of others, as meet and greet didn't happen for longer than felt right. Drinks order at table was slow to materialise and took a while to be delivered. Three times.
But truly impressive food though at prices some might baulk at.
As meal progressed we got the feeling that the missing extra pair of hands early on had arrived at last.
Food was in our opinion well worth the prices charged. Happy and helpful staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ronarover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickilles, Owner at The Green Man Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2015

Rona,

Many thanks for your review regarding your visit to The Green Man last week. I am thrilled that you felt that the food was truly impressive and that our staff were helpful and happy. Comments such as yours are vital to us and enable us to take our business forward.

Indeed we were extremely busy when you visited, unexpectedly so, and to start with this did have a small knock on effect but am glad that you saw the improvement later on!

Once again thank you for all your positive comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the not so distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015

We took a friend there for a meal, wasn't disappointed. Absolutely fabulous meal. We had two courses each & had to share a pud just to say we had a pudding, menu was very varied & plenty of choice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank W_SussexSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We were recommended by friends and we enjoyed a pleasant lunch although we did feel it was on the expensive side. The only criticism was that one of the party had the pate starter which did not arrive with any bread or toast which is normal in restaurants we have visited before. Neither did the soup which my husband chose. Again this is normal and one ought not to have to ask or pay for this. As a result we had to ask for some extra Artisan bread to accommodate this and we hoped that we did not have to pay for this - unfortunately our friends forgot to check the bill. However, we all felt quite strongly that any terrine or pate should automatically arrive with melba toast, toast or breads as part of the dish. The desserts were interesting too - my husband chose the bakewell type tart which was relatively small compared with our friend who chose the sticky toffee pudding - the portion size for that was enormous, so somewhere we felt the portions on both sides needed adjusting so that it was fair to all parties. However, the food was good and we shall return, hopefully to bread accompanying soup and terrine.

Thank clairyork727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Man Inn and Restaurant also viewed

Horsham, Horsham District
Horsham, Horsham District
 
Lower Beeding, Horsham
Horsham, Horsham District
 
Lower Beeding, Horsham
Horsham, Horsham District
 

Been to The Green Man Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing