We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Truly an Exquisite French Dining Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Cheval de Jade

Le Cheval de Jade
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$69
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Fine French cuisine. Fresh regional produce. Gastronomic menu, table d'hote. Gluten free menu. Vegetarian dishes, bouillabaisse, fish, seafood, locally raised meat. The chef, Maitre Canardier, prepares Caneton a la Rouennaise upon reservation. Awarded a Four Diamond rating by the CAA/AAA.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly an Exquisite French Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Good Day,

We love the village of St Jovite, as we travel to our place in Mont Tremblant often from Ontario. After a full day of skiing we decided to drive into town and came upon the Le Cheval de Jade. We did not have reservations but they politely asked us to return in 20 minutes for a table. We are happy we did, we not only had a dinner but a lost forgotten art of how food can be prepared with such perfection and detail. The portions were perfect and every dish kept getting better. It was the BEST dinner we have ever had. We were greeted and served with a smile by the wonderful staff who appeared very passionate and knowledgeable about each and every dish.

I would definetly recommend this restaurant, in fact we have already made reservations to retun next month. Truly a Wonderful Dining Experience.

The Aprile Family

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank canada85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    39
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Even Better Than We Remembered!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Over time it's often the case that in your mind you enhance your memory of an experience you had, to the point where reliving that experience cannot live up to your expectations. But we were thrilled to find that returning to Le Cheval de Jade after a year was every bit as good as we remembered!

We returned to Le Cheval de Jade this year after dining here last year during our first visit to Mont Tremblant from New Jersey. When planning our annual ski vacation for this year, our memory of the two evenings we dined with Frederique and Olivier were one of the reasons we decided to return. We reserved two evenings on our trip for Le Cheval de Jade, and again had the Discovery menu our first night, and the Gastronomic menu on our last night in Mont Tremblant. Both were exquisitely executed, with each and every course perfectly prepared. Our journey through the epic meals included seafood, game, foie gras, and of course duck. Dessert was a variety of unique samplings equally well done. It is absolutely amazing that Olivier has honed his talent as a chef to the point where he is able to deliver perfection on each and every course. And that only he and the sous-chef are able to turn out the plates for the entire restaurant on a Saturday night is incredible.

The wine pairings that Frederique has found to accompany each course perfectly accented each dish that Olivier has developed. Most are unique, in that they are from less common vineyards or varietals that may not normally be associated with what is being served. But they all enhanced the flavors of the meal, without either overpowering the food or being overpowered by it.

The quality of the meal is surpassed only by the overall experience of dining here. It's not just good service, it's being made to feel completely at home through the genuine excitement that the owners and the team have in providing the best dining event possible. You can see the pride and love of what they do in the faces of Frederique as she takes time to greet you at the door, settle you in, and work with you to plan your dining event, and Olivier as he periodically visits the dining room to ensure his preparations are all to your liking. The passion they hold for their business is expressed in everything they do throughout the evening.

This year we also met Catherine and Yves, who deliver each course and make sure that every detail is taken care of during your dinner. Our first evening was a Tuesday, which was less busy, and we got to know Catherine a bit. She's an enchanting young lady whose enthusiasm for life is absolutely contagious. You simply cannot help being happy in her presence, which just adds to the whole night. Yves is equally friendly, knowledgeable, and has a true interest in making everything right. We only met him on Saturday when it was pretty busy, so our conversations were brief and we didn't get to know him as well. But there is always next year!

Le Cheval de Jade is a true treasure that should not be missed when in Mont-Tremblant, which has several fine restaurants. In our opinion you cannot beat Le Cheval de Jade for quality, service, and the experience provided.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daveh839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Off for a quick ski trip - always longing for a new place to try in the evening. This place comes highly recommended and indeed it should be. The staff people are great - make you feel at home and are genuinely concerned that you have a good experience with them. The food is interesting and beautifully prepared (try the pressed duck - delicious and only a fraction of the cost that you would have to pay in Paris - has to be ordered ahead). The wine pairings were intelligently done. In all a great evening - definitely a place to go back to.

Helpful?
Thank intrepidtraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overall, an excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

The food was very good as was the service. It's worth ordering the duck, which comes with an explanation from the chef about the history of the dish. Overall, we had a lovely time and a memorable dinner.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Winnifred_Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A VERY good Restaurant: good service, good chef !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We had a very diner with friends at Le Cheval de Jade.

We had a good dining experience that started with a warm welcome from a friendly staff.

The service was efficient.

Food: very good specailties (we tasted duck and sea food).

A very good alternative from Mont Tremblant resort.

I will go back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SigisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cheval de Jade also viewed

Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 

Been to Le Cheval de Jade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing