We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,345)
Filter reviews
1,345 results
Traveller rating
1,064
177
73
24
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,064
177
73
24
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building dining room eastern townships beautiful setting fine dining dining experience lake massawippi wine list meal plan the pub the wait staff luxury room get away paddle boards out of this world worth every penny special occasion
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,345 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2018

Exceptional service and dining with elegant, luxurious and quiet facilities in a beautiful natural setting. Food was superb encorporating local and unique ingredients and plated like works of art. Our room was comfortable and elegantly decorated and included a wood fireplace and private deck. The library in the main building was tasteful, cosy and inviting. Grounds were well kept and attractive. A wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and can be seen on line.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Thank waynew538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

The rooms are old, common areas is tiny (basically one small room with some sofas and chairs..). The garden is nice though and the lake view great!The restaurant is terrible. Worst Relais et Chateau dinning experience we have done by far.. no taste at all and very expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
1  Thank romykilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Manoir Hovey is around 1.1/2 hours north of Montreal an easy car trip.
The hotel is set on a lake with lots of water activities. It is totally serene. The lake view rooms upstairs although small offer a wonderful balcony to look out at the lake and beyond and are the best on offer. The downstairs rooms open out to a shared terrace. The main dining room, Le Hatley is graet for breakfast but was disappointing for dinner. The terrace restaurant is a fare better choice for dinner and has outdoor dining.It has a fun bar and the pool offers great snacks for lunch.
We had the most restful experience.

Room Tip: Upstairs lake view room.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

My wife stayed at Manoir Hovey on occasion 60 or more years ago when her sister was at school nearby, and we therefore made a point of adding this to a trip to Quebec City for a wedding. There is no doubt that it is a very special place with a storied past and great potential. The setting is gorgeous, the building interesting, and the kitchen superb. Overall, however, shabby chic only goes so far, and the stay here would be much improved if significant money and effort were devoted to, for example, updating the bathrooms and replacing the upholstery and curtains in the public spaces. My wife and I are 71, and if we felt the place was looking well past its prime, Lord knows what younger travellers must think. This is a wonderful place which deserves better from its owners.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Trip616162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innviting, Owner at Manoir Hovey, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Greetings from Hovey Manor,

Thank you for your recent review in which you express your overall satisfaction at the Manor during your recent visit. However, I am very perplexe and puzzled about your comments that the inn is 'looking well past its prime' and 'deserves better from its owners'.
As owners, my wife and I have CONSTANTLY upgraded Hovey over the years at great expense. There has been a particular push on major renovations in bedrooms in recent years and all have been redone. In some cases, 2 smaller rooms have been made into one.

We have always been careful to preserve the special ambiance at this former private estate and have never been interested in offering cookie-cutter rooms without character. Some of our rooms are quite contemporary and others, while renovated, preserve more the traditions of the Manor. Bathrooms have all been renovated to varying degrees or completely redone, most with floor to ceiling marble.All mod cons have been added and we offer blazingly fast wi-fi in all the rooms and throughout the property.

The curtains you refer to in the public spaces do not exist.??? They were removed many, many years ago to bring in more light and lake through the tall French windows all along the front of the library/lounge and dining room. As for your room, I do not know which one you stayed in but I do know it was recently renovated.

Our objective remains to invest in and improve Manoir Hovey every year! This is the reality.

Cordially,
Steve Stafford
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Outstanding in all aspects, The dinning room experience was exceptional , We had a delightful room in the mail inn . I would have no hesitation in making a recommendation and will plan to return again

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
1  Thank jwelch35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews