We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,334)
Filter reviews
1,334 results
Traveller rating
1,057
175
71
24
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,057
175
71
24
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building dining room eastern townships beautiful setting fine dining dining experience lake massawippi wine list meal plan the pub the wait staff luxury room get away paddle boards out of this world worth every penny five star
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,334 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018

The hotel is located in the country on a lake. As a consequence there are not many local attractions.
However, the hotel offers swimming in the pool or lake, kayaking and motorised pontoon trips.
The service in the restaurant was formal and the one night that we ate there, the food was excellent with a good selection of wines.
There is ample parking and the car can be valet parked if required.
Overall a great location and excellent service both in the hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: Lake view room
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AdrianRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Stopped in for afternoon coffee & tea. Great location lakeside. Pub room quite pleasant. Service good although somewhat deliberate. Cappuccino and tea were good. Process of getting check and paying also slow.
Great setting, excellent atmosphere.
Ambivalent service.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank ejm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We stayed at Manoir Hovey for 3 nights at the end of a visit to Quebec and Montreal. It is absolutely stunning. The situation, perched on the edge of the lake, is enchanting. The service is warm, engaging and immensely helpful. Our room was quiet and comfortable, and the great thing about the whole package - unlike so many Relais et Chateaux properties - is that the atmosphere is just designed to make you relax and feel at home. In early September the lake is still warm enough to swim in, which is a great treat. And the cooking is as good as we have found anywhere - delicious food, beautifully presented.
On top of all that, my wife had a really good massage.
We absolutely loved this hotel, and would return anytime!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Overall we had a good time , but everything was not perfect for a 5 star property.

The setting is beautiful , but buildings could be better maintained, need power wash and clear spider webs.

Do not pay attention to details, need to bring it to their attention what things need to be addressed.

Food was mixed, first day meat for lunch and dinner was over cooked (asked for medium rare and got well done ) . No reaction from anyone .

Next day they redeemed themselves and dinner was great.

They use local produce and serve Quebec sparkling wines ( surprisingly good ) which was nice.

Overall cost is high for what you get ,but with exchange rate lessens some of the shock.

Nice place to relax for a few days , also good fishing in the lake .

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank James A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

My husband and I recently stayed at this property for two nights. We are very well travelled individuals who generally favour upscale hotel-type accommodations, rather than Inn and B&B type places, so please keep this in mind as you read this review.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay there but are not likely to return. On the plus side, the setting and property are very nice, the service attentive, and the food excellent (unless you are a vegetarian in which case you will be very disappointed with the lack of options).

On the minus side, the room was quite “rustic”, not very private (could easily hear neighbours on both sides), and the bed not very comfortable at all. There other main negative for us was the isolation factor. While the lake, pool and tennis courts provide some “entertainment”, guests are “hostages” of the resort as there is simply nowhere to even go for a walk, let alone see a town, visit sights etc... without driving a significant way. The overall value for money was also not particularly good.

Nonetheless, I would not hesitate to recommend this property to others under some circumstances. You should go there if you like “rustic” accommodations, fine dining, and generally sitting around and not doing much of anything. Otherwise, for a more active set (and certainly anyone with young kids), anyone who likes more modern places - even if you like good food - this is not the place for you.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Franny67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innviting, Owner at Manoir Hovey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent TA review. WE are pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall but I would like to address your comments about the 'isolation' factor and lack of things to do. I do not know if you were expecting an urban environment but guests come to this historic property to enjoy our idyllic location on the lake, on the fringes of North Hatley which is widely regarded as one of Quebec's most picturesque and well preserved villages. The village center is a scenic 20 minute walk along the lake from the Manor. In addition, there is a choice of hiking trails minutes away.
One of the reasons that the average length of stay at Hovey is considerably above average is because of all the facilities we offer right on site. In addition to the heated pool and tennis court you mention, there are 2 little beaches and guests also enjoy unlimited FREE access to paddle boards, kayaks, canoes, peddle boats and touring bikes. We also offer FREE weekly or semi-weekly yoga classes, tennis clinics, fly-fishing clinics, mixology demos and forage walks. For those just wanting to relax, chaisses longues and Adirondack chairs are scattered throughout the property. I should also mention that there are 10 golf courses within 30 minutes of the Manor, one only minutes away in North Hatley.
Although shopping is not a reason guests come to Hovey, the cities of Magog and Sherbrooke are 15 and 20 minutes away. There are also boutiques and art galleries in our village.
With regard to our rooms, I think most would disagree with their description as 'rustic'. All bedrooms are individually appointed and have been renovated over the past few years - some are more contemporary, some for traditional in keeping with the charm of this former private estate .Most have private balconies and many have over-sized marble bathrooms.
Should you consider another visit to Manoir Hovey, please consult with our professional concierges. They can ensure that your vacation is action-packed. The Eastern Townships has much to offer,
Cordially,
Steve Stafford
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews