We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,326)
Filter reviews
1,326 results
Traveller rating
1,052
174
70
23
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,052
174
70
23
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingdining roomeastern townshipsbeautiful settingfine diningdining experiencelake massawippiwine listmeal planthe pubthe wait staffluxury roomget awaypaddle boardsout of this worldworth every pennyfive star
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 1,326 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

At this hotel for 2 days. Check in at dinner went well. Hotel very high end and the guests present the same. Beware of the taproom. Very poor communication and rude by staff to guests. Told in order to sit outside you must order at the bar if you don't eat. As you order at the bar the staff allow other guests to rudely interrupt your conversation. You get your beverages and told you could sit where you want. The staff at the bar say they'll deliver your beverage to your table. Contradicting the first person we talk to. Upon delivery you're told that although the staff hates to be rude they would appreciate it if you would try not to dirty the table cloths. Very shortly a second staff member comes out and tells us very vaguely that we should move as the table is intended for people that only order food. We finish our drinks and leave. High end resort, disrespectful service, poor inter-staff communication.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Stay86274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

I've been going twice a year for 20 years. The place is perfection. The food as amazing. Great attention to terroir. Breakfast is pure heaven. Service is perfect and mostly invisible. It's my favorite destination on the east coast.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Thank Carey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Spent one night in a suite. Lovely view of the lake from the large private deck. Overlooking herb garden. Room amenities are high quality and staff is friendly and professional. Dinner service was very slow and dining room needs an update (at very least getting rid of the awful wall paper) but food was very good and well executed.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Karin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We stayed at the Manor for 4 nights with another couple. This is a stunning property. There are 50 rooms spread across the property. All are unique. It is not a cheap place to stay but if you want to feel fully pampered this is the place to do it. Service is amazing and the staff attentive to every detail. It has to be one of the few facilities where there is still turn down service. There is s restaurant on the property as well as a pub. We were on a meal plan so ate in the restaurant every night. My only issue with the menu is that while the food was delicious we were presented with the same menu each night so suffered a bit from menu fatigue. We did ask and the chef prepared a special meal for us one night and I had one of the best steaks that I have ever had. Unfortunately the pub was closed at night during our stay (we were off season) so that was not an option to give us a bit of change in food options. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The tree top rooms are a real hike up a long flight of stairs. If you ask the hotel staff will take you up to your room on a golf cart.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

This is a lovely old estate, converted into a magnificent hotel. The rooms are spacious and each access a stunning view of Lake Massawippi.

We lucked into beautiful weather for our one night stay so really wanted to take advantage of the outdoors. Lots of private spaces, even outside, with hammocks and adirondack chairs abounding. A small beach is available with a fire pit ready to start.

The bathroom is beyond words..double sinks, massive jet tub, and separate shower with rain and hand held shower heads.

The bed was a little too firm for us, so we did not sleep well, sorry to say...but we forgave considering the otherwise very comfortable room.

Now...Le Hatley. This is a beautiful dining room, used for formal dinners and breakfast. The food was great...but while they said the hotel was full, the dining room was only half full. What does this say? Service impeccable...food very creative and beautiful as well as flavourful. (I had lichen with my beets..lichen...and it tasted amazing!) The chef is truly talented. But there was something just so "high end" about it all, that it came off as "stuffy" and stilted. We felt like we were at high tea at the palace, rather than eating a comfortable meal in a country inn. Just a suggestion, but you may want to consider opening those beautiful windows and letting some air in...or relax the menu a little to introduce a little "comfort" food. There are not many options without having to drive 30 min...so lightening up a little would make people feel so much more comfortable.

Otherwise thanks for a very relaxing and beautiful stay!

Room Tip: Room 28 too close to the "pub".
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews