We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cottage and location for a large group.”
other traveller has booked this property
Lakeside beauty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lakeside beauty
Steps from the beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Lakeside beauty
Steps from the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
11 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 30
Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Fitzpatri...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous cottage and location for a large group.”
Reviewed 21 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We had a fabulous time at the Grand Chalet. It truly sleeps 30 people in relative comfort - we brought up just one single fold-away mattress bed. The location is excellent and there is wonderful swimming, kayaking, paddle-boarding and sailing at the lake. There are a few explanatory points that, I think, may be helpful for visitors to understand - plese understand that these are not criticisms, just facts:
The chalet is not on the lake - it sits on a hill, at the top of a 200 yard drive, and you must cross the road to get from the cottage to the beach. There is, however, a wonderful view across the lake from the large deck and from the bedrooms upstairs and the lake is only 3 mins walk from the chalet.
The beaches nearby require a guest pass to enter - the chalet staff provided these passes at a charge of $10 per person for the whole week, which is a very good deal - but there is a charge of $50 per lost beach card. Guests are advised to bring beach towels with them and are not permitted to bring towels from the chalet to the beach - we bought extra inexpensive towels for use at the beach..
The chalet has individual air conditioners in the dining room and several of the upstairs bedrooms, but not in all of the bedrooms upstairs or in the basement bedrooms. There is no A/C unit in the kitchen, which is small (although very well-equipped) and can get quite warm - cooking on the deck is important in the summer and two large gas barbecues are available and quite sufficient to cook, even for a large party. Most but not all of the bathrooms are en suite, and there are 8 or 9 shower units and bathrooms in the facility.
The small town of St. Agathe is just 3-4 min away by car and Mont Tremblant is just 20 mins by car from the chalet. There are several excellent large supermarkets in St. Agathe, catering to every need. There are two golf courses at St. Agathe, which are inexpensive and rent golf clubs, and many outstanding golf courses in Mont Tremblant. We brought our bicycles with us, which greatly enhanced our experience - there is a lovely cycle around the lake of about 10km - bikes can also be rented at Mont Tremblant.
We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the Great Chalet and would recommend it to any large group.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2018
Thank you Michael for your detailed review. Just a little correction. There are 10 full bathrooms in the cottage and 10 air conditioning units throughout the cottage. Our kitchen is an open concept with an L-shaped counter overlooking one of 4 living rooms. Everything else in your review was on point. I am so happy you had such a great reunion at our home away from home. Hoping to host you again in the future.

Best regards,
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel B
1 review
“Best wedding weekend ever!”
Reviewed 2 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The chalet is an incredible space - spacious, clean, well equipped and in a gorgeous location. We had an intimate wedding of 30 people under one roof and it was fantastic. The chalet is perfect for this type of event and the team who run it were so helpful and friendly throughout the whole process. We can't thank them enough for helping make our wedding beautiful. Highly recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments.
Rachel, it was such a pleasure having you stay and celebrate your wedding with us. We are so happy you appreciated the cottage as your venue and the staff as well.
Wishing you all the best.

Best regards,
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margot F
1 review
“Great spot for a winter family get-together”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a group of 20 people (aged 3 to 83!) spend 4 nights to celebrate mom's 80th birthday. Accommodations were great, lots of space for all of us, rooms well insulated from common area noisy activities. Kitchen was well equipped (even with some spices and other basics) and the house was decorated nicely for the holidays. We had some trouble getting up an icy driveway, but one phone call was made and within 20 minutes a snowplow came and resolved the problem right away. Enjoyed winter activities without getting in the car - snowshoeing and X-C skiing on the lake, and building a "luge run" on the property - great fun!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2017
Hi Margot,

We are happy to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay at The Great Chalet.

We thank you for your kind words and look forwarding to hosting you in the future.

Happy 80th birthday to mom!

Best regards,
Christina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“A Great Familly Reunion !”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Great location, walking distance from the children friendly beach. The cottage was also very nice and clean. The only thing I would ad is that the kitchen was a little small for our needs. Mind you, we were 26 people so any kitchen would have been challenged! Otherwise, we had a wonderful family reunion. Thank you!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thank you for staying with us. Hope o see you soon again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stef E
1 review
“Blissful wedding weekend!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The Great Chalet is very much a multi use cabin. I had my wedding there and it was the perfect location. Everyone was a great help, Catherine is the sweetest, she helped me through the whole thing and even can get the beach as a location for a wedding. I will definetly be returning to great chalet for any getaways and anniversaries in the future! The view is gorgeous I miss it already!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!!
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Stephanie and Patrick, what a wonderful wedding it was....
Thank you for trusting The Great Chalet to host your wedding. You have a great entourage and you are more then welcome to return and celebrate many many anniversaries.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing