We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
19
9
9
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
9
9
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews place to stay mini fridge outdoor pool costco hairdryer beds wifi carpet desk french parking
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights in January. We booked this place blindly on Hotwire for ~$80 a night. The reason we booked it was based on the reasonably decent reviews on that website and that they compared it with other 2-staf locations such as Travel Lodge or the Comfort Inn. However, we were VERY disappointed, it was not comparable. We would advise against staying here.

When we checked in, the first room was very dated, small, and had an odour. The door did not lock so we went to reception to ask for another room. Were given the keys for room #2: the keys did not work in the lock. Went back to reception and were given keys for a third room: the windows did not lock! Finally, after getting the keys to a fourth room, we were able to lock the doors and windows. Reception staff was very rude and frustrated with us that we were unhappy that the doors and windows did not lock.

I felt that the location was a little sketchy, although close to Ottawa. The wifi was very poor and routinely did not work. Reception staff were unable to help with this. We did not go to the breakfast as we did not want to encounter the reception staff again. We also placed the "do not disturb" sign on our door as we did not need housekeeping but this was ignored and the maid came anyways. The photos do NOT represent the majority of these rooms. Some rooms are newer, but most were very small, dated, and not the cleanest.

I would not recommend staying here. It was not even worth this price. We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

The room is small and simple. Washroom is quite small. People there are nice. But it does not worth the money spent, in comparison with other places. The pictures are quite misleading. what is super good is the location. It close to all shops, facilities. and highway. Costco is just five minutes away.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Where to start ? The beds are really not comfortable, cleaning lady cant read do not disturb sign and there was mices in the A/C. Owner said it happens ???? At least they changed our room & front desk staff are good

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel_Montcalm175, Manager at Motel Montcalm, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Hello Jeff,I apologize for the inconvenience you went through during your three day stay with us .Hope you enjoyed your late checkout :) . Kindest Regards ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Motel is approx 10 mins drive to Ottawa center. We stayed there during the weekend and had no problems to get to downtown quickly. (Could park for free in center.) Having good connection to highway but silent. Outlets, shops, cafes, restaurants nearby. Room is ok, with a bit noisy air-con. Parking in front of the door. Receptionists were very nice and helpful. Breakfast was included, and it was very delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KrisztaHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel_Montcalm175, Owner at Motel Montcalm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Motel . We hope to see you again if your travel brings you in the Ottawa/Gatineau region. Kindest regards ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

My first impressions when I entered my room were:
This is quite small!
and
This is not ready!

Bed wasn't made, garbage in the bin and no towels.
Besides, somebody had been smoking.

The receptionist handled it nicely, however! I was moved next door.
Still small, but clean and ready!

In general the place needs a makeover. The physically challenged or elderly may not be able to open or close the door to the room. You have to really give it a yank to get in or close the door.

The A/C is quite noisy, but can be turned off. You just need to locate the correct remote. The same receptionist did phone to confirm, I had it figured out.

Access to the motel can be a bit of a challenge at the moment, as roadwork is going on. There is, however, a back entrance, if you can find it.

Room is equipped with a coffee maker and a fridge, of which the later worked nicely. (don't do coffee myself).

WiFi works so-so. Signal is weak and it may take you 2-3 tries to get your page loaded. Could be a problem logging into your bank or e-mail!

One of the bulbs in the ceiling lamp was blinking on or off every minute or so.

Breakfast was served 7-11, and was OK. Cereals, toast and sweet bread. Juice, coffee and tea. I have seen a lot worse!

Staff was willing to answer 'stupid' questions. Even in English!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walker1Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews