We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique and memorable experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Qualicum Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Free Spirit Spheres
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A unique and memorable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed in the Melody Sphere for one night. Rosey and Tom are ever so friendly and we even had a quick tour of their workshop where the spheres are handcrafted.
The Spheres themselves are a marvel to appreciate as they gently sway in the trees and the Experience of being inside them is unique.
In some ways it is like spending a night in an air-borne spherical ship out in a very gentle sea.
We combined this stay with a stay at the Innchanter near Tofino/Hot Springs - thoroughly recommend both accommodations and if you can do both!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mel_LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
67
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

We were made very welcome and had an exceptional stay at Free Spirit Spheres. Melody is beautifully appointed with great attention to detail. Very peaceful surroundings and a great place to get back in touch with the things that matter. Hopefully we will return one day.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

The inventor, Tom and his wife Rosie, treat you so well and bring you to your Sphere in the warmest, most welcoming way. We stayed in Eryn.....Unlike anything you have ever slept deeply in....all your needs are taken care of.....just try to stop smiling.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in the larger sphere, Eryn, for 2 amazing nights in May/June 2010. We had first seen the spheres on the internet about 18 months beforehand so had been looking forward to our stay for quite a while. Our expectations were surpassed and we were totally blown away by the whole experience of sleeping up in the trees. I've never felt anything like the sensation of waking up to the sound of rustling branches and actually being up in a tree! All the spheres are works of art and so brilliantly crafted by Tom. Every last space inside Eryn is so brilliantly used and even has heating, a fridge and an electric hook up for an Mp3 player so you can experience true surround sound! We really enjoyed speaking to Tom and finding out how he came about the idea for the spheres. It was a privilege to stay in Eryn and enjoy the swaying of the sphere in the wind, it made us both feel like children in a magical tree house.
Tom and Rosie were excellent hosts, really friendly, nice people who made every effort to make sure we had a unique experience. From the welcome basket of fruit and baked goods to the sauna, the quality of service and hospitality was fantastic. The prices aren't too expensive and for the life experience it's well worth it. We would definitely recommend Free Spirit Spheres to anyone visiting Vancouver or Vancouver Island as you're guaranteed a magical time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Busca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

My partner and I stayed here on our honeymoon and had a wonderful time, suspended in the tree tops in a forest. We stayed in Eryn, which (together with Melody) is one of the larger spheres (the other sphere, Eve, is a little smaller). The sphere is accessed by climbing a small spiral staircase, with washroom facilities contained in a "mushroom" near the bottom of the staircase. There is a separate washroom block a short walk away which has showers and a sauna. It wouldn't be an exaggeration to say that this is potentially the best place we have ever stayed. It was more of an experience than a night's accommodation and our whole stay was really magical. We fell easily asleep as we were gently rocked by the swaying of the sphere in the tree and were warm and cosy throughout the night. The owners, Tom and Rosie, were incredibly friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed hearing all about the history of the project and how it came about. We were given a "snack" basket on arrival which was more than enough for a snack when we arrived and breakfast the next morning. The hotel is located about 15mins drive from Qualicum Beach if you want to go out to a restaurant in the evening and is reasonably close to Horne Lake caves, which are also worth a visit. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone. It's also featured in a book called "Bed in a Tree" which is worth checking out if you want some more information about the hotel before visiting.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Crazyladybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qualicum Beach
13.5 km away
Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
97.8 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
5.8 km away
Shady Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Qualicum Beach Inn
Qualicum Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
22.7 km away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
9.8 km away
Riverside Resort & Campground
Riverside Resort & Campground
#6 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Free Spirit Spheres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Free Spirit Spheres

Property: Free Spirit Spheres
Address: 420 Horne Lake Rd, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 1Z7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Qualicum Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Qualicum Beach
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide accommodation in luxurious Spherical Tree Houses that are suspended from the trees by ropes. The spheres are suspended in the forest canopy and guests get to hang out in a serene forest setting in a sphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Free Spirit Spheres Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing