We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$410
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/08/22
Expedia.com
US$411
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/08/22
Agoda.com
US$346
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Hotels.comUS$411
PricelineUS$410
FindHotelUS$539
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveller rating
349
125
57
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
349
125
57
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool michelin star restaurant aix en provence concierge team family suite perfect hotel an upgrade luxury hotel room was spacious a wonderful stay breakfast buffet hotel minibus benoit roman proximity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 565 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2022 via mobile

We spent two nights at Les Lodge and had an amazing time. The property is gorgeous and really well taken care off. The best part is the staff. Everyone was extremely helpful and accommodating. The concierge service was excellent and were able to get us a table at St Esteve which was the highlight of our stay.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank FTRiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Julie Chanut, Directeur général at Les Lodges Sainte Victoire, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest, thank you so much for your comment ! Hope to see you back very soon ! Bests regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2022 via mobile

Les Lodges is a truly outstanding facility across the board. The hotel is stunning and the rooms are outstanding. Service is truly top notch and the staff could not be more gracious or accommodating. The spa was immaculate and truly luxurious. We fully appreciated the location just far enough from Aix to offer tranquility but close enough to go into town for a stroll and a cafe after dinner. There was full value for the price. This is a facility I can unquestionably recommend to any sort of traveler. Bravo.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank srittvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Julie Chanut, Directeur général at Les Lodges Sainte Victoire, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello dear guest, thank you for this wonderful review, we are delighted that you were able to appreciate our location in the countryside but close to the center of Aix as well as our five-star infrastructure and services. Looking forward to meeting you,
Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2022 via mobile

Good morning
Three days into my stay here
Simply put the setting is beautiful
The fresh air is invigorating
Surrounded by hilltops and mountains with wineries plentiful
The staff is so helpful and will write about them in my next post
Met the chef at the Michelin star restaurant on site and will comment after diner tonight
I can not think of anything that has disappointed.
Truly enjoyed the solitude of a 6 am breakfast and a midnight stroll and everything in between
Abe h

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank al h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Julie Chanut, Directeur général at Les Lodges Sainte Victoire, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest, hello and many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear that your stay was such a success. Looking forward to seeing you again at the Lodges,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2021

Family fun at Les Lodges

Les Lodges is fantastic but let's get the bad out of the way. We were given room 42 on arrival, sadly the bathroom smelt of damp and mold. The hotel did all they could to fix the problem and moved us to a better room as soon as possible. Room 42 is a triple room and would have been fine for our family of 3 if it wasn't for the smell. We moved to a family suite which was superb. The beds were the most comfortable we have ever slept in.

All the staff were lovely especially the concierges Benoit and Laurent and Chloe and Roman on reception.

The breakfast is a small but delicious buffet and the setting outside with a view of Sainte Victoire is stunning.

The swimming pool was nice and warm. It was kept fairly clean though the trees do shed leaves into the pool and surrounding area. It is an infinity pool with a beautiful view. There is an adults only pool as well.

My wife and I both went for massages at the spa. I simply cannot describe how wonderful the masseuse was for both of us.

They are very Covid secure, checking the pass sanitaire on arrival and enforcing masks indoors.

Finally, the concierge team were happy to drop us off in Aix En Provence in the hotel minibus at our convenience which was a bonus.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jn79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Les Lodges Sainte Victoire, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2021

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are delighted that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. Our dedicated team always go the extra mile to deliver the best experience possible to all our guests and we are glad that we were able to find you a comfortable solution; please accept our apologies for any inconvenience. We will be sure to let Benoit, Laurent, Chloe, and Roman know how much of an impact they made on your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best regards,

Agnès Jacquin, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2021 via mobile

The conclusion we come to is consistent, we were very disappointed with our stay.

Why you might ask?

1. Covid protocols were poor
2.The service and services are not those of a 5 star spa hotel
3. The grounds are not looked after as one would expect

Let us give you the colour to support our opinions

1. Fellow guest were not actively encouraged or made to wear masks.
Used plates and glasses were left around the breakfast buffet during the service. Given the current global pandemic this is unacceptable in any hotel or hospitality venue

2. A concierge team that when they move your belongings to a your next room (we had to split our stay which we understood at the time of booking) put a pair of outdoor shoes on the chair in the room! Really shoes go on chairs? Not in our house! Luggage was left stacked in the room, our experience of real 5 star hotels is that luggage is carefully stored in the appropriate wardrobes for guests arrival.
The menu was seriously limited out of hours and the team’s lack of flexibility ended up me suggesting that I would cut the melon! Really in a 5 star hotel?
The terrace staff was less than friendly with the exception of the Asian lady who was working her socks off to keep the guests happy.
Finally a concierge that, as he was assisting us with our luggage, decided that he would go and get another guest’s car. Surely you finish the task you are doing before taking on another one especially if it is for a guest!
A gym with a few machines one multi-purpose machine and no free weights… a 5 star spa hotel should have much more also as we needed a gym as our daughters are competitive rowers.
In our second room the safe was not even secured to anything!!! Really!!!

3. The grounds of the property are far from well looked after with the exception of the top lawn and the pool lawn… the rest is overgrown with weeds and snails and needs a gardening team.

Room tip: Avoid until they fix the basics including Covid protocols…
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Scuderiaedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Les Lodges Sainte Victoire, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2021

Dear Mr Frediani,

We did speak at length at the hotel about your concerns and I have replied directly to the email you sent to me expressing the same comments as above. I have included my response below.

Dear Mr Frediani, I am very sorry to hear that your experience was so disappointing. However, we do everything possible to try to make our customers ’stay as pleasant as possible. You and I had the chance to discuss your experience while you were during check out and I am very sorry we didn’t meet your expectations. We still hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Kind regards,

Agnès Jacquin, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews