We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
122
133
45
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
133
45
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location lemon water room was clean sausage boat cruise free wifi short walk to the waterfront no elevator laundry facilities within walking distance would definitely stay here again waffles the king size bed the breakfast area flat screen tv downtown area breakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2015

This hotel has no charm and the service is quite poor.
On op we had a group dinner and a group breakfast which were at a very low level and served by young people which were not dressed to do this job...
The hotel area and parking where not closed and there were young people zoning around near an abandonned house... not very ebcouraging to leave your car in the parking...

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCh74350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

The hotel was renovated fairly recently. The rooms are nice - very clean with comfortable beds. When we opened our door my husband said " Oh, I like this." The location can't be beat - easy walk to boat tours, restaurants and downtown. Staff was friendly and helpful. Wish we had had time to use the pool - there is no hot tub. Breakfast was adequate for our needs. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Echo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

We stayed in Gananoque several times over the years and always at this inn, although it had changed names and had been updates since our previous visit. The manager was able to offer us three nights even though we had not booked ahead. Very accommodating, thank you. Still has a swimming pool for which i was grateful, as the weather was not very good. The breakfast was varied and had good choices. A very good rate for this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the boat tours, rather than another well-known chain a little further away.
Our chosen room was with King-sized bed. Although perhaps slightly sombre and dated, the room (and bed) was clean and comfortable, with safe, work desk and chair, iron & board, tea/coffee-making facilities, fridge and microwave oven (the latter 2 we didn't use though they could be useful).
The hotel is well situated; apart from being close to the harbour front there are several restaurants within easy walking distance, as is the town centre. The Gananoque Brewing Company, with its excellent craft beers (which you can enjoy at their bar) is also within spitting distance and the excellent Riva Italian restaurant next door.
Free fast wifi with a strong signal. There is a reasonably-sized pool and a (somewhat limited) fitness room.
But all was not perfect:
- In our view, the breakfast did not match up to the room standard. The choice was a little limited, but our main gripe concerns the use of plastic cutlery and paper/cardboard plates. For us that smacks of cheapness and really spoils the whole experience.
- Secondly, the (individual) air con/heater/fan in our room was very noisy and was not conducive to a good night's sleep. Turn it off and the room quickly gets too hot ... Additionally, the shower plumbing was noisy, not only in our room but we were disturbed when the guests in the room to ours took a shower. (I accept neither of these problems can be easily resolved, but I hope the Management will take note for the next upgrade.)
For these 2 reasons alone, I would probably choose a different hotel if there was a 'next time', even if less conveniently situated.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bebechoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Location can't be beat. Walking distance to cruises and downtown for restaurants. Walking trails nearby and park setting.Yes, the hotel itself could use a lot of refurbishing. Fitness centre outdated and a number of machines didn't work. Pool was older and needs a new liner. Older building. Our room was on the 2nd floor with a balcony. Newer room with a comfortable King size bed. It was nice to sit out and be able to open the windows. Riva restaurant next door was awesome. Delicious food and great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the newer rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gislaine_hamelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews